Pink Friday - Nicki Minaj
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 220

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    This was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even atThis was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even at their best. I'm really hoping that Nicki works with better producers for her next album. She has the talent, but this album doesn't display it at all. Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    1
    I am a longtime hater of the music industry. Niki, do us a favor, and stop rapping, its not your thing! And on that one song, get rid of the ugly ass autotune.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Most of the songs are bad auto-tuned and she seems to be an attention seeker/Gaga wannabe. The only good fact about "Pink Friday" is that the songs are really catchy and well-produced.
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    nicki minaj suck's this whole entire album suck's nicki minaj = talentless this album is sooo dumb and unintelligent it made lol soo hard that i broke the cd into twothis album is already in the bargin bin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is. It has attitude and amazing lyrics. She can definitely compete with the likes of Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil' Wayne. The highlights of the album include "Roman's Revenge", "Did It On'em", "Super Bass" and "I'm The Best".
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    3
    I need an Aspirin after hearing this album. So ... annoying. None of the songs sound like they'll do her any favours as they don't really stand out. She has a creative mind, I'll give you that, but puts it to terrible use. Plus, her image looks too much like a rip-off of Lady Gaga's.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    disappointed album. Only good songs were Did it on em, Romans Revenge & Fly. Nicki could be could if she really put time into her work. She rushed this album and it became a disappointment. Nicki plz let Roman Reloded be better than this
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    It's pure filth; loud degenerate noise from start to finish.
  9. Nov 28, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minaj has showed be a rapper with a great strength and talent.
    The first time that I loved the way that she raps with risk was in Kanye's Monster.
    After listening to the whole album and I think this girl certainly has nothing to envy to Missy Elliott (although I still think she is the best female rapper yet) Nicki's album don't surprise me, but i like her personal touch, her madness and her wordplay!
    Her album is too Pop and I think this album is not up to her potential!
    I expect more of her!
    Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    shorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to ashorty2klassy4u: Review of Nicki Minaj's Album "Pink Friday": "ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!" - Clearly listening to a different album because with the exception of the drugs thats EXACTLY what she raps about, OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN! Expand
  11. Nov 29, 2010
    7
    I think it's easy to underestimate this album after all the hype, and while in places it doesn't, this album is a satisfying listen and a satisfactory debut, but while satisfactory, it doesn't reach any deeper than that. Rihanna, Drake, Eminem, Natasha Bedingfield and Kanye West provide some noteworthy cameos, but now the spotlight is on Nicki, and while this record has it faults, it'sI think it's easy to underestimate this album after all the hype, and while in places it doesn't, this album is a satisfying listen and a satisfactory debut, but while satisfactory, it doesn't reach any deeper than that. Rihanna, Drake, Eminem, Natasha Bedingfield and Kanye West provide some noteworthy cameos, but now the spotlight is on Nicki, and while this record has it faults, it's clearly a step in the right direction. Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Minaj excels at wordplay and rhyming. With this debut she also proves she can tell a story and stick to the point (a former sore area for her). The chopped up vocals are innovative and catchy. Her different personalities keep the listener on their toes. Lyrically, she is as impressive as any female rapper (all-time). The instrumentation is never sloppy but rarely exceeds modern hip-hopMinaj excels at wordplay and rhyming. With this debut she also proves she can tell a story and stick to the point (a former sore area for her). The chopped up vocals are innovative and catchy. Her different personalities keep the listener on their toes. Lyrically, she is as impressive as any female rapper (all-time). The instrumentation is never sloppy but rarely exceeds modern hip-hop expectations. That said, it was consistently pleasing enough to be better than the standard. She brings about the best lyricism from all of the featured rap acts (Kanye, will.i.am, Drake, Eminem). That said, I felt Rihanna's bit on "Fly" was average while Natasha Bedingfield's input in the last track was boring. Singing instead of rapping is a new turn for Nicki, but it never fails--just falls flat sometimes. Overall it is a great debut, with average-to-slightly-above average instrumentation and singing, and many of the best rap verses released all year. Expand
  13. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is an excellent album. It showcases that female rappers can rap about more than sex, what';s in their pants, money, clothes, and drugs. Nicki Minaj brings substance in her lyrics which was totally unexpected. Listen and look past the obvious and see the depth. 5 STARS!!!
  14. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Pink Friday is definitely and distinctively good. From catchy pop tunes "I'm the Best" to R&B "Last Chance", the album is neither hip-hop, pop nor R&B. It showcases Nicki Minaj vocal abilities that can rap and sing at the same times with artistic elements on it. There are few songs that actually bad and I don't have to mention it.
  15. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    An amazing album. Minaj had alot of pressure riding on this album And she honestly pulled through like a champion. Her play on words and her lyrical content truly symbolize the new age of rap. This album is flawless
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    Love Nicki. While her album is great, I do not know how well it would do chart wise. But it is hard to find an artist and album where I can listen to the entire album and not weed out the tracks that won't last (for me), and Pink Friday makes that list. Her album is a bit different from what was heard prior to it's release, but that is not a bad thing. It can stand on it's own and is not aLove Nicki. While her album is great, I do not know how well it would do chart wise. But it is hard to find an artist and album where I can listen to the entire album and not weed out the tracks that won't last (for me), and Pink Friday makes that list. Her album is a bit different from what was heard prior to it's release, but that is not a bad thing. It can stand on it's own and is not a disappointment. Expand
  17. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    An exceedingly beautiful album. With her ingenious puns and wordplay, the Barbie is the the answer to rap counterpart of "Margaret Atwood". Those lessons at Laguardia unequivocally paid off, as Nicki's deliverance is extremely powerful. Her inflection, accentuates her music, and thus giving her music an edge. Songs such as "Did It On Em" is embedded with conceited lines of wittiness,An exceedingly beautiful album. With her ingenious puns and wordplay, the Barbie is the the answer to rap counterpart of "Margaret Atwood". Those lessons at Laguardia unequivocally paid off, as Nicki's deliverance is extremely powerful. Her inflection, accentuates her music, and thus giving her music an edge. Songs such as "Did It On Em" is embedded with conceited lines of wittiness,  whereas "Your Love" is a complete shift to sentimentality. With the multiple personas, Nicki is able to punctuate her story to us. She puts an innovative spin on rap, by incorporating different genres and musical influences. This is an revolutionary album, and you must "Check It Out". Expand
  18. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat. Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat.
    Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her ever-switching voice.
    -6.8
    Expand
  19. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Romans Revenge Is The Best Track On This Album. She Should Include More Hip-Hop Influenced Beats And More Rapping On This Album Album, But I Like The Direction She's Going In.
  20. Aug 1, 2012
    0
    **** Nicki, they have to step the **** up when Nas is on the mic so they don't look like the **** they are

    Nicki tried to make moon boots happen...........

    WHAT THE MOTHER****? They mother****ing EXIST you dumb ****
  21. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    Possibly one of the worst albums ever,one of the worst artists ever,and probably the worst songs ever. Nicki Minaj has an iratating voice that does not deserve approval at all.
    F
  22. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The Best Rap Debut Of All Time! The Best Rap Album Of 2010!
    Every Song Is Special And Unique In It' s Own Way!
  23. AGK
    Oct 8, 2013
    0
    humanity, please do this for me, don't buy this irritating garbage please! it will make huma.. no the world better if you stop listening to this garbage
  24. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    What the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped in lil' kim's lyricism and flow and tried to take it, making as less impressive attempt it shows a distasteful approach upon her album. With the success it has gained, when listening to the album, it seemed obsessive and constantly directed to Lil' Kim.What the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped in lil' kim's lyricism and flow and tried to take it, making as less impressive attempt it shows a distasteful approach upon her album. With the success it has gained, when listening to the album, it seemed obsessive and constantly directed to Lil' Kim. Nicki Minaj is a poor imitation of Lil' Kim and lady gaga, She is overrated and has to focus on her lyric and creativity. She fell short and made a disappointing album. Not impressed one bit. Poor Poor approach to hip hop. Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    Another solid, but disappointing debut album from Young Money. Nicki Minaj does have an incredibly annoying tendency to rhyme the same word with the same word, constantly -- but she does have mildly entertaining tracks that are relaxing and fresh. Her feature tracks are lacking personality; however. And what's a dungeon dragon anyway?
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow! This album is really awesome. Her rimes and manipulation of rimes are great and sometimes funny. She shows her beautiful voice during the touching ballad called Right Thru Me (completely written by Nicki Minaj). The song Dear Old Nicki is a great honor to the old underground rapper she was. We see her **** side on many times in album (ex. I'm The Best, Did It On 'Em, Check It Out). In general, we can say that Pink Friday is an autobiographical album that talks a lot about the artist in question, which is great. As a whole work, this album is way better than every songs listened separately. That's why my rating is so high. The only thing that I don't like that much on Pink Friday is the Did It On 'Em part of the album. It's a bit weird when I say it, because, alone, this song is good, it's only that it doesn't have it's place on the album. It should have been chosen as a Hidden Track or a Bonus song... Expand
  27. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    Nicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be aNicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be a rap album, not a pop album. The chorus of her solo songs are really weak. In "Blazin'", she repeats "I fly high...I'm blazin'" 8 times per chorus, and the last minute and a half is her repeating these 6 same words over and over again. If she doesn't have the voice to sing, she should do what most other rap stars do: find someone that can or don't even try. Rihanna and Bedingfield already steal the show on the songs they are featured one, and arguably the other rap features upstage her as well. This wasn't the album we were all expecting; she goes more bubblegum pop than she should have. Expand
  28. Dec 5, 2010
    6
    an average for a rap album. way above average for a woman rapper. i'm no sexsist but they dont make the best rappers. a few catchy songs, i particularly enjoyed her collaberations with kanye west, will.i.am and eminem. summary - just above average
  29. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    The highest praise you can give a CD is that you can and want to listen to it over and over. Nicki Minaj provides such a CD. She doesn't go very hardcore except for like on Roman's Revenge, and she doesn't switch her flow up as much as she does on guest appearances. But still, she provides a unique (and often mellow) view into her own life, what she's about, and the drama she has had toThe highest praise you can give a CD is that you can and want to listen to it over and over. Nicki Minaj provides such a CD. She doesn't go very hardcore except for like on Roman's Revenge, and she doesn't switch her flow up as much as she does on guest appearances. But still, she provides a unique (and often mellow) view into her own life, what she's about, and the drama she has had to deal with as she has become successful - and that is enough to provide a solid debut album. Expand
  30. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    i am disappointed. too much durcheinander in this album. she raps, sings and raps and doesnt know what to do overall. its an average album. i expected more.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    60
    Her split personality makes for an oddly polarised debut. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    40
    Pink Friday is full of boring....the most confounding thing about Pink Friday is that it lacks style, lacks weirdness, whatever your opinions of how deeply that weirdness goes.
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    Jamaica Queen;s potty-mouth hits rap home run on brutally enjoyable debut. [Feb. 2011, p. 105]