User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    A swirly, twirly, near-perfect pop record. Some people might not like the bombastic arrangements, but I'm a more-is-more person, so this is like heaven. Stronger on a song-for-song basis than Lovers (he's wisely cut the little-girl-voice songs and strange studio experiemnts) even if it is missing something as pounding as "Vampire Racecourse."
  2. TimothyS
    Aug 2, 2006
    8
    I didnt interest myself with the sleepy jackson's first outting, as i couldnt really find a reason for it. On Personality, they seem to have added just that. although one could make comparatives of many iconic musicians from the 70s and beyond, this sounds very fresh and all their own. In a year where I'm still waiting for that one brilliant album to be released, I am very happy I didnt interest myself with the sleepy jackson's first outting, as i couldnt really find a reason for it. On Personality, they seem to have added just that. although one could make comparatives of many iconic musicians from the 70s and beyond, this sounds very fresh and all their own. In a year where I'm still waiting for that one brilliant album to be released, I am very happy to have been given this. As it stands, even though there are a couple of tracks that fade away into white noise on the album, it is ranking very high for me right now. note a few key tracks, you needed more, devil was in my yard, god lead your soul, miles away, and how was i supposed to know. Expand
  3. JohnB
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    At a Tower Records listening station the name The Sleepy Jackson caught my eye having heard the name-dropped in Ben Lee's "Catch My Disease" (my favorite pop song of 2005). Only the quickest listen sold me over the new Govt
  4. Guy
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    One great surprise.
  5. JohnH
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    Reminds me of the 70's style pop. Great sounding songs with fun and memorable melodies. Its seeming that some indie bands are beckoning back towards the '60's and '70's styles while keeping the sounds of today making for a good blend.
  6. NeilG
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    Lovers , the first Sleepy Jackson album was wonderful Performance is better. The Guardian had it right when it described Luke Steele as a "special talent".The record is bursting with ideas and will take a number of listens to really take hold but pays repeated listening. This is the work of a pop auteur in the Brian Wilson tradition. In short a superb record, buy it !!!!
  7. GuyH
    Jul 27, 2006
    9
    Near perfect pop album. A better album than the recent '...Mystics', 'Secret Migration' or 'Fambly Cat'. Impressive!
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    tubular album...very etheric, the song Miles Away is my pick, deep soothing bass, nice acoustic and trippy lyrics and vocal melodys..ala John Lennon. This album rips.
  9. AlexC
    Aug 21, 2006
    7
    Certainly has some fine tunes, but this album simply does not stack up against "Lovers", their previous album. If you want to hear the best of The Sleepy Jackson, buy the first album.
  10. DecepticonPom
    Sep 27, 2006
    4
    Haphazard compared to the faultless debut album.
  11. stephenc
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    brilliant pop melodies. its hard to find a balance between extravagent melodies and excuisite lyrics but i believe steele has managed to do just that! however it does echo LOVERS, which is unfortunate. that said, still a brilliant record.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Steele may be in thrall to [Brian] Wilson and The Beatles, but his talent is precocious enough to give him his own very singluar voice. [Aug 2006, p.112]
  2. The album's most striking feature is its ability to avoid the musically obvious while still delivering golden pop melodies.
  3. Urb
    70
    The result is in the vein of popcraft performers Phoenix, Air and others who occupy a great deal of the Astralwerks roster. [Jul/Aug 2006, p.132]