Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded--the Re-Up Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pop rapper reissues her second release with eight new tracks featuring guest appearances by Thomas Brinx, Cassie, Ciara, Lil Wayne, Parker, and Tyga.
Buy On

Top Track

The Boys
Punch line Queen, no boxer though Might pull up in a Porsche, no boxster though Tell a hater, "Yo don't you got cocks to blow?" Tell them Kangaroo... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Special note to the freakazoids who think "Starships" killed hip-hop: the rapper who rhymes "fri-vo-lous" with "po-ly-ga-mist" is X-Acto sharp as ever.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    Sure, she flirts with dance pop and R&B balladry, but you can forgive her for wanting to satisfy different tastes. Here, it actually works.
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    It is most definitely worth your time, money and investment and whilst the Re-Up section isn't particularly mind-blowing, it is definitely an intelligent addition that rectifies certain initial errors
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    On most of these tracks, Minaj rises to the occasion.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    The original Pink Friday was a competently crafted blend of rap and pop that, even when it skewed to one extreme or the other, did so with style and skill. Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded - The Re-Up appears to try to replicate that formula, and with predictably mixed results.
  6. 60
    An extra eight-track CD of new material, which is our primary concern here. [It does not] adds much to the Minaj experience.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    As its own EP, The Re-Up would help provide balance to the pop chart aspirations from last year. But as a tack-on for Roman Reloaded, it plays like a band-aid over a shotgun wound.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47
  1. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love rap music and this cd was great!! Pink friday roman reloaded was good but the Re-up just stood out a lot more than pink Friday. I loved each and every song. GREAT JOB NICKI Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nicki proved to be the Rap Queen with the fast songs. On the other hand, slow verses with deep messages explain why she is so talented as an artist. Good re-release Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The Re-Up is everything you could ask for in Nicki. She blends singing and rapping so well without using the dance tracks to satisfy someThe Re-Up is everything you could ask for in Nicki. She blends singing and rapping so well without using the dance tracks to satisfy some hip-hop fans. The songs Freedom, The Boys, and Va Va Voom are something that both genres can listen to without judging its true genre. I really like Up In Flames as wel. It reminds me of something Kayne West would put out. A very critical acclaim track could win a grammy. The other 4 songs(High School, Hell Yeah, I'm Legit, and I Endose These Strippers) cater to the hip-hop fans that fell in love with her during her mixtape days.

    Another thing I love is that none of the features overshadow her unlike her previous work!!!!
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Really good she did a great job with the new tracks ! It brings a great balance to what she did with Roman Reloaded. I wasn't mad at her forReally good she did a great job with the new tracks ! It brings a great balance to what she did with Roman Reloaded. I wasn't mad at her for doing pop music it actually sounded good. She proved she can do both. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    Almost every review on her is either bias or too much. I mean every one has a 10 or a 0. Here is a reliable review from someone who heard itAlmost every review on her is either bias or too much. I mean every one has a 10 or a 0. Here is a reliable review from someone who heard it without loving her or hating. 27 songs OK that's what Im talking about non-stop party. OK. But Id say half are actually good. Fire Burns, Automatic, Pound the Alarm, Whip It, Starships, Roman Reloaded, Up In Flames, and The Boys are good to listen to. I think Va Va Vome sounds the best and is the only one I actually kept on my computer. Beez In The Trap (If you black) you will love it, I like it. Id say listen before downloading or buying. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2012
    3
    With the much unexpected release of The Re-Up, Miss Minaj finally seems to be giving the public what the have been grieving for since theWith the much unexpected release of The Re-Up, Miss Minaj finally seems to be giving the public what the have been grieving for since the beginning, actually listenable, good music. Following April's Roman Reloaded, Nicki suffered the backlash of a decrease in sales and a bad public perception, as songs such as 'Stupid Ho' and 'Roman Holiday' were chosen as the main form of promotion fro the project. However as the newly released album opens, Listeners are greeted by the delightful sounds of 'Up in Flames' a hard hitting rap track drawing influences from opera. Freedom features inspiration from other tracks from Minaj such as 'Save Me' and 'Here I Am'. Tracks such as 'Hell Yeah' 'High School' and 'The Boys' see Nicki Minaj at her best, recording the right music she should be... great hip hop. However Having Lil' Wayne appear 3 times on one album can be quite annoying. 7/10 Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    I heard one song and face palmed, she literally started out as a great rapper and now resorted to generic auto-tuned pop rubbish to gain aI heard one song and face palmed, she literally started out as a great rapper and now resorted to generic auto-tuned pop rubbish to gain a larger following, Hip-hop followers have literally just turned their back on her as she some what sold out. The re-up made me lose faith in hip-hop all together, Poor lyricism, poor flow lack of creativity. Pure rubbish. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews