User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 395 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    This album was over-whemingly disappointing, after the moderate debut by the female rapper, Better was expected. Unfortunately not. If the follow up to this is double the disappointment, Nicki will have to search the dustbin for fresh songs.
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    5
    The album is not all bad, I love the rap tracks like "beez In the Trap", "I Am Your Leader", "Champion" and whoever says "Roman Holiday" is a bad song, doesn't know music because that song is a experimental pop creation. The pop songs whoever leave a sour taste in my mouth. "Va Va Voom" & "Automatic" are the only good pop records on this album. The album is not bad but its not as cohesiveThe album is not all bad, I love the rap tracks like "beez In the Trap", "I Am Your Leader", "Champion" and whoever says "Roman Holiday" is a bad song, doesn't know music because that song is a experimental pop creation. The pop songs whoever leave a sour taste in my mouth. "Va Va Voom" & "Automatic" are the only good pop records on this album. The album is not bad but its not as cohesive as I wanted it to be. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    miss the old Nicki, the album sound is like a J.Lo rapper, Red One needs to create new sounds because this is so commercial, btw. track 10 to 14 is like a mega mix. but this album got some good tracks too
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    4
    In Pink Friday, Nicki Minaj reached success by doing something Eminem or Taylor Swift did. She introduced rap to pop and pop to rap. The cross-overs seemed really clever, both fans of the genre fell in love with her initially. Wayne fans started to listen Fly while Spears fans shouted the lyrics of Roman's Revenge. However with Pink Friday:Reloaded the sound that Nicki Minaj captured (theIn Pink Friday, Nicki Minaj reached success by doing something Eminem or Taylor Swift did. She introduced rap to pop and pop to rap. The cross-overs seemed really clever, both fans of the genre fell in love with her initially. Wayne fans started to listen Fly while Spears fans shouted the lyrics of Roman's Revenge. However with Pink Friday:Reloaded the sound that Nicki Minaj captured (the rap/pop) is seen nowhere. It's just a huge pile of different genres without any relations. With the fame and all Minaj eventually got confused and lost herself. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    First of all, don't get me wrong. I like Nicki, she's great but this album can't even be compared to Pink Friday. Too many generic songs with lots of autotuned and overproduced. It's like if she were trying to mix Hip-Hop and Pop but the result is not good at all. Just a few songs on this album live up to the expectations everyone had about this album...
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Man. Nicki Minaj should've used her mixtape persona on this album. i don't like the way how she combines pop and hip-hop. It's alright when she's rapping, but mostly it's a poppy rap blur. if she keeps going like this, im not listnening to her music anymore. her next effort must be hardcore rap. But i don't mind those few pop songs though. but she can do better.
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    If every music album were a delicious home-cooked meal, Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded would be a big pan of warm macaroni and cheese... ....because it's a hot, cheesy mess. This album is absolutely average. It was a HUGE step DOWN from Pink Friday. This album is 20,000 leagues below her mixtapes. She rails at Lil' Kim, calling her a "stupid hoe". Nicki, this was a stupid album. HerIf every music album were a delicious home-cooked meal, Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded would be a big pan of warm macaroni and cheese... ....because it's a hot, cheesy mess. This album is absolutely average. It was a HUGE step DOWN from Pink Friday. This album is 20,000 leagues below her mixtapes. She rails at Lil' Kim, calling her a "stupid hoe". Nicki, this was a stupid album. Her auto-tuned singing is irritating to my ears, the instrumentals almost sound exactly the same and the lyrics are utterly uninspired. This album was supposed to be Roman Zolanski's coming out party. To be honest, I want Roman dead. When I say I want him dead, I mean I want him hung up, shot down and drug out. I think they should make a second attempt at exorcising him from Onika's body and they BETTER get it right this time. I did not pan D0WNe nearly all of her Pop songs because they are Pop and I expect Nicki, being a rapper, to rap. I don't even consider her a sell-out. It's just her Rap songs are pretty good whereas her Pop songs suck monkey balls. She needs to stop singing. She needs to get far away from Guetta and ReDone. Pop isn't working for her. I have four more words for Ms. Onika Tanya Maraj: GET BACK TO RAP. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    Minaj has more personalities than her "alter egos" Roman, Barbie, Martha, etc. Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded certainly has its theatrical and more stellar moments; opener "Roman Holiday" introduces Minaj's flamboyant "demon" known as Roman Zolanski through a whacky happy-core rap whilst following tracks "Come On a Cone", "I Am Your Leader", and "Beez In the Trap" are their own wonderlandsMinaj has more personalities than her "alter egos" Roman, Barbie, Martha, etc. Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded certainly has its theatrical and more stellar moments; opener "Roman Holiday" introduces Minaj's flamboyant "demon" known as Roman Zolanski through a whacky happy-core rap whilst following tracks "Come On a Cone", "I Am Your Leader", and "Beez In the Trap" are their own wonderlands when it comes to production and lyrical content). However, its second half turns into an all-out generic radio pleaser, beginning with "Starships", the RedOne produced lead single that's catchy and radio-friendly, but is obviously made for commerce and bottles up Minaj's talent. Its dance-pop tracks aren't necessarily "bad", just formulaic and could be sang by any pop diva in this business. Roman Reloaded fails to deliver the clever lyrical content and production its predecessor, Pink Friday, sold millions for. Minaj is one of rap music's most unique rappers, whether you hate her or not, and maybe we'll see her reveal that side of her (the true side) in the near or distant future. Expand
  9. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    Probably a little better than her first album but it still holds a good half of songs that you can skip, so luckily with more than 20 songs there are at least another half worth listening to.
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    Although I'm a big Nicki Minaj fan and her platinum-selling album "Pink Friday," but I'm a little disappointed at "Roman Reloaded." "Starships" was a bangin' club anthem of 2012 as we getting near the summer. I don't know if it's a sequel to "Pink Friday" or a deluxe version, but I don't think her so-called Barbs (Barbie wannabes) wouldn't mind if her album is less energy and more rhyming.Although I'm a big Nicki Minaj fan and her platinum-selling album "Pink Friday," but I'm a little disappointed at "Roman Reloaded." "Starships" was a bangin' club anthem of 2012 as we getting near the summer. I don't know if it's a sequel to "Pink Friday" or a deluxe version, but I don't think her so-called Barbs (Barbie wannabes) wouldn't mind if her album is less energy and more rhyming. Just ask previous collaborations including Drake, Lil' Wayne, and other hip-hop/R&B artists. "Roman Reloaded" feels like a mixture of a bubblegum Britney Spears flashback to a Lady Gaga-like short version of "Born This Way." I hope Nicki could do better for another album next time, but now it's not the time to live the hype. "Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded" is good, but comes up short in my wish list. Probably one of the most disappointed album of the year. Expand
  11. Jun 5, 2012
    6
    Quite an interesting album ina waay. Around about the first haflf of the album is dedicated to minimalistic rap beats with lyrics to both match and boot. Unfortunately the second haly falls into little more than generic pop music which plays safe if nothing else. One just wishes nicki would have the guts to embelish he r creative side much more. A 6.5 for me, however mc willl not let oneQuite an interesting album ina waay. Around about the first haflf of the album is dedicated to minimalistic rap beats with lyrics to both match and boot. Unfortunately the second haly falls into little more than generic pop music which plays safe if nothing else. One just wishes nicki would have the guts to embelish he r creative side much more. A 6.5 for me, however mc willl not let one gvve decimal ratings Expand
  12. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    Everyone who bought Pink Friday a year and a half ago and listened to Dear Old Nicki can tell the problem with Roman Reloaded. Nicki Minaj is not far enough in her career to be able to achieve such an ambitious project that is Roman Reloaded. The artist is clearly trying to solve her identity problem by choosing both options; a rapper and a pop star. As a Nicki Minaj enthusiast, I wouldEveryone who bought Pink Friday a year and a half ago and listened to Dear Old Nicki can tell the problem with Roman Reloaded. Nicki Minaj is not far enough in her career to be able to achieve such an ambitious project that is Roman Reloaded. The artist is clearly trying to solve her identity problem by choosing both options; a rapper and a pop star. As a Nicki Minaj enthusiast, I would have been very happy of the choice she made... if she was able to keep up. The project was maybe too ambitious project for Nicki Minaj. Roman Reloaded is divided in two part: Roman Zolanski and the pop star. When she tries to be Roman, the pop star is still there trying to please everyone and restraining the real beast she hides inside. When she is the pop star, her Roman part makes her loose her credibility. It is very hard to believe that Nicki Minaj can be SOOOO in love (Right By My SIde) when six tracks earlier, she was putting her "dick in your face" (Come On A Cone). Of course, the pop star will sell a lot, since not everyone will listen to the whole album and try to figure out who she is (and Nicki really is something). Now Nicki Minaj is clearly in a dilemma; her core fan base (Roman Zolanski) or the public (pop star). She wants to have both ways, but it does not seem to work out very well at this point of her career. Keep on working hard Nicki, one day, you'll be the two person you want to be (and there is nothing wrong with that)! Expand
  13. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Nicki had a great run with Pink Friday, what with Moment 4 Life, Super Bass, and Right Thru Me, and this album wasn't anything to sneeze at either. I love "Starships," and strangely, I liked "Stupid Hoe" but this isn't something she should totally be proud of. I mean, this one seems a bit rushed, and half the songs stunk. Right By My Side seemed a bit sloopy, along with her single "Beez InNicki had a great run with Pink Friday, what with Moment 4 Life, Super Bass, and Right Thru Me, and this album wasn't anything to sneeze at either. I love "Starships," and strangely, I liked "Stupid Hoe" but this isn't something she should totally be proud of. I mean, this one seems a bit rushed, and half the songs stunk. Right By My Side seemed a bit sloopy, along with her single "Beez In the Trap." Overall, I give the CD an unimpressive 6.25/10, it just wasn't the feel her last album had, which was a let down. Expand
  14. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Two year's later, Minaj let's her alter ego Roman out of the box with "Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded" her long awaited second release, thanks to her smash hit "Starships" she hopes that lighting can strike twice for her, and while the second half of her album is great if conventional dance pop heavy, I can't get over how forgettable and boring the first half of this album is, Roman ReloadedTwo year's later, Minaj let's her alter ego Roman out of the box with "Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded" her long awaited second release, thanks to her smash hit "Starships" she hopes that lighting can strike twice for her, and while the second half of her album is great if conventional dance pop heavy, I can't get over how forgettable and boring the first half of this album is, Roman Reloaded is a big disappointment for fans of her first album and will divide up whether you like it or not, and for me I'm in the middle. The first half of this album has some the worst rap songs I've heard in a while, with such bland and boring tunes like "Come on a Cone" and "Roman Reloaded" which is unfortunately paired up with Lil Wayne. There is no story to tell and it all just sounds like extras from her last album that she couldn't squeeze in, so she put them in here. The first half is painfully nine songs long (you could've cut out at least three of those songs) that are all rap that's plain vanilla, the only exception from the first half that I liked was the duet with Chris Brown on the song "Right By My Side" which was surprising heartfelt and honest. The second half was much better if not perfect, starting off with the song "Starships" and it keeps on going with other standouts like "Pound the Alarm" and "Whip it" it all sounds like a different and much better album than from the previous nine songs. But most people will end up hating it due to the fact that all of it is dance pop, well it does work better than just normal rap. The second half has some flaws, some of the songs get a little boring with all the EDM, plus the final song "Stupid Hoe" could've been cut out. Also this album is very long with nineteen songs some people might not get to the final few songs, which show off Minaj's vocals which are pretty great. Overall I can't recommend Roman Reloaded cause you may enjoy one half but hate the other half, at best I could say that you should just get the singles you like instead of the whole package, you'll thank me later. Expand
  15. Nov 17, 2012
    6
    You know what? This isn't half-bad. There's certainly something for everyone. Ok, some of the songs can be a bit hit-and-miss - but this is certainly her strongest collection to date. The only issue I have is the track order.
  16. Jan 30, 2015
    6
    The album is good where Nicki Minaj unleashes herself into full force with her cartoonish characters and clever writing. But then in other parts it gets bogged down by bland pop hooks and just lame production. Overall, it ultimately ruins the album before a disaster of a finish with Stupid Hoe, one of Nicki Minaj's worst songs.
  17. Dec 1, 2013
    5
    What happened?
    This the only question that can be asked to describe the train wreck that is NIcki Minaj's sophomore effort 'Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded". For an artist who burst onto the scene so unique, fresh, and funky as hell... Nicki Minaj has certainly lost her step. Following her 2010 debut 'Pink Friday' wasn't going to be an easy task, and but she didn't even come anywhere close
    What happened?
    This the only question that can be asked to describe the train wreck that is NIcki Minaj's sophomore effort 'Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded". For an artist who burst onto the scene so unique, fresh, and funky as hell... Nicki Minaj has certainly lost her step. Following her 2010 debut 'Pink Friday' wasn't going to be an easy task, and but she didn't even come anywhere close with this glorified re-release. The first half of 'Reloaded' plays out like a continuation of 'Pink Friday'. The same edgy rap, just a little less exciting 2 years removed from her debut. The second half of this 22 track juggernaut, plays out even worse..... like a typical label creation radio pop star. I understand the concept of creating a little something for everyone, but to pack it on a 22 track set just makes it so un-interesting and ultimately a let down (speaking album wise) because it completely fails to be cohesive.

    That all being said... there are certainly a few standouts out of the bloated mess of a track list. 'Starships', the #1 chart smashing lead single will obviously be a cult favorite because, well, Nicki taught us such a groundbreaking new lesson... "Starships.... They were meant to fly". Pop wise 'Whip It', 'Pound the Alarm' and 'Va Va Voom' are certainly fun party jams.... while rap wise, 'Roman Reloaded', 'Stupid Hoe' and 'Roman Holiday' all prove Nicki hasn't lost her chops.....

    Overall the album's a mess..... better luck tying it up a little more cohesively next time Nicki.
    Expand
  18. May 22, 2014
    6
    Although it lacks the focus and consistency of "Pink Friday", Nicki Minaj's critically divisive second album can be summed up as "Loud, Fun and Unapologetic". It is almost split evenly between rap and pop, which polarized many of her core fan base. Some of the collaborations are a bit questionable, and the pop portion can get a bit mindless and repetitive. This record definitely showsAlthough it lacks the focus and consistency of "Pink Friday", Nicki Minaj's critically divisive second album can be summed up as "Loud, Fun and Unapologetic". It is almost split evenly between rap and pop, which polarized many of her core fan base. Some of the collaborations are a bit questionable, and the pop portion can get a bit mindless and repetitive. This record definitely shows Minaj experimenting in EDM, as showcased on the lead single "Starships", although still retaining the hip hop qualities that she is known for. This album is not for everyone, but is still worth a listen. Expand
  19. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    Not bad for a rapper's album. I personally loved 11 out of 19 songs in the album. The rest of the songs were too generic and you have to listen to it at least a million times before it actually grows on you. Overall, it is a great effort for Nicki Minaj. Even though her range was limited, it was still properly utilised and I appreciate her for that.
  20. Apr 15, 2015
    5
    This was probably Nicki Minaj's worst album to date. There are way too many dance tracks on here that are overly repetitive and don't show Nicki's talent as a rapper. I'd have to say the first half is better than Pink Friday but the second half is her attempt to make all the typical mediocre pop music out. Grade: C+. Highlights: "I Am Your Leader", "Come on a Cone", "Roman Reloaded". WorstThis was probably Nicki Minaj's worst album to date. There are way too many dance tracks on here that are overly repetitive and don't show Nicki's talent as a rapper. I'd have to say the first half is better than Pink Friday but the second half is her attempt to make all the typical mediocre pop music out. Grade: C+. Highlights: "I Am Your Leader", "Come on a Cone", "Roman Reloaded". Worst songs: "Starships", "Automatic", "Pound the Alarm" Expand
  21. Feb 3, 2016
    6
    Mesmo nicki sendo uma artista talentosa esse álbum não expressa sua capacidades ao máximo, muitas músicas mal escritas, talvez por falta de tempo após seu album anterior, mal produzidas, e sem conteúdo.
    Melhores : champion, hov lane, roman reloaded e young forever.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    50
    It lumps together all the rap tracks on the first half, and lets the pop fluff fill the rest.
  2. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    70
    Nicki's shining moments are her straight-up, hip-hop tracks. [#252, p.87]
  3. If you enjoy contemporary pop whose market-tested blare offends both rockist philistines and IDM aesthetes, her second album is a worthwhile investment.