Pieces Of The People We Love

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavisR
    Oct 1, 2006
    3
    Leaving the worst label going today (DFA) was the best thing The Rapture ever did. Where Echoes was the sound of every David Cross fan moaning into a microphone, Pieces... is the sound of a Peaches dance party sponsored by Vice. An improvement but not much of one.
  2. ChristoC
    Sep 14, 2006
    7
    Some awesome songs, some mediocre songs. Echoes was amazing. This album is just good.
  3. umbe
    Sep 18, 2006
    6
    sometimes it sounds like inxs making a cover of the funkier stones with robert smith on the vocals. i loved echoes,this is a delusion
  4. DecepticonPom
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    En-rapture-ing. (I am so SO sorry, readers!)
  5. RifN
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    Dont believe what you hear in the reviews. The sophomore effort by the Rapture is a lot more fun then Echoes. Yeah, i said fun. But when you are talking about dance-punk and the Rapture style, more fun= what you want= a better album then echoes= a damn solid album.
  6. BlakeJ
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    Yeah - this album is fantastic. Better than Echoes, this is the funky, sexy, frenetic album Echoes only hinted at. Plus - given the circumstances surrounding my hearing it, the fact that I can still listen to it, associated as it is with that whole unrequited-love situation played out ad nauseum (i.e. once), is downright extraordinary. Like, that situation has prevented me from listening Yeah - this album is fantastic. Better than Echoes, this is the funky, sexy, frenetic album Echoes only hinted at. Plus - given the circumstances surrounding my hearing it, the fact that I can still listen to it, associated as it is with that whole unrequited-love situation played out ad nauseum (i.e. once), is downright extraordinary. Like, that situation has prevented me from listening to Junior Boys for the past week or so - and that album's incredible, too - so judge this one accordingly. I'm so emo. Expand
  7. Patricio
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    The best album of the year so far. They did it again. First Gear, The Devil and The Sound the highlights in an album that does not have weak points.
  8. BillW
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Not as good as echoes but still awesome, every song is good
  9. JacksonG
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    This album is great. You can't expect everything to be deep, sometimes an artist has a different focus. But, the lyrics do have some great points in them. The album sets out to fix a problem in our musical world... they sum this problem up in "Whoo! Alright- Yeah...": "People don't dance no more, they just stand there like this, they cross their arms and stare you down, they This album is great. You can't expect everything to be deep, sometimes an artist has a different focus. But, the lyrics do have some great points in them. The album sets out to fix a problem in our musical world... they sum this problem up in "Whoo! Alright- Yeah...": "People don't dance no more, they just stand there like this, they cross their arms and stare you down, they drink and moan and piss." Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I really love it! Really grew on me.
  11. Dan
    Sep 13, 2006
    7
    Lacks to sprawling rough punkness of Echoes, instead offering fine-tuned fade-in/fade-out individual songs. While I miss the unpredictability of Echoes, some of these tracks are just a blast to listen to. It's an album that definitely has it's missteps ("First Gear" "Callin Me") and its unmistakable hits ("Don Gon Do It" "WAYUH").
  12. LeoF
    Sep 13, 2006
    5
    there's just one really really good song: "the sound".
  13. DniceM
    Sep 18, 2006
    3
    Almost anyone can play Cowbell, and not everyone can sing including this weak, flacid Rapture vocalist who nearly misses every note. He could probably fart more in tune or at least be on beat with that annoying cowbell; complete Crapture.
  14. JavierM
    Sep 19, 2006
    0
    Cheap music for cheap people...The cover, the new video, even the single is a ridiculous tune...Straight to the bin
  15. Frank
    Sep 19, 2006
    9
    Great album...more refined than Echoes, which had a harsh edge that worked perfectly for it, but they had to evolve somehow and this was a very satisfying way to do it.
  16. ChrisS
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    Funky raunchy electro meets Talking Heads... Far better than the last excursion... And it passes my favourite test... On first listen I loved it all! Hooks Funk Fun Ferocity... What else do you want?
  17. MihaiV
    Mar 15, 2007
    7
    This ain't no "Echoes".
  18. ThomasY
    Apr 10, 2007
    1
    aside from the single, this album is just really bland. plus i've met these guys and they're huge pricks.
  19. paul
    Nov 3, 2006
    4
    does anyone read lyrics anymore? this album is full of tread over, BORING lyrics. who cares if it is "fun" when it's not going to last the test of time?
  20. aertl
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    The Rapture made two decent ep's for Gravity and Sub Pop before catching a meal ticket with indie rocks answer to Pharrel and making the most embarassing album of their career (Echoes). Now, they've ditched DFA and, to celebrate their independence, have made a puff of air every bit as generic and derivative as the other two aforementoined hacks. Depressing.
  21. inlimbo
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    anyone who talks crap about the DFA is not intelligent enough to comprehend the magnificence of Echoes and the sheerly ridiculous amount of energy to be found on Pieces of the People We Love. buy this album now, and prepare to dance uncontrollably for quite some time.
  22. stevens
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    one of the best albums ive heard in a while.... totally bored with the drivel that is churned out by the likes of james morrison, pussycat dolls, girls aloud and other pop acts... This album is really refreshing. (even though very different to their previous albums)
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Urb
    100
    The first truly great album of the dance-punk movement. [Sep 2006, p.132]
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    Lots of cowbell, lots of bass. [21 Sep 2006, p.82]
  3. The uniformity of the album is at the expense of clear-cut standout tracks.