User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Nicki is perfect for the occasion , his lyrics are danceable but also makes you dance and can take your side rudo.Canciones as Roman Reloaded , roman holiday , perfect songs are stupid hoe to remove your anger without being violent , songs like whip it , va va voom starship and you start dancing without moving a single bone, and songs like monroe marilin put you to mourn without taking aNicki is perfect for the occasion , his lyrics are danceable but also makes you dance and can take your side rudo.Canciones as Roman Reloaded , roman holiday , perfect songs are stupid hoe to remove your anger without being violent , songs like whip it , va va voom starship and you start dancing without moving a single bone, and songs like monroe marilin put you to mourn without taking a single tear Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    Melhores músicas: Starships, Pound The Alarm, Whip It, Marilyn Monroe, Fire Burns, Stupid Hoe, Masquerade, Va Va Voom, Right By My Side, Champion
    .....
  3. Jul 3, 2015
    9
    This Album is the big new version of a woman on Rap. Nicki is the bestest! She combined styles, gave much of Pop Music but never leaving aside the rap. Bringing in an innovative way. She was beyond pop, experimenting with Hip-Hop and Rap giving us a timeless album. The Rap on the album has the chemical rap, but with a very good catch.
  4. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    Bicha, a senhora sabe fazer melhor, viu! Mas, esse é album é bem legal, "Champion" sem duvida é uma das melhores musicas dela. Roman Reloaded é legal, mas não supera Pink Friday
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    The best album of Nicki, she managed to put the rap with pop perfectly, thrilling beats, good vocals that make this album something wonderful to hear.
    Highlights: Starships and Whip It
    Lows: Champion and Sex In The Lounge
  6. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    I love this follow up album to Pink Friday, I love the tracks Roman Holiday, Beez In The Trap, Automatic & Masquerade. This album has many genres and I like that about this album.
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    Did Nicki break the rules with Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded? Yes. Is it something bad? Not at all. Saying that this album is "bad" just because of its pop/electro-pop tracks is just as dumb as saying that Eminem can't rap because he's white. Literally, there's nothing bad about successfully combining hip-hop music and pop culture (and not only pop music since Nicki brings pop beats added toDid Nicki break the rules with Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded? Yes. Is it something bad? Not at all. Saying that this album is "bad" just because of its pop/electro-pop tracks is just as dumb as saying that Eminem can't rap because he's white. Literally, there's nothing bad about successfully combining hip-hop music and pop culture (and not only pop music since Nicki brings pop beats added to a "pop" persona on this album's cover and music videos). Starting off with "Roman Holiday", a timeless and catchy track, the whole album brings us furious and rage-filled lyrics, mercilessly sung by her alter-ego, Roman Zolanski. The following tracks "Come On a Cone" and "I Am Your Leader" are pretty much equal to each other, with challenging hip-hop lyrics and pop choruses + an electronic instrumental. "Beez In The Trap" is surely its most ghetto moment, with a catchy chorus/hook and the amazing participation of 2 Chainz.
    Fast-forward to the track "Right By My Side", we see Nicki's attempt of bringing pop music inside of hip-hop, and she manages to do it quite well (despite for "Sex in the Lounge" and "Masquerade") through the following 6 or 7 tracks. As "Beautiful Sinner" ends, we get this classic and emotional ballad, "Marilyn Monroe", with Minaj's voice showing that she's not a common female rapper. "Young Forever", "Fire Burns" and "Gun Shot" are the most calm moment on this record, bringing naive and sweet lyrics blended with her voice being sweetly "modified" (not sure if it's a very good thing).
    And then we finish with a pop anthem with a (yet more) catchy chorus, "Va Va Voom", that has a calm and sexy bridge. It's not plausible, though, to say it is Nicki Minaj's best work, no. But she did gave us a record full of Top 40 hits and at the same time, well written lyrics, only stating her deserved title of "hip-hop queen" on nowadays.
    Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    This is a great album is you can appreciate it for what it is.. purely hip-hop fans will not like it, purely pop fans will not give it merit and purely R&B fans will find it a bad album. If you judge this album without the confides of 'genre' i believe that maybe you would enjoy the album a lot more. 10/10
  9. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Starships 7.5 Single Sold she is the Queen of Rap/Hip-Hop and no other female rapper could ever do what she is doing, she is just the best Rapper of all the time.
  10. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed "Roman Reloaded". Half off the album are pop songs, the other half rap songs. This is Nicki's best album. Best songs are "Come On A Cone" and "Roman Holiday".
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Oh my god... i totally love this album! ''Champion'' is probably the greatest song. She's not only a rapper, she can sing too. Of course Nicki isn't the best but it's still great and enjoyable.
  12. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing lyrics and jaw-dropping songs show Nicki Minaj is "where the top begins." Stand out tracks like "Starships," "Pound the Alarm," "Whip It," and "Marilyn Monroe" 'touch the sky' (as quoted from "Starships") Minaj turned toward a more musical tone in her sophomore album which unfortunately does not show as much talent, as most tracks are drowned in autotune
  13. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Albums Of 2012! Roman Returns! Every Song Off Roman Reloaded Is Amazing! One Of The Mot Underated Album Of The Year!
  14. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    I feel as if she split her fans in two. Half of them don't like the pop songs and some don't like the Rap songs. I feel as if she would have blended them more with a twist it wouldn't have been split.

    All in all I love the album. Sex In The Lounge. I know she can satisfy both of her audiences on the re release.
  15. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Com alguns anos de blog nas costas, já posso me orgulhar de ver carreiras nascerem e depois prosperar ou morrer. Uma delas que o blog acompanha desde o comecinho é o da Nicki Minaj bem antes dela estourar e virar um dos nomes ou o nome mais importante da nova geração de artistas americanos. Já tinha reparado no talento dessa rapper muito antes dela virarCom alguns anos de blog nas costas, já posso me orgulhar de ver carreiras nascerem e depois prosperar ou morrer. Uma delas que o blog acompanha desde o comecinho é o da Nicki Minaj bem antes dela estourar e virar um dos nomes ou o nome mais importante da nova geração de artistas americanos. Já tinha reparado no talento dessa rapper muito antes dela virar mainstream. Posso me orgulhar de não ter sido "arrebatado" não apenas por que ela está no topo, mas por ter reconhecido uma artista competente atrás da persona que ela foi criando para si. Com o lançamento do primeiro álbum dela, Pink Friday, ela foi promovida "a coisa mais quente do pedaço" e vi ela se tornando multifacetada misturando hip hop com pop em um álbum "com resultado abaixo do esperado, mas bem além da média" parafraseando eu mesmo no Primeira Impressão do álbum. Um ano e quase meio depois, Nicki consolidou sua carreira e vai lançar seu segundo álbum continuação de PF que foi intitulado Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded. E como resultado posso dizer que o trabalho ficou com resultado acima do esperado, mas na média de outros trabalhos.

    Explicando: Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded é bem melhor no resultado final que seu antecessor, mas fica na média se compararmos com outros trabalhos do estilo. Acontece que, apesar de colocar sua marca bem distinta com rapper/cantora de múltiplas personalidades, toda a produção fica presa a formulas já usadas tanto do lado hip hop, do R&B e do pop. Aqui, bem mais que no PF, a divisão entre estilos está muito bem definida. Começa com hip hop, passa pelo R&B e termina no pop/dance. Então, nada mais justo que dividir cada segmento para avaliar melhor o álbum.

    Hip Hop (Das faixa 1 até a 6 e com influência pesada na 7)

    O começo o álbum mostra Nicki no seu campo original misturando batidas mais marcadas e momentos mais estilizados. Algumas canções parecem pré-fabricadas em sua construção de arranjo. Esse hip hop mais street pode ser encontrado em vários contemporâneos de Nicki. Ela vai de Roman até a Nicki verdadeira com poucos momentos geniais, mas sempre mantendo o nível alto. O que chama atenção é que a maioria dos featurings se encontram nessa parte fazendo em certos momento ela quase ser eclipsada por alguns pesos pesados. As composições mostram em sua maioria uma Nicki que acerta nas partes mais sérias e se diverte nas de conotação mais despreocupada. E daqui que vem a melhor canção do álbum: Champion, com os pesos pesados Nas, Drake e Young Jeezy. Uma batida mais tradicional, mas elevada com a ótima letra e o trabalho inspirado de todos os envolvidos. Também de destaca Roman Reloaded (resenhada a seguir) e a esquizofrênica Roman Holiday que a versão para o álbum é melhor que podia se esperar depois da apresentação no Grammy.

    R&B (Com certa influência na faixa 7 que é Champion e na 8 e 9)

    Falando das duas com maior influência no estilo que são a 8 e a 9, temos o pior momento do álbum. Seja na "romântica" Right By My Side com o Chris Brown e na estranha Sex In The Lounge com cara de faixa do álbum do Lil' Wayne que não por acaso ele faz o featuring a lado de Bobby V. Falando dessa última, ela simplesmente deixa para escanteio a "dona" da canção. Completamente dispensável.

    Pop (Da faixa 10 até a versão Deluxe)

    A parte mais coesa do álbum mostrando a melhor faceta do trabalho. Comandado principalmente por RedOne, o lado pop do trabalho é um dos melhores pop/dance chiclete do últimos tempos. Todas as canções são feitas para tocar nas rádios do mundo inteiro, dançantes ao extremo, boas composições mesmo sem fugir do arroz com feijão, com interpretações que apenas Nicki consegue dá ao misturar cantar com o rap. Então, qual o problema? A questão é: será essa faceta um desejo de Nicki ou a gravadora vendo o potencial dela com o estilo a fez ir por esse caminho? Essa dúvida e a sensação que as músicas se parecem muito uma com as outras, ainda mais colocadas uma atrás da outra, dá uma prejudicada no resultado final. Aqui a melhor faixa sem dúvida nenhuma é a ótima Beautiful Sinner. Uma mistura de dubstep com dance resgatando as origens de Nicki. A segunecia de Starships, Pound the Alarm e Whip It e acertada. Enquanto Marilyn Monroe é uma balada pop diferente, mas bem legal. Tem a interessante parceria com o rei do dacehall Beenie Man em Gun Shot. O erro aqui está em Fire Burns que não mostra nada e faz o ritmo caí antes do final. O mais curioso é ver Stupid Hoe fechando a versão normal já que apesar da pegada mais "violenta" seria a canção que mais chegou perto da mistura hip hop, pop e o "estilo Nicki" que ela já fez.

    Nicki Minaj ainda consegue se destacar e Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded mostra uma artista mais madura, mas ainda falta entregar o "álbum". Quem sabe na próxima?
    Expand
  16. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    This album is a little like reading Dickens; it's not bad, just overcrowded. There was no reason why Nicki had to cram each of these songs onto this album. It's colossal. The problem is, there is so much fat that could have been cut out, much like a Dickens novel. 'Sex In the Lounge,' 'Automatic,' 'Beautiful Sinner,' 'Young Forever,' and 'Fire Burns' really aren't needed. If you left theThis album is a little like reading Dickens; it's not bad, just overcrowded. There was no reason why Nicki had to cram each of these songs onto this album. It's colossal. The problem is, there is so much fat that could have been cut out, much like a Dickens novel. 'Sex In the Lounge,' 'Automatic,' 'Beautiful Sinner,' 'Young Forever,' and 'Fire Burns' really aren't needed. If you left the rest, you're left with a great album that crosses genre boundaries easily. She's doing her thing, though, and that demands a lot of respect. Expand
  17. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    I'm not the fan of rap and I thought that I will not really enjoy this album, but I did. Half of the songs on the album just make you want to stand up and dance. It's really great to listen singing and rapping in the same song. No matter if like rap or not, I would like this.
  18. May 28, 2012
    10
    This Album Was Panned Since The Start..
    But In My Opinion This Is Better Than Pink Friday This Album Shows That Nicki Can Rap And Sing!
    Amazing Variety Of Songs!
    One Of The Best Albums Of 2012!
  19. May 3, 2012
    7
    Quick question, though... Where is Roman? It seems like we've once again been stood up with false promise of a harder Nicki Minaj, but it seems the album was transformed into something more commercially acceptable. Rumor has it the label had some issues with the turn out and asked Nicki to hit the studio again to give more radio hits. That's just a rumor.Truth or not, it does make sense.Quick question, though... Where is Roman? It seems like we've once again been stood up with false promise of a harder Nicki Minaj, but it seems the album was transformed into something more commercially acceptable. Rumor has it the label had some issues with the turn out and asked Nicki to hit the studio again to give more radio hits. That's just a rumor.Truth or not, it does make sense.

    Gossip aside, Nicki Minaj just served up some of the best pop tracks of 2012, so far. She pretty much hit the nail on the head with the entire pop side of the album. Each of the pop tracks is a ecstasy riddled, pelvic thrusting night at a dance bar with strobe lights blinking so bright you can see them when you close your eyes. "Starships" was the first fully treated single from the album. This song proves that Nicki isn't going to just settle for snatching the gold encrusted crown worn by rap's queen. She wants to be a pop princess as well. Billboard is backing her up, as Starships has served as a stronger radio song than the most recent songs from Rihanna, Britney & Gaga. To be honest, the song is pretty generic up until we get past the chorus. Then the beat drops like a ton of bricks and we're instantly drowned in a flood of bass thudding dubstep and a chanting chorus of vocoder "Oohs." In the club, you can't help but hop around like a foolish child and in the car you'll get so lost in the electric beat that you'll look up to see the people in the car besides you pointing and laughing. Easily the best choice on the album to make pop fans aware that Nicki is tackling more than just the urban charts.

    "Pound the Alarm" was the fan-favorite snippet when NickiDaily.com posted them. It follows the same formula as "Starships" but has an even more hardcore club feel. It's like Nicki's answer to Rihanna's "Where Have You Been." Ironically, those are both my favorite tracks on each of their albums. The only difference is that Nicki actually has verses instead of just a chorus and a bridge. I dare you to try and not dance to this tune. You have to be a bitter old **** to not fall in love with this track.

    "Whip It" is a lot more toned down than the first two pop tracks on the album. It still plays heavily on the top 40's current most popular sound, but it is accompanied by catch, imitate-able lyrics that drops into a sexy drum section during the verses. The hard-cracking bullwhip that accompanies the transitions each part of the song is the cherry on top and of course the way that the song ends is flawless. It's really how every song should end.

    Jumping down a few tracks to "Va Va Voom," I think she made a mistake not adding it right after "Beautiful Sinner." It's help keep the tempo of the album before dipping a bit in "Marilyn Monroe." Nicki keeps her vocals smooth which meshes really well with Dr. Luke's beat... and can we have a round of applause for Dr. Luke, who finally did something different than what he pretty much handed to ever artist he's work with since 2010.

    On to the rap side of the album...

    "Roman Holiday" was one of the main reasons I pre-ordered the album. I absolutely loved the Grammy performance and have been listening to the audio since the day it aired. That said, the delivery is completely different and a bit disappointed. She hit that point were she was a little too animated and corny. Still, it's a good track and serves as a great introduction, not only to the album, but to the world of Roman Zolanski.

    I think she found a better balance during "I Am Your Leader." My one beef with this song is that it sounds too much like Lil Wayne wrote it. She's just rapping anything that rhymes. She's a good storyteller. She shouldn't be shelling out any cliché that comes to mind. Rick Ross picks up the lyrical slack. He's really been stepping up in the rap world. Why Cam'ron though? Is he making a comeback?

    "Beez In The Trap" is an absolutely trashy mess... so why do I live for it? I caught myself in the shower rapping this whole song to me shampoo and conditioner bottles like they were battling me. The beat just really goes extra hard. I just wish it wasn't 2Chainz. Saw them in concert at a club a few weekends ago and it was a horrid, **** mess.

    In the end, Nicki did a great job of topping the original Pink Friday album. I think she did a lovely job of fully crossing over. It's going to create a nice, explosive year for her. With the right promotion, she can probably land her first #1 on the Hot 100 and maybe even get her hands on one of those shiny Grammys. She just has to pray that Beyoncé can't find a babysitter for Baby Blue long enough to hit the studio, though we know that's not happening.

    I'll give this album a 7/10. I'd like to see Nicki focus more on her lyrical growth rather than just making songs that will be hits. I know it's kind of give and take, but you have to find the balance. Just ask Jay-Z.
    Expand
  20. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Nicki Minaj is probably one of the more talented pop artist in recent years. Is she a good rapper? Yup. Is she a good singer? Yup as well! Hip hop purist would cringe at her mixing of styles, but they're radio friendly. She is a more 'hardcore' version of Rihanna but more or less, a pop princess.
  21. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Nicki's sophomore album Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded showcases two sides of her personality. Throughout the first half of the album, Nicki demonstrates her rap persona with her male alter-ego Roman Zolanski. Roman Holiday, one of her most notable tracks due to her controversial performance at the Grammy Awards features Roman and his Mother, Martha. Later Nicki sinister rap unfolds in theNicki's sophomore album Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded showcases two sides of her personality. Throughout the first half of the album, Nicki demonstrates her rap persona with her male alter-ego Roman Zolanski. Roman Holiday, one of her most notable tracks due to her controversial performance at the Grammy Awards features Roman and his Mother, Martha. Later Nicki sinister rap unfolds in the following tracks "Come On A Cone, I Am Your Leader, Beez In The Trap and HOV Lane". However Nicki's rapping style is very similar on all four songs. "Roman Reloaded" is a more traditional rap featuring Lil Wayne. Nicki has many guest artists on this particular track "Champion" with Nas, Drake and Young Jeezy. "Right By My Side" Roman Reloaded's single includes Nicki not only rapping but singing along with her guest artist Chris Brown. Finally "Sex In The Lounge", on this particular song we can only really hear Nicki on the first verse. The rest of Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded shows Nicki appeal as pop artist. The first single of the album "Starships" is a somewhat feel good summer song where Nicki proclaims "Lets go to the Beach-each, lets go get away", Starships has peaked to number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100. "Pound the Alarm" is alarmingly similar to "Starships". Nicki's song "Whip it" sounds more like a track Rihanna would perform. Here we can see Britney Spears' big influence on Nicki in the next track "Automatic" which is sounds a lot like something that would come of Britney's album Femme Fatale, most notably the song "Till the World Ends" and "I Wanna Go". "Beautiful Sinner", a track with the same range of vocals performed by Nicki. One of Nicki's inspirations is included in the next track "Marilyn Monroe", here Nicki sings on how she portrays Monroe life would have been. "Young Forever", a song in my opinion which comes out of a contemporary love film. In this track the chorus resembles Nicki's "Moment for Life", this song is "Fire Burns". Next we have "Gun Shot" featuring Beenie Man. And finally we end with Nicki's very controversial song "Stupid Hoe", which is a happycore/Electro hop song with a very strange video to compliment it. Overall Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded is a somewhat good album, personally Nicki showcases more talent as a hip-hop and pop artist than a pure rapper. Sophomore albums are always hard to make, if their debut album has acquired some success, which Pink Friday has received. Finally this album might split up Nicki's fan base, with her hip-hop/rap songs, and her pop songs. Album highlights include Roman Reloaded, Starships, Right By My Side, Young Forever and Automatic. Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing!!! I really love it,cause hip-pop,pop-dance and RNB are mixed fantastic.It contains lots of hit singles!!!Maybe there are some people think this albumâ
  23. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Loved it! Their is a lot off songs on the album which carter to a lot off fans. Also their are a lot off songs on here that could become hits like champion feat drake,jezzy and nas and beez in the trap. I do have a couple off complaints for this album is the song come on a cone which I was not a fan off and their was no song like roman's revenge but Nicki made up for it with Nas being onLoved it! Their is a lot off songs on the album which carter to a lot off fans. Also their are a lot off songs on here that could become hits like champion feat drake,jezzy and nas and beez in the trap. I do have a couple off complaints for this album is the song come on a cone which I was not a fan off and their was no song like roman's revenge but Nicki made up for it with Nas being on the album and a lot off songs being on their to. Expand
  24. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This album is completely honest & fun. I love every single track. Wow. I love how she blended hard lyrics on insane beats. Thanks to HitBoy. I'm completely blown away. I never thought Nicki would go this hard. She amazes me every time. I wonder how her next project will sound. You guys just hate the fact that she is boasting about her success. Besides, she's her own competition.
  25. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Nicki Minaj nicknamed The Queen of Hip-Hop, has released the second version of Pink Friday, that of his alter-ego Roman Zolanski. Despite the themes remain the same (to party, drink alcohol, have sex and still partying .....) Nicki Minaj has become more mature in her voice and song-writing level. This is not the weird little girl who sang Boom Boom Boom Badoom Badoom Super Bass but theNicki Minaj nicknamed The Queen of Hip-Hop, has released the second version of Pink Friday, that of his alter-ego Roman Zolanski. Despite the themes remain the same (to party, drink alcohol, have sex and still partying .....) Nicki Minaj has become more mature in her voice and song-writing level. This is not the weird little girl who sang Boom Boom Boom Badoom Badoom Super Bass but the great Queen of Hip-Hop. Although the world will tell you that this does not mean the Queen but ask them who is the Queen of Hip-Hop! Just to finish my Top 3 of my favorite songs on the album
    1 - Roman Holiday
    2 - Starships
    3 - Stupid Hoe
    Expand
  26. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    PF:RR represents Nicki growing as an multifaceted artist. The dance tracks are well produced, but still lack some personality. The first half, fortunately, is full of her mixtape persona: **** lyrics, hot beats and a self-confidence that convinces. A better album than his predecessor it's not, but the mood is interesting and the highlights are really impressive.

    Listen to: Come On A Cone,
    PF:RR represents Nicki growing as an multifaceted artist. The dance tracks are well produced, but still lack some personality. The first half, fortunately, is full of her mixtape persona: **** lyrics, hot beats and a self-confidence that convinces. A better album than his predecessor it's not, but the mood is interesting and the highlights are really impressive.

    Listen to: Come On A Cone, I Am Your Leader, Beez In The Trap, Champion, Pound The Alarm, Whip It and Va Va Voom.
    Don't hesitate skipping: Sex In The Lounge, Right By My Side, Automatic and Marilyn Monroe.
    Expand
  27. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year! It has rap, hip-hop, pop, electronic, ballads, all in one great album! Truly fantastic! Congratulations for Nicki! Getting better and better within each album!
  28. Apr 7, 2012
    7
    One of the most awaited albums of 2012 has been released, and opinions have been divided already over the way Minaj presents the album with half hip hop/rap and the other halp full on pop. In my opinion, this probaly was the correct approach Minaj should take, she undoubtedly satisfies all her devoted fans from those mixtape days, but also invites in a wider range of fans to create maybeOne of the most awaited albums of 2012 has been released, and opinions have been divided already over the way Minaj presents the album with half hip hop/rap and the other halp full on pop. In my opinion, this probaly was the correct approach Minaj should take, she undoubtedly satisfies all her devoted fans from those mixtape days, but also invites in a wider range of fans to create maybe one of the best selling albums of the year, but not the best.
    The album opens with the infamous Roman Holiday, which is a catchy yet completely crazy track, which f this is your first listen will completely suprise you. Then we really enter the first half of the album with Minaj's hip hop section. Here Minaj is at her best with ntelligent lyrics, that to be fair barely have a tune, but, that does not matter, for Minaj hold her weight with her many voices rapping at seriously some of her best yet. Real highlights are I Am Your Leader (feat. Rick Ross, and Cam'ron), Beez in the Trap (feat.2Chainz), and Roman Reloaded (feat. Lil Wayne.) All three may not have catchy beats, but the chorus of each will stay in your head for a while. Roman Reloaded is easily the one of the three that people dont even like hip hop will be listening too, while I Am Your Leader and Beez in the Trap are not exactly made to invite and audience they are simply superb in the way Minaj's lyrics flow and always rhyme in smart and memorable lyrics. Especially on Beez in the Trap Minaj does not need the support of 2Chainz for she can simply keep going like a steam roller constantly rolling out new lyrics we would not expect.
    If the album had stayed at this sort of pace and this genre of Hip Hop, the album could easily be one of the best of the year, and rap wise up there in the greats with Kanye West or Lil Wayne's ' Tha Carter III', but then the album changes and veers of into a different type of genre. The Chris Brown accompanied Right by my Side seems to be randomly fitted in between and is barely a highlight with Minaj sounding like a Jordin Sparks wannabe, and Brown is OK, but no where near as good as some of the features on the album. Sex in the Lounge then invades our ear drums, and awful track that is extremly dissapointing to see on the album with it making barely any sense, and seems pointless and really drags. The album then reaches this second genre of Pop and opens with Starships, the platinum selling single, which is a good opener with an uplifiting mood and an extremly catchy tune, this will make fans of Superbass very happy, and in no way is it a bad song for we do hear Minaj rap and a bit of auto tuned singing. But, then the albums standards begin to drop as Minaj's tracks start turning to dance pop with catchy lyrics, but no way smart or talented lyrics like her first 8 tracks. There are 4 of these pop/dance tracks and only two really stand out as a good song, and a dance track. These are Starships, as mentioned, and Whip It, Whip It is definitely one of, or maybe the, best tracks on the second half. Minaj goes back to smart and catchy lyrics yet using a tune that will deifnitely make you want to dance. One of the lesser of thefour pop/dance tracks is Automatic, which lyrics seem rushed and tune is barely a toe tapper. The album then begins to slow down until it almost reaches a halt. Beautiful Sinner is the first and is still a pop song but just a bit slower and seems a bit confused of whether it is dance or a pop ballad. The next two Marilyn Monroe and Young Forever, are 100% pop ballads, and are catchy but no way a stand out in the worl of pop ballad with Young Forever sounding like Minaj doing a cover of a Rihanna song. Fire Burns is the next track, another pop ballad but even slpwer than the other two,and is an OK track, but, then the penultimate track Gun Shot (feat.Beenie Man) plays, a real good track by Minaj and the best of the second half before Whip It, a slow catchy tune that has Minaj actually rap in a pop somg like she does in the tracks Roman Reloaded. The song really sounds like one of the closing songs, its a slow tune but yo will enjoy it, with Minaj showing some of her best work on the album. Finally the album closes with the infamous Stupid Hoe with the many dislike on YouTube, but,this is a perfect close to the album we open with Minajs alter ego Roman and close with him with this sng literally sounding like Minaj chaneling her angers in life in one 4 minute song. It is, and ill say it, a really good song, her rapping is superb, lyrics may not be the bst but they are memorable.
    If Minaj had released this album as just Pop it probaly would have by no means been one of the best albums ever. But put it with the first half of the album, and it works for both fan bases get satisfaction with the album, with the pop half having real dance number and some good pop ballads, and the Hip Hop half, shows some of Minaj's best work apwith some nearly scraping Kanye West and Minaj's Monster brilliance.
    Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Great album! She really managed to knock out hip hop tracks that were fire, along with pop tracks that were just as amazing. As a hip hop fan, I love the rap side, but Nicki has managed to get me dancing to songs like Pound The Alarm and Whip It. She really did a great job with this album and deserves success with it.
  30. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Pink Friday Roman Reloaded is a really great album. It's diverse and shows that Nicki Minaj isn't just a rapper & is talented in other fields. Love the album.
  31. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    I really don't get why everyone is hating on this album. I've given it a few listens on Youtube and the songs are actually really good and really catchy. Starships, which is already on the radio is probably one of the worst on the entire album and even that song is pretty good. Va Va Voom, Whip it and Pound the Alarm have become some of my favorite Nicki Minaj songs now. Roman Reloaded isI really don't get why everyone is hating on this album. I've given it a few listens on Youtube and the songs are actually really good and really catchy. Starships, which is already on the radio is probably one of the worst on the entire album and even that song is pretty good. Va Va Voom, Whip it and Pound the Alarm have become some of my favorite Nicki Minaj songs now. Roman Reloaded is even better than Pink Friday and has surpassed it in every way so go give it a try ! Expand
  32. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Nicki Minaj in Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded shows her huge improvement, especially vocally.
    She escapes from her little hip-hop/rap box and she tries to experiment with pop music, in which I personally think that she succeeded. "Starships" is her best song so far, and accompanied by "Pound the alarm", "Whip It", "Va Va Voom" and "Automatic", I think it will rocket her popularity.
    It is very
    Nicki Minaj in Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded shows her huge improvement, especially vocally.
    She escapes from her little hip-hop/rap box and she tries to experiment with pop music, in which I personally think that she succeeded. "Starships" is her best song so far, and accompanied by "Pound the alarm", "Whip It", "Va Va Voom" and "Automatic", I think it will rocket her popularity.
    It is very clear that in Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded Nicki Minaj tries to impress and satisfy both her fans that know her from "Super Bass" and "Turn Me On" and her older fans that admire her hip-hop/rap abilities. Therefore, it isn't unreasonable that her album is expected to reach #1 in its first week.
    Expand
  33. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This album is excellent, it blends hip hop tracks and pop dance tracks as well as RnB. Whenever an artist makes a crossover album it's always expected to get mixed reviews but Roman Reloaded is a sure hit and is filled with amazing songs.
  34. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded was one of the albums I couldn't wait to hear, and I can say that, she did a good job. I really enjoy it and it doesn't bore me.. Highlights are Roman Holiday, the song when crazy mean Roman Zolanski come back to says what's on his mind, Sex in the Lounge, one and only sexy song by Nicki, Whip It - great club banger with good production and Gun Shot.. greatPink Friday: Roman Reloaded was one of the albums I couldn't wait to hear, and I can say that, she did a good job. I really enjoy it and it doesn't bore me.. Highlights are Roman Holiday, the song when crazy mean Roman Zolanski come back to says what's on his mind, Sex in the Lounge, one and only sexy song by Nicki, Whip It - great club banger with good production and Gun Shot.. great RnB/Reggae collaboration with Beenie Man, I can feel something that makes me feel so good, like it's pretty summer day... and i'm laying on beach and you know what i mean... However, there's one not so good thing about the album and that's Nicki's mixing several different music genres and I think it is the main problem...the album doesn't sound so good as a whole and you don't know what to think about Nicki.. she should choose main style and focus on it. Sorry for my grammar mistakes btw, English is not my first language :) Expand
  35. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    The best versatile Female album ever. That's good and bad, some people are attracted to the 1st 8 total rap songs or the last 8 pop songs. Some people, only like one genre, which is fine and Nicki is trying to please everyone on this album, which if you like both rap and pop, this album is a masterpiece. Each of her songs pleases someone.This album is a blast to listen to if your an anyThe best versatile Female album ever. That's good and bad, some people are attracted to the 1st 8 total rap songs or the last 8 pop songs. Some people, only like one genre, which is fine and Nicki is trying to please everyone on this album, which if you like both rap and pop, this album is a masterpiece. Each of her songs pleases someone.This album is a blast to listen to if your an any mood. If you don't like Pop, only buy the rap songs easy as pie, wise guy! Expand
  36. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Overall I LOVE This Album! In My Opinion Lost Herself A Few Times.. But Still Really Amazing! I Love How Half Is Rap And The Other Half Is Pop/Dance/Rap I Think That Will Bring Her A Bigger Overall Fanbase Because Some People Love Her Rap And Some People Love Her Pop Music. The Best Songs Are:
    Roman Holiday
    Come On A Cone I Am Your Leader Beez In The Trap Starships Pound The Alarm Whip
    Overall I LOVE This Album! In My Opinion Lost Herself A Few Times.. But Still Really Amazing! I Love How Half Is Rap And The Other Half Is Pop/Dance/Rap I Think That Will Bring Her A Bigger Overall Fanbase Because Some People Love Her Rap And Some People Love Her Pop Music. The Best Songs Are:
    Roman Holiday
    Come On A Cone
    I Am Your Leader
    Beez In The Trap
    Starships
    Pound The Alarm
    Whip It
    Automatic
    Young Forever
    Marilyn Monroe
    Va Va Voom
    Masquerade
    The Middle/Pretty Good Songs Are:
    Roman Reloded
    Champion
    Right By My Side
    Beautiful Sinner
    Sex In The Lounge
    Gun Shot
    Turn Me On
    Stupid Hoe
    The Worst Songs Are
    HOV Lane And Fire Burns But Overall The WORST Song Is HOV LANE! WORST SONG ON THE ALBUM!
    I Dont Really Understand Why This Album Is Getting Panned By Critics And Fans Because In My Opinion I Consider It A Very Beautiful Work Of Art. This Shows Nicki's Real Talent...
    In My Opinion So Far The Best Album Of The Year (Tied With Teenage Dream The Compelete Confection)
    Amazing Job Nicki! Cant Wait 4 UR Next Album!
    Expand
  37. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded starts off with heavy hip-hop beats and seemingly endless collaborations. Then finishes with danceable music that you can't help but sing along with. The album may not be perfectly structured as some releases, but it does not make this album ANY less fun than anything out there.
  38. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded shows that you can't box Nicki in. No matter what anyone says or criticizes, it just shows that she got you gurls hot && bothered. Number 1 debut on iTunes? Starships still in the Top 10? Right By My Side's fast rising? She's winning tho
  39. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Fun and catchy! The album is what it is and that isn't very hard to guess when looking at the cover art. When Nicki was talking about the album she described it as fun and more laid back; that's exactly what it is. Nothing groundbreaking or really iconic, but overall it's fun to listen to, the songs are catchy and it gets you going, I would recommend it for parties or for working out to,Fun and catchy! The album is what it is and that isn't very hard to guess when looking at the cover art. When Nicki was talking about the album she described it as fun and more laid back; that's exactly what it is. Nothing groundbreaking or really iconic, but overall it's fun to listen to, the songs are catchy and it gets you going, I would recommend it for parties or for working out to, well, the more upbeat tracks. Speaking of the upbeat tracks, in my opinion, they are all 5 stars, especially Pound The Alarm and Roman Holiday. When it comes to the more slower tracks, Champion really shines and the fact that the song has a very personal meaning to Nicki (her cousin's murder), it really shows the emotion in the song. Sex in the Lounge I would say is my least favourite song, I just can't seem to enjoy it and find myself skipping it anytime it comes on, whereas I could listen to Roman Holiday or Pound The Alarm on repeat. Overall, like I said, the album is fun and would be enjoyed by any pop-rap lover or any Nicki fan. Expand
  40. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER! I love EVERY song! I love how half of the album is rap and the other half is pop! Nicki Minaj did it again! Best album of the year so far!
  41. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    A bit disappointed that we are not getting hardcore Nicki... Her featured verses>>> However, PF:RR is a great hip-pop album. But that's just what it is. There's nothing memorable about it. Looking back on Nicki's career this album won't be referenced. Next album, more rap.
  42. LOK
    Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I'm in love some of you might disagree but Nicki is very smart and knows what she is doing , she might not be full rap here but you have to understand that after Super Bass got big she got more fans mainly pop ones and have to cater to there needs also so let her do her and lead her career in the right direction stop being one track minded and start accepting people for their versatility !
  43. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    The album is great all together. She made a great comeback from her debut album 'Pink Friday'. This album is the epitome of what other female rap artists should want to look up to. Most people want Nicki to go 100% hip hop or 100% pop and if that is what you're looking for, the look somewhere else because if you have not noticed, Nicki is a diverse artist! Why pin yourself in one cornerThe album is great all together. She made a great comeback from her debut album 'Pink Friday'. This album is the epitome of what other female rap artists should want to look up to. Most people want Nicki to go 100% hip hop or 100% pop and if that is what you're looking for, the look somewhere else because if you have not noticed, Nicki is a diverse artist! Why pin yourself in one corner when you can experience everything? Nicki has TWO fan bases to keep up with... Fans of her hip hop/rap/mixtape roots and the fans of her pop side with songs like Starships. So she released and album that can give you the best of both worlds. It's just the ungrateful people in this world that expect her to do one genre, sorry to inform you but that's not going to happen! SORRY. Get over it. This album is AMAZING and I suggest everyone get it. If you like Nicki's hip hop/rap side, THIS ALBUM IS FOR YOU. If you like Nicki's pop side, THIS ALBUM IS FOR YOU. She is a diverse artist and works so hard for the enjoyment of everybody. If you've been rocking with Nicki since mixtape days, she went back to her roots on some songs on the album, and for the fans who are just tuning in, she has songs such as Starships, Va Va Voom, Pound The Alarm, etc. You will love the album. Absolutely beautiful and amazing. Expand
  44. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This album is pretty good. Not as cohesive as Pink Friday but she let her imagination run wild and try new things. The first half is strictly Rap and the second half is pop. Both are pretty good. This is a album you play with your friends in the car as you go out for the night to have a good ass time! Overall she succeded in what she wanted to accomplish. Keep it coming Nicki. Ps-I wasThis album is pretty good. Not as cohesive as Pink Friday but she let her imagination run wild and try new things. The first half is strictly Rap and the second half is pop. Both are pretty good. This is a album you play with your friends in the car as you go out for the night to have a good ass time! Overall she succeded in what she wanted to accomplish. Keep it coming Nicki. Ps-I was going to rate it 8/10 but People are under rating the album by alot and not giving it a chance so Im giving it 9/10 Expand
  45. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    RR has its moments, but it's too chaotic. If Nicki wants to stick to pop, then she should do so, but she's trying to mix electro-pop tracks with rap, which results in a very confusing album. Apart from that, the album is way too long. In fact, about half the tracks are inferior to the rest, and could have been easily left out. Tracks 1-6, 10-13 and 19-21 : that's how the album should have been.
  46. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Nicki Minaj is NOT just a rapper. She's trying to breakout of her little box labeled "rapping only" and reaching new heights. It should be clear that people try to become more diverse. It may sound like a lifeless, cheap album with fillers, but after hearing it again, listening to the lyrics, the songs became very catchy.
  47. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Roman Reloaded is the perfect follow on from Pink Friday. The first half of the album, which is mainly aimed at the hip-hop audience is perfection. Nicki uses the best mix of fresh beats and crazy voices to deliver us an amazing lead into the album. From Starships onwards the album is mostly pop. The pop half contains the biggest club tracks of 2012 so far. They will get you dancing andRoman Reloaded is the perfect follow on from Pink Friday. The first half of the album, which is mainly aimed at the hip-hop audience is perfection. Nicki uses the best mix of fresh beats and crazy voices to deliver us an amazing lead into the album. From Starships onwards the album is mostly pop. The pop half contains the biggest club tracks of 2012 so far. They will get you dancing and singing along, a pop-perfection earworm if it ever existed. Even the pop-ballads still stand up on their own as great radio-friendly singles. If you like rap Nicki, you won't be disappointed. If you like pop Nicki, you will be beyond happy with this album. Definitely worth a listen, one of the best albums of 2012 so far. Expand
  48. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Nicki Minaj is able to keep her old fans happy with rap tracks such as "Roman Holiday" and "Champion" but turns pop with tracks like "Pound The Alarm", "Starships" and "Va Va Voom" to satisfy a wider audience. Great album, 10/10 !!
  49. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Are critics really going to punish her for appealing to her old mixtape + Pink Friday fans? This is pretty sad that the reviews being read are completely biased + it's inaccurate that they say she has no talent(listen to her mixtapes), but last time I checked, versatility wasn't a bad thing. I'm not saying it should be critically acclaimed, but PF:RR is 100x better than it's predecessor.Are critics really going to punish her for appealing to her old mixtape + Pink Friday fans? This is pretty sad that the reviews being read are completely biased + it's inaccurate that they say she has no talent(listen to her mixtapes), but last time I checked, versatility wasn't a bad thing. I'm not saying it should be critically acclaimed, but PF:RR is 100x better than it's predecessor. At least in this album, a rap verse is included in almost every track, unlike in Pink Friday. Judging, the first half reigns supreme to the latter, but both halves have really good + interesting songs. The rap half has HOV Lane, I am Your Leader, Champion(the best song on the album) and Beez in the Trap. The Pop half has PTA, Whip It, MM and Young Forever are their highlights + let us not forget the future chart topper Va Va Voom! The rap tracks are good + the pop/dance tracks are refreshing and fun. If this album shows anything, it's that Nicki can dominate the rap + pop scene. Album well worth the same score as Pink Friday, minimum. Expand
  50. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    She did her best and i like her voice,when she is singing/rapping.
    I don't give a 10 because "Roman in Moscow" is missing
    And i do not give a 9 because i hate "Stupid Hoe"....
    The rest is nearly perfect,like "Starships" or "Next to You".
    Great record of a great Singer :D
    I love Nicki
  51. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Love the new album!! Nicki really went back to her roots for this one. Roman Holiday, the opening track of the album and also the track that accompanied her highly talked about and artistic Grammy performance, has one of the catchiest choruses I've heard in a long time. The whole album shows how hard Nicki is trying to bring Hip Hop to the mainstream by successfully blending it with manyLove the new album!! Nicki really went back to her roots for this one. Roman Holiday, the opening track of the album and also the track that accompanied her highly talked about and artistic Grammy performance, has one of the catchiest choruses I've heard in a long time. The whole album shows how hard Nicki is trying to bring Hip Hop to the mainstream by successfully blending it with many other genres in music. It is evident that Nicki was much more brave and comfortable to take risks on Roman Reloaded than her debut album Pink Friday and it has paid off. Expand
  52. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This album is the very definition of Nicki Minaj as an artist. She wasn't afraid to experiment to show off her versatility by mixing multiple genres into one amazing album. The first half consists of the hard hip hop Minaj is known for and showcases her true ability as a rapper and lyricist easily surpassing any female rapper but also rivaling many of the male rappers of our generation.This album is the very definition of Nicki Minaj as an artist. She wasn't afraid to experiment to show off her versatility by mixing multiple genres into one amazing album. The first half consists of the hard hip hop Minaj is known for and showcases her true ability as a rapper and lyricist easily surpassing any female rapper but also rivaling many of the male rappers of our generation. Then we have five dance tracks not so different than Super Bass and then we finish with a few love ballads and my personal favorite Gun Shot featuring Dancehell king Beenie Man. This album is a great blend of Hip Hop, Dance, RnB and Pop. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    50
    It lumps together all the rap tracks on the first half, and lets the pop fluff fill the rest.
  2. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    70
    Nicki's shining moments are her straight-up, hip-hop tracks. [#252, p.87]
  3. If you enjoy contemporary pop whose market-tested blare offends both rockist philistines and IDM aesthetes, her second album is a worthwhile investment.