Phantom Punch - Sondre Lerche
Phantom Punch Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a diversion into jazz-pop (2006's 'Duper Sessions'), the Norwegian artist returns with a more muscular rock album produced by Tony Hoffer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. With Phantom Punch Sondre Lerche finally makes good on the promise of his talent; he’s mastered and polished his intuitive gift for melody and arrangement and rightly applied it to his most natural musical inclinations.
  2. 90
    This time the focus is on tight songwriting, sudden chagnes and an edgy velocity that's never too dense. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.79]
  3. 86
    Lerche croons and swoons between styles like a prophet of postmodern pomp.
  4. The most sophistcated punk-pop you'll ever hear. [Mar 2007, p.136]
  5. While Lerche remains a promising young songwriter, Phantom Punch doesn't quite fulfill that promise.
  6. Thoroughly enjoyable though it is, Phantom Punchalso feels a little lightweight.
  7. Phantom Punch is a wobbly ride through tracks that, for the most part, hiss and snarl with the leather-jacket swagger of his garagey backing band while Lerche either nervously essays a pseudo-rock "growl" over top or reverts to his customary loungey warble, both of which sound equally absurd.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. RafaelZ
    May 13, 2007
    10
    inustice. this singer rox a lot. cheers!
  2. LudoM
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    This is one of the reasons I'm proud to be Norwegian! This guy is THE best performer together with his band or solo on stage - live or This is one of the reasons I'm proud to be Norwegian! This guy is THE best performer together with his band or solo on stage - live or studio... I love it :) Gimme me more, much more!!! Expand
  3. AnnaL
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Admittedly, the songs are much, much better when you are hearing them live, but Sondre Lerche can sing his Norwegian arse off. I would very Admittedly, the songs are much, much better when you are hearing them live, but Sondre Lerche can sing his Norwegian arse off. I would very highly recommend this album. Collapse
  4. mikes.
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    Album of the year so far and I wouldn't be surprise if it makes a lot of critics top ten an amazing album!!!! His personal best Sondre Album of the year so far and I wouldn't be surprise if it makes a lot of critics top ten an amazing album!!!! His personal best Sondre is more aggressive on this album and rocks out harder than one would expect. Great pop melodies and glossy production. The songwriting is excellent as well, an album in which all other indie album of 2007 should be judged against, sondre lerche has set a very high bar for other artists to be able to top this new release. Expand
  5. FábioP
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    Great CD, but less than his predecessor: Duper Sessions
  6. HJR
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    Definitely cleaner and more accessible than his first two albums. Personally, I prefer The Duper Sessions. I absolutely loved that album and Definitely cleaner and more accessible than his first two albums. Personally, I prefer The Duper Sessions. I absolutely loved that album and I like this when it reminds me of that pure jazz-pop standard sound. "Say It All" is brilliant and most of the other tracks are interesting enough, but never nostalgia-inducing or groundbreaking in any way. Expand
  7. EinarK
    Feb 15, 2007
    1
    Not too good :) Two way dialouge, best ever!!!

See all 8 User Reviews