Pink Friday - Nicki Minaj
Pink Friday Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After making an explosive debut appearing on other artist's songs, rapper Nicki Minaj finally releases her debut of electro-infused, bold, and hook-heavy hip-hop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Half rapping and half singing, half bragging and half kowtowing, brazening a "punt" rhyme here and proclaiming commonality with "girls that never thought they could win" there, she's proud to be shameless, with the hooks to back it up.
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    80
    No matter how many boasts and taunts she drops, it's clear Minaj is proud of how far she's come.
  3. 75
    Pink Friday shows Minaj is on the cusp - considering her facility with accents, she could be the perfect person to find a new patois, one that's built of separate musical languages but without breaking any of them down.
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Pink Friday isn't a classic by any means, then, but when Nicki Minaj is on fire nobody in hip hop – male or female – can extinguish her bright-burning talents.
  5. Dec 9, 2010
    64
    Pink Friday, while certainly far from profound, is neatly rooted in predictability and vulgarity. But then again, would we have Minaj any other way?
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    60
    Living up to expectations is tough, especially ones as high as those that have been hovering over Minaj throughout 2010. But it's hard to see who actually wanted to hear a record like this, stripped of curiosities and bombast, that leaves the biggest talent in hip hop with more to prove than ever.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    30
    Pink Friday is a real shame, albeit a very well-marketed one, and since it's found its niche, it's no surprise the album was a fair success for Minaj.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 65
  2. Negative: 12 out of 65
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    i am disappointed. too much durcheinander in this album. she raps, sings and raps and doesnt know what to do overall. its an average album. ii am disappointed. too much durcheinander in this album. she raps, sings and raps and doesnt know what to do overall. its an average album. i expected more. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    Nicki Minaj is a talented rapper (can even be said as the best of today), Pink Friday was definitely one of the best albums of 2011 and nowNicki Minaj is a talented rapper (can even be said as the best of today), Pink Friday was definitely one of the best albums of 2011 and now the queen is coming back in 2014 Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is.One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is. It has attitude and amazing lyrics. She can definitely compete with the likes of Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil' Wayne. The highlights of the album include "Roman's Revenge", "Did It On'em", "Super Bass" and "I'm The Best". Expand
  4. May 28, 2012
    7
    A Very Good Debut Album For A Rap Artist!
    I Enjoy All Of The Songs, But The Reason I Marked The Album Down From A 9 To A 7 Was Nicki Does Not
    A Very Good Debut Album For A Rap Artist!
    I Enjoy All Of The Songs, But The Reason I Marked The Album Down From A 9 To A 7 Was Nicki Does Not Need More Than Half The Song On The Album To Feat. Someone!
    Overall A Nice Album!
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own
    Nicki Minaj Pink Friday has a few interesting songs so don't just judge her album yet.
    Her voice is uh....lets just say that she has her own style and rhythm.
    In Romans Revenge, she and Eminem both kind of took me by surprise...man! I'm pretty sure its hard to switch the tone in your voice in a drum beat.
    Super Bass and Moment 4 life: catchy beat, nicely put chorus and with the help of her ever-switching voice.
    -6.8
    Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    There are around 20 songs when you combine all the editions of this debut from Nicki so while some of them are pretty good, the majority fallThere are around 20 songs when you combine all the editions of this debut from Nicki so while some of them are pretty good, the majority fall into the latter. I'm not a massive Hip-Hop fan so it's just OK for me. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    this album was dedicated to Lil' Kim.... Literally more than half the songs were about kim! this is crazy!! the high pitch raps andthis album was dedicated to Lil' Kim.... Literally more than half the songs were about kim! this is crazy!! the high pitch raps and meaningless flow is just a sad case, her somewhat obsession to be lil' kim is just depressing as she's a cheap knock off and executes it poorly. she should stop trying to be lil' kim and trying have some creativity cos she's straight up garbage atm lol. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews