Pieces Of The People We Love Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New York City dance-punk outfit returns with a sophomore album a full three years after their debut 'Echoes.' 'Pieces' sees them ditching The DFA for new producers Ewan Pearson, Paul Epworth and Danger Mouse.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. 100
    The first truly great album of the dance-punk movement. [Sep 2006, p.132]
  2. It's good to hear these hip-shaking hipsters cutting loose with such abandon. [22 Sep 2006, p.95]
  3. 80
    Pieces... delivers greater consistency. [Oct 2006, p.104]
  4. It's impressive then, that even with this newfound attention to detail, the Rapture still maintain a flailing energy and enthusiasm that most of the other dancepunk bands could only fake.... However, what ultimately makes Pieces a step or three down from Echoes is a drop off in consistency, reflecting a higher percentage of songs that fail to ignite.
  5. The uniformity of the album is at the expense of clear-cut standout tracks.
  6. Mostly, it's a trip into the not-too-distant past worth taking.
  7. A serious let-down. [Oct 2006, p.119]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2006
    I really love it! Really grew on me.
  2. Patricio
    Sep 13, 2006
    The best album of the year so far. They did it again. First Gear, The Devil and The Sound the highlights in an album that does not have weak points.
  3. JacksonG
    Dec 1, 2006
    This album is great. You can't expect everything to be deep, sometimes an artist has a different focus. But, the lyrics do have some great points in them. The album sets out to fix a problem in our musical world... they sum this problem up in "Whoo! Alright- Yeah...": "People don't dance no more, they just stand there like this, they cross their arms and stare you down, they drink and moan and piss." Expand
  4. Dan
    Sep 13, 2006
    Lacks to sprawling rough punkness of Echoes, instead offering fine-tuned fade-in/fade-out individual songs. While I miss the unpredictability of Echoes, some of these tracks are just a blast to listen to. It's an album that definitely has it's missteps ("First Gear" "Callin Me") and its unmistakable hits ("Don Gon Do It" "WAYUH"). Expand
  5. MihaiV
    Mar 15, 2007
    This ain't no "Echoes".
  6. LeoF
    Sep 13, 2006
    there's just one really really good song: "the sound".
  7. JavierM
    Sep 19, 2006
    Cheap music for cheap people...The cover, the new video, even the single is a ridiculous tune...Straight to the bin

See all 22 User Reviews