Pink Friday - Nicki Minaj
Pink Friday Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After making an explosive debut appearing on other artist's songs, rapper Nicki Minaj finally releases her debut of electro-infused, bold, and hook-heavy hip-hop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Half rapping and half singing, half bragging and half kowtowing, brazening a "punt" rhyme here and proclaiming commonality with "girls that never thought they could win" there, she's proud to be shameless, with the hooks to back it up.
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    80
    No matter how many boasts and taunts she drops, it's clear Minaj is proud of how far she's come.
  3. 75
    Pink Friday shows Minaj is on the cusp - considering her facility with accents, she could be the perfect person to find a new patois, one that's built of separate musical languages but without breaking any of them down.
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Pink Friday isn't a classic by any means, then, but when Nicki Minaj is on fire nobody in hip hop – male or female – can extinguish her bright-burning talents.
  5. Dec 9, 2010
    64
    Pink Friday, while certainly far from profound, is neatly rooted in predictability and vulgarity. But then again, would we have Minaj any other way?
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    60
    Living up to expectations is tough, especially ones as high as those that have been hovering over Minaj throughout 2010. But it's hard to see who actually wanted to hear a record like this, stripped of curiosities and bombast, that leaves the biggest talent in hip hop with more to prove than ever.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    30
    Pink Friday is a real shame, albeit a very well-marketed one, and since it's found its niche, it's no surprise the album was a fair success for Minaj.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is. It has attitude and amazing lyrics. She can definitely compete with the likes of Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil' Wayne. The highlights of the album include "Roman's Revenge", "Did It On'em", "Super Bass" and "I'm The Best". Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    All you haters are just jealous of nicki's talent and money and she doesn't care what any of you haters think, she's not going to stop or change for any1, she will be forever winning in the rap game! Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    For a debut album the album is nothing short of genius. Although others wont agree on this it is an album i could literally listen to over and over and over again and this is what defines a great great album for me. She managed to get fantastic artists on the album making each colab a stand out track. Yes there is alot of singing on the album but this doesnt bother me in the slightest, to add to that she mega talented when it comes to rapping. Her talent with the beats she got definitely made a positive and great debut album to stand on. Even with this great start im sure she will definitely improve, bright bright future! Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    Another solid, but disappointing debut album from Young Money. Nicki Minaj does have an incredibly annoying tendency to rhyme the same word with the same word, constantly -- but she does have mildly entertaining tracks that are relaxing and fresh. Her feature tracks are lacking personality; however. And what's a dungeon dragon anyway? Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    Overall it wasn't a bad album, but I felt like she was lost in what she wanted to be as an artist. The songs with all the vocals bothered me, because that's not what I like her as. Missy Elliott can sing and rap, and it's not a problem, but Nicki Minaj is better as an MC. I felt that she let true fans down with all the singing, and she should have stayed in her lane. I actually her the bonus tracks that were on Itunes and Best Buy, and those tracks should have replaced songs that were on the album. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    This was really disappointing for me. A lot of the lines are really dumb and not nearly as witty as the ones she rapped on other people's songs. Plus she uses the hashtag style WAY TOO MUCH. These pop songs are really mediocre and if it weren't for Rihanna, Drake and Kanye West, this album would be a disaster. Drake and Kanye provide the highest points on the album and they're not even at their best. I'm really hoping that Nicki works with better producers for her next album. She has the talent, but this album doesn't display it at all. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    this album was dedicated to Lil' Kim.... Literally more than half the songs were about kim! this is crazy!! the high pitch raps and meaningless flow is just a sad case, her somewhat obsession to be lil' kim is just depressing as she's a cheap knock off and executes it poorly. she should stop trying to be lil' kim and trying have some creativity cos she's straight up garbage atm lol. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews