Pink Friday

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 308
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    disappointed album. Only good songs were Did it on em, Romans Revenge & Fly. Nicki could be could if she really put time into her work. She rushed this album and it became a disappointment. Nicki plz let Roman Reloded be better than this
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    Nicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be aNicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be a rap album, not a pop album. The chorus of her solo songs are really weak. In "Blazin'", she repeats "I fly high...I'm blazin'" 8 times per chorus, and the last minute and a half is her repeating these 6 same words over and over again. If she doesn't have the voice to sing, she should do what most other rap stars do: find someone that can or don't even try. Rihanna and Bedingfield already steal the show on the songs they are featured one, and arguably the other rap features upstage her as well. This wasn't the album we were all expecting; she goes more bubblegum pop than she should have. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    4
    A couple of decent tracks with some filler. Nothing stellar, though she does lay down a nasty flow on a freestyle-ish track with Em. Appearances by Kanye, Rihanna, Eminem, Drake, and Will I Am save the album from complete disaster
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    This was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even atThis was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even at their best. I'm really hoping that Nicki works with better producers for her next album. She has the talent, but this album doesn't display it at all. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Most of the songs are bad auto-tuned and she seems to be an attention seeker/Gaga wannabe. The only good fact about "Pink Friday" is that the songs are really catchy and well-produced.
  6. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    shorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to ashorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to a different album because with the exception of the drugs thats EXACTLY what she raps about, OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN! Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    Minaj's wordplay is decent, but lyrically, she's still struggling to achieve above mediocre status throughout the album, however, her multiple personae are effective, theatrical, and entertaining. He flow doesn't seem natural and comfortable at times but it's definitely one of her strengths because the delivery is brilliant. The production is as inconsistent as it gets, abysmal some theMinaj's wordplay is decent, but lyrically, she's still struggling to achieve above mediocre status throughout the album, however, her multiple personae are effective, theatrical, and entertaining. He flow doesn't seem natural and comfortable at times but it's definitely one of her strengths because the delivery is brilliant. The production is as inconsistent as it gets, abysmal some the time, decent most of the time, and rarely brilliant. The content can get repetitive, because it seems like Minaj doesn't have any problems discovering her true self or anything and she's veered toward the most repetitive genre of all: mainstream pop. It's nothing more than a decent first attempt for an album. The best tracks on this album would be "Roman's Revenge" ft. Eminem and "I'm the Best". I'd like to see more of the Nicki from "Monster" and "Bottom's Up" (aka Roman Zalowanski). Expand
  8. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat. Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat.
    Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her ever-switching voice.
    -6.8
    Expand
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Romans Revenge Is The Best Track On This Album. She Should Include More Hip-Hop Influenced Beats And More Rapping On This Album Album, But I Like The Direction She's Going In.
  10. Dec 5, 2010
    6
    an average for a rap album. way above average for a woman rapper. i'm no sexsist but they dont make the best rappers. a few catchy songs, i particularly enjoyed her collaberations with kanye west, will.i.am and eminem. summary - just above average
  11. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    It may be a little hard for Missy Elliott to regain the crown for the Queen of Hip-Hop taking into account the current star status of Nicki Minaj. Pink Friday performed extremely well and became one of the most talked about rap albums in a while. Yet, full of A-list appearances (Drake, Eminem, Kanye, Rihanna, and others) and perfectly produced, it disappointed some people. It is just theyIt may be a little hard for Missy Elliott to regain the crown for the Queen of Hip-Hop taking into account the current star status of Nicki Minaj. Pink Friday performed extremely well and became one of the most talked about rap albums in a while. Yet, full of A-list appearances (Drake, Eminem, Kanye, Rihanna, and others) and perfectly produced, it disappointed some people. It is just they expected something different. The cover depicting the Trinidadian-born rapper as a Barbie did not come as ironic. Indeed, many of those tracks are of bubblegum nature as the whole LP turns in pop direction way too often. There is nothing wrong with sweet beats: Super Bass is simply excellent and no wonder it became Minajâ Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    Overall it wasn't a bad album, but I felt like she was lost in what she wanted to be as an artist. The songs with all the vocals bothered me, because that's not what I like her as. Missy Elliott can sing and rap, and it's not a problem, but Nicki Minaj is better as an MC. I felt that she let true fans down with all the singing, and she should have stayed in her lane. I actually her theOverall it wasn't a bad album, but I felt like she was lost in what she wanted to be as an artist. The songs with all the vocals bothered me, because that's not what I like her as. Missy Elliott can sing and rap, and it's not a problem, but Nicki Minaj is better as an MC. I felt that she let true fans down with all the singing, and she should have stayed in her lane. I actually her the bonus tracks that were on Itunes and Best Buy, and those tracks should have replaced songs that were on the album. Expand
  13. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    There are around 20 songs when you combine all the editions of this debut from Nicki so while some of them are pretty good, the majority fall into the latter. I'm not a massive Hip-Hop fan so it's just OK for me.
  14. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    Kind of disappointing. I can't really tell which is more disappointing, her rapping attempts, or the other singers or rappers on the album. The songs are catchy, though.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    60
    Her split personality makes for an oddly polarised debut. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    40
    Pink Friday is full of boring....the most confounding thing about Pink Friday is that it lacks style, lacks weirdness, whatever your opinions of how deeply that weirdness goes.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 12, 2011
    80
    Jamaica Queen;s potty-mouth hits rap home run on brutally enjoyable debut. [Feb. 2011, p. 105]