Pink Friday

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 328
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    disappointed album. Only good songs were Did it on em, Romans Revenge & Fly. Nicki could be could if she really put time into her work. She rushed this album and it became a disappointment. Nicki plz let Roman Reloded be better than this
  2. AGK
    Oct 8, 2013
    0
    humanity, please do this for me, don't buy this irritating garbage please! it will make huma.. no the world better if you stop listening to this garbage
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    First of all. Nicki, if you are reading this, then: you ain't the Queen of Hip-Hop, my dear. And you'll never do. Stop calling yourself the "queen" on your songs because it sounds pathetic. Saying that you are the queen of hip-hop is as absurd as saying that Lil' Wayne is the king of hip-hop.

    1 Your lyrics are HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, CHILDISH, RETARDED, NON-SENSE. 2 You're an attention
    First of all. Nicki, if you are reading this, then: you ain't the Queen of Hip-Hop, my dear. And you'll never do. Stop calling yourself the "queen" on your songs because it sounds pathetic. Saying that you are the queen of hip-hop is as absurd as saying that Lil' Wayne is the king of hip-hop.

    1 Your lyrics are HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, CHILDISH, RETARDED, NON-SENSE.
    2 You're an attention wh*re.
    3 This is a POP album, and its sales were boosted due to Super Bass, a pop, childish and very radio-friendly song.

    ***Talking fast rapping***
    Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    What a piece of crap. Nicki Minaj is a horrible singer. I think she and JB have met once. Absolute trash. NM is also one of the bad singers that I beat up in Super Smash Bros for Wii U. Avoid this album at all costs. Buy Mario Party 9 or 10 instead of this dog poop.
  5. Jan 5, 2016
    0
    Ridiculous, a EDM/pop album, full of stupid songs and auto-tune, these rumors (it's not music) are f*cking horribles, how can you listen to this sh*t, WAKE UP!! And last thing, don't call this rap, because it's pop-rap/electropop. Worst songs are "Super Bass", "Your Love", "Fly", "I'm the Best" and "Dear Old Nicki", the other songs aren't good. Maybe one of the worst albums ever made in music
  6. May 1, 2015
    0
    Minaj's music is wicked and sexy! she's the kinda artist that will make you have fun and Pink Friday is one of them! fgnfjfnjfnjnvfjnvjfnjfvkdmdoedmkmfjjvdnvjfnjvnfvrgtgtugtuntntuntuut
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    Nicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be aNicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be a rap album, not a pop album. The chorus of her solo songs are really weak. In "Blazin'", she repeats "I fly high...I'm blazin'" 8 times per chorus, and the last minute and a half is her repeating these 6 same words over and over again. If she doesn't have the voice to sing, she should do what most other rap stars do: find someone that can or don't even try. Rihanna and Bedingfield already steal the show on the songs they are featured one, and arguably the other rap features upstage her as well. This wasn't the album we were all expecting; she goes more bubblegum pop than she should have. Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2010
    4
    A couple of decent tracks with some filler. Nothing stellar, though she does lay down a nasty flow on a freestyle-ish track with Em. Appearances by Kanye, Rihanna, Eminem, Drake, and Will I Am save the album from complete disaster
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    Yuck. Aside from Super Bass and Moment 4 Life, this is an album of...... disgustingness to be clean (partly because I'm unsure on metacritic's policy for cursing) We have a song about sh**ing on people, a song about how shes such a bad b*tch and well, thats about it. gross
  10. Aug 12, 2011
    1
    I am a longtime hater of the music industry. Niki, do us a favor, and stop rapping, its not your thing! And on that one song, get rid of the ugly ass autotune.
  11. Aug 1, 2012
    0
    **** Nicki, they have to step the **** up when Nas is on the mic so they don't look like the **** they are

    Nicki tried to make moon boots happen...........

    WHAT THE MOTHER****? They mother****ing EXIST you dumb ****
  12. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    It's pure filth; loud degenerate noise from start to finish.
  13. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    this album was dedicated to Lil' Kim.... Literally more than half the songs were about kim! this is crazy!! the high pitch raps and meaningless flow is just a sad case, her somewhat obsession to be lil' kim is just depressing as she's a cheap knock off and executes it poorly. she should stop trying to be lil' kim and trying have some creativity cos she's straight up garbage atm lol.
  14. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    She's a weak, terrible rapper, the worst female rapper to ever join the female rap movement. Even with the fact that her next album is gonna flop and she's gonna disappear forever, what Nicki Minaj did to the female rap movement is totally terrible and very scary.
  15. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    Absolute s***! and I think Nicki Minaj and J Bieber met once. The music sucks! Please avoid it at all costs. It is a disappointing piece of crap. A pile of dog poo!
  16. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    This was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even atThis was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even at their best. I'm really hoping that Nicki works with better producers for her next album. She has the talent, but this album doesn't display it at all. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Most of the songs are bad auto-tuned and she seems to be an attention seeker/Gaga wannabe. The only good fact about "Pink Friday" is that the songs are really catchy and well-produced.
  18. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    Possibly one of the worst albums ever,one of the worst artists ever,and probably the worst songs ever. Nicki Minaj has an iratating voice that does not deserve approval at all.
    F
  19. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    nicki minaj suck's this whole entire album suck's nicki minaj = talentless this album is sooo dumb and unintelligent it made lol soo hard that i broke the cd into twothis album is already in the bargin bin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  20. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    What the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped in lil' kim's lyricism and flow and tried to take it, making as less impressive attempt it shows a distasteful approach upon her album. With the success it has gained, when listening to the album, it seemed obsessive and constantly directed to Lil' Kim.What the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped in lil' kim's lyricism and flow and tried to take it, making as less impressive attempt it shows a distasteful approach upon her album. With the success it has gained, when listening to the album, it seemed obsessive and constantly directed to Lil' Kim. Nicki Minaj is a poor imitation of Lil' Kim and lady gaga, She is overrated and has to focus on her lyric and creativity. She fell short and made a disappointing album. Not impressed one bit. Poor Poor approach to hip hop. Expand
  21. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    shorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to ashorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to a different album because with the exception of the drugs thats EXACTLY what she raps about, OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN! Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    Minaj's wordplay is decent, but lyrically, she's still struggling to achieve above mediocre status throughout the album, however, her multiple personae are effective, theatrical, and entertaining. He flow doesn't seem natural and comfortable at times but it's definitely one of her strengths because the delivery is brilliant. The production is as inconsistent as it gets, abysmal some theMinaj's wordplay is decent, but lyrically, she's still struggling to achieve above mediocre status throughout the album, however, her multiple personae are effective, theatrical, and entertaining. He flow doesn't seem natural and comfortable at times but it's definitely one of her strengths because the delivery is brilliant. The production is as inconsistent as it gets, abysmal some the time, decent most of the time, and rarely brilliant. The content can get repetitive, because it seems like Minaj doesn't have any problems discovering her true self or anything and she's veered toward the most repetitive genre of all: mainstream pop. It's nothing more than a decent first attempt for an album. The best tracks on this album would be "Roman's Revenge" ft. Eminem and "I'm the Best". I'd like to see more of the Nicki from "Monster" and "Bottom's Up" (aka Roman Zalowanski). Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    Love Nicki. While her album is great, I do not know how well it would do chart wise. But it is hard to find an artist and album where I can listen to the entire album and not weed out the tracks that won't last (for me), and Pink Friday makes that list. Her album is a bit different from what was heard prior to it's release, but that is not a bad thing. It can stand on it's own and is not aLove Nicki. While her album is great, I do not know how well it would do chart wise. But it is hard to find an artist and album where I can listen to the entire album and not weed out the tracks that won't last (for me), and Pink Friday makes that list. Her album is a bit different from what was heard prior to it's release, but that is not a bad thing. It can stand on it's own and is not a disappointment. Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat. Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat.
    Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her ever-switching voice.
    -6.8
    Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is. It has attitude and amazing lyrics. She can definitely compete with the likes of Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil' Wayne. The highlights of the album include "Roman's Revenge", "Did It On'em", "Super Bass" and "I'm The Best".
  26. Nov 28, 2010
    3
    I need an Aspirin after hearing this album. So ... annoying. None of the songs sound like they'll do her any favours as they don't really stand out. She has a creative mind, I'll give you that, but puts it to terrible use. Plus, her image looks too much like a rip-off of Lady Gaga's.
  27. Nov 28, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minaj has showed be a rapper with a great strength and talent.
    The first time that I loved the way that she raps with risk was in Kanye's Monster.
    After listening to the whole album and I think this girl certainly has nothing to envy to Missy Elliott (although I still think she is the best female rapper yet) Nicki's album don't surprise me, but i like her personal touch, her madness and her wordplay!
    Her album is too Pop and I think this album is not up to her potential!
    I expect more of her!
    Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2010
    7
    I think it's easy to underestimate this album after all the hype, and while in places it doesn't, this album is a satisfying listen and a satisfactory debut, but while satisfactory, it doesn't reach any deeper than that. Rihanna, Drake, Eminem, Natasha Bedingfield and Kanye West provide some noteworthy cameos, but now the spotlight is on Nicki, and while this record has it faults, it'sI think it's easy to underestimate this album after all the hype, and while in places it doesn't, this album is a satisfying listen and a satisfactory debut, but while satisfactory, it doesn't reach any deeper than that. Rihanna, Drake, Eminem, Natasha Bedingfield and Kanye West provide some noteworthy cameos, but now the spotlight is on Nicki, and while this record has it faults, it's clearly a step in the right direction. Expand
  29. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Pink Friday is definitely and distinctively good. From catchy pop tunes "I'm the Best" to R&B "Last Chance", the album is neither hip-hop, pop nor R&B. It showcases Nicki Minaj vocal abilities that can rap and sing at the same times with artistic elements on it. There are few songs that actually bad and I don't have to mention it.
  30. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    An amazing album. Minaj had alot of pressure riding on this album And she honestly pulled through like a champion. Her play on words and her lyrical content truly symbolize the new age of rap. This album is flawless
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    60
    Her split personality makes for an oddly polarised debut. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    40
    Pink Friday is full of boring....the most confounding thing about Pink Friday is that it lacks style, lacks weirdness, whatever your opinions of how deeply that weirdness goes.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 12, 2011
    80
    Jamaica Queen;s potty-mouth hits rap home run on brutally enjoyable debut. [Feb. 2011, p. 105]