Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album from Nicki Minaj focuses on her male alter ego Roman Zolanski and features guest appearances from 2Chainz, Chris Brown, Beenie Man, Bobby V, Cam'ron, Drake, Lil Wayne, Nas, Rick Ross, and Young Jeezy.
Buy On

Top Track

Starships
RedOne Let's go to the beach, each, let's go get a wave They say, what they gonna say? Have a drink, clink, found the Bud Light Bad bitches like me,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. If you enjoy contemporary pop whose market-tested blare offends both rockist philistines and IDM aesthetes, her second album is a worthwhile investment.
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    80
    You can see Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded as a great rap album dragged down by pandering, but you could equally see it as a triumph that one of the biggest pop records of the year leads off with a half-dozen tracks of blistering, filthy, idea-jammed hip-hop.
  3. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    70
    Nicki's shining moments are her straight-up, hip-hop tracks. [#252, p.87]
  4. 60
    It's not a classic album, but its contents implicitly argue that the concept of a "classic album" has become irrelevant in 2012 anyway.
  5. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    More than it's lack of rap, Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded suffers most from not fully being any one thing, as it's unable to balance multiple approaches into one package.
  6. Apr 17, 2012
    50
    Pink Friday: Roman's Revenge isn't bad because of Minaj's cross-dressing it is bad because she often tries on some very banal, characterless outfits.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    By doubling down on her cartoonish elements, she's lost all remnants of lyrical ingenuity she around the time "Monster" first leaked, let alone her various mixtapes.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 117
  2. Negative: 43 out of 117
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Nicki Minaj is NOT just a rapper. She's trying to breakout of her little box labeled "rapping only" and reaching new heights. It should beNicki Minaj is NOT just a rapper. She's trying to breakout of her little box labeled "rapping only" and reaching new heights. It should be clear that people try to become more diverse. It may sound like a lifeless, cheap album with fillers, but after hearing it again, listening to the lyrics, the songs became very catchy. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Great album! She really managed to knock out hip hop tracks that were fire, along with pop tracks that were just as amazing. As a hip hop fan,Great album! She really managed to knock out hip hop tracks that were fire, along with pop tracks that were just as amazing. As a hip hop fan, I love the rap side, but Nicki has managed to get me dancing to songs like Pound The Alarm and Whip It. She really did a great job with this album and deserves success with it. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Overall I LOVE This Album! In My Opinion Lost Herself A Few Times.. But Still Really Amazing! I Love How Half Is Rap And The Other Half IsOverall I LOVE This Album! In My Opinion Lost Herself A Few Times.. But Still Really Amazing! I Love How Half Is Rap And The Other Half Is Pop/Dance/Rap I Think That Will Bring Her A Bigger Overall Fanbase Because Some People Love Her Rap And Some People Love Her Pop Music. The Best Songs Are:
    Roman Holiday
    Come On A Cone
    I Am Your Leader
    Beez In The Trap
    Starships
    Pound The Alarm
    Whip It
    Automatic
    Young Forever
    Marilyn Monroe
    Va Va Voom
    Masquerade
    The Middle/Pretty Good Songs Are:
    Roman Reloded
    Champion
    Right By My Side
    Beautiful Sinner
    Sex In The Lounge
    Gun Shot
    Turn Me On
    Stupid Hoe
    The Worst Songs Are
    HOV Lane And Fire Burns But Overall The WORST Song Is HOV LANE! WORST SONG ON THE ALBUM!
    I Dont Really Understand Why This Album Is Getting Panned By Critics And Fans Because In My Opinion I Consider It A Very Beautiful Work Of Art. This Shows Nicki's Real Talent...
    In My Opinion So Far The Best Album Of The Year (Tied With Teenage Dream The Compelete Confection)
    Amazing Job Nicki! Cant Wait 4 UR Next Album!
    Expand
  4. May 22, 2014
    6
    Although it lacks the focus and consistency of "Pink Friday", Nicki Minaj's critically divisive second album can be summed up as "Loud, FunAlthough it lacks the focus and consistency of "Pink Friday", Nicki Minaj's critically divisive second album can be summed up as "Loud, Fun and Unapologetic". It is almost split evenly between rap and pop, which polarized many of her core fan base. Some of the collaborations are a bit questionable, and the pop portion can get a bit mindless and repetitive. This record definitely shows Minaj experimenting in EDM, as showcased on the lead single "Starships", although still retaining the hip hop qualities that she is known for. This album is not for everyone, but is still worth a listen. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Man. Nicki Minaj should've used her mixtape persona on this album. i don't like the way how she combines pop and hip-hop. It's alright whenMan. Nicki Minaj should've used her mixtape persona on this album. i don't like the way how she combines pop and hip-hop. It's alright when she's rapping, but mostly it's a poppy rap blur. if she keeps going like this, im not listnening to her music anymore. her next effort must be hardcore rap. But i don't mind those few pop songs though. but she can do better. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    2
    Okay, although I didn't like Pink Friday, I'd give Nicki Minaj this, she is unique. Yeah I know, it sounds weird. But you can't say she isn'tOkay, although I didn't like Pink Friday, I'd give Nicki Minaj this, she is unique. Yeah I know, it sounds weird. But you can't say she isn't original, and if some other female rapper came in wore a pink wig, rapped in a British accent and sung in autotune that she wouldn't be compared to Nicki. Seriously though, she has proved she could hold her own with the best of them, such as Kanye, Jay & Em. And I can respect that her debut was much more hip hop based than pop based.

    So seeing this, I thought it was a reissue of Pink Friday. I mean let's be honest it sounds like it would be Pink Friday with some extra tracks. But this is not Pink Friday, no Roman Reloaded is much, much worse. I mean it is catastrophically bad. I counted 5 tracks on this album I liked, the rest was either filler or garbage. And I had the same total for Pink Friday too, the only difference is where as Pink Friday gave you mercy with 13 tracks. This tortures you with 19 tracks and 70 minutes of which 80% is bad. She uses ungodly annoying flows that would make the punchline rap look subtle. What's worst is that Nicki (oh, I'm sorry, I mean Roman) is starting to turn into a pop diva and those 8 or 9 songs are obnoxious. Her singing is obnoxious, her raps are obnoxious, the production is obnoxious, it makes Lady Gaga sound like Sarah McLachlan. Let me put it to you this way, if you liked Roman's Revenge (like me), you'll like 5 of these songs, if you liked Did It On Em, you'll like half of these songs, if you like Super Bass, you'll like the other half plus the deluxe edition bonus tracks. I'll give her credit that she's trying to be diverse and trying to reach out for different sounds. It's just, to me, she failed at doing most of these sounds particularly well. Don't look for the Nicki who said she's "returning to her roots on this album" here folks, that Nicki is nowhere to be found.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOO what the actual is this who ever approved this you needa quit music or life man!!! i laughed so hard listeing to thisLMAOOOOOOOOOOOOO what the actual is this who ever approved this you needa quit music or life man!!! i laughed so hard listeing to this crap!! lmaooooooo yo how this right here you should act like this never existed smh you suck nicki, you ruining music!! pure rubbish Expand

See all 117 User Reviews