• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Pinkerton (Deluxe Edition) Image
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Rivers Cuomo-led rock band's second album has been remastered and includes B-sides, as well as 16 other unreleased tracks on the two-disc set.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 8, 2010
    100
    Almost 15 years on it remains a stereo regular, and loved like the day it was delivered, awkwardly and self-consciously, into a world that didn't know what to do with it. And, largely, still doesn't. So give it a home, won't you; it could be your album of the year.
  2. Ultimately, the legacy Pinkerton leaves behind is it being one of the most emotional and raw albums ever made. It's an album that many can relate to, even if you're not on the same level of crazy as Rivers was back then.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jan 31, 2011
    100
    Pinkerton still stands tall as a modern rock classic. [6 Nov 2010, p.51]
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    91
    So it turns out Cuomo was whispering apologies to his own artistry at this album's close -- it was his love of music he would let suffocate in a jar. No wonder he sounded so sad.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    It is heartening and not a little bittersweet to be reminded how Weezer once made sad, twisted, broken-sounding songs like these, and they made them work, and they made our CD player work, and they weren't a bit shit, and we loved them.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    In 2010, when oversharing is the norm, Pinkerton can seem almost quaint for its willingness to hold back. All told, it's roughly 10 percent as confessional as the average overheated Tumblr post or Gareth Campesino! lyric sheet. Maybe that's why, to this day, "El Scorcho" is still the sort of song that lonely teenage boys vigorously lip-synch to when they think that nobody's looking. Its lyrics can be vague enough ("I'm a lot like you...") to fit all sorts of specific yearning.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    This is their Holy Bible--in other words this is an unknown quantity alright; it's Weezer's raw, emotive bastard child; and a great, brilliant, titanic blot on an often pristinely laundered back catalogue. For that reason in particular this is a thing to be cherished.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. May 22, 2016
    10
    Is it better than the debut Weezer album? Yes. Cuomo's songwriting has most definitely taken a different view, with more isolated and distantIs it better than the debut Weezer album? Yes. Cuomo's songwriting has most definitely taken a different view, with more isolated and distant lyrics. With honesty, Cuomo makes a coherent and multisided album. This was true Weezer at its finest, sadly this was their last truly amazing album. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    I don't need to explain why this is one of the best albums of all time. You just need to listen to it. It's a must listen for anyone whoI don't need to explain why this is one of the best albums of all time. You just need to listen to it. It's a must listen for anyone who loves music. Expand
  3. BKM
    Nov 18, 2010
    10
    There is no denying just how great this album is. A full on blitz of raw emotion that is equally funny and painful, Pinkerton was responsibleThere is no denying just how great this album is. A full on blitz of raw emotion that is equally funny and painful, Pinkerton was responsible for both the band's demise and rebirth. Cuomo has not written such a coherent and scathingly honest set of songs since. Chances are that he doesn't want to go through it again. Thankfully for us, he was able to do it in the first place. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    I really like this album, but i dont like weezer. they started off good. liked their sound. then their sudden popularity got to their headsI really like this album, but i dont like weezer. they started off good. liked their sound. then their sudden popularity got to their heads and they started making crap album after crap album. yeah people who like mainstream crap music that has no soul or feeling to it whatsoever liked it but i didn't. i thought they were gonna be a great indie rock band. but they lost me after the...Beverly Hills song. ugh. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece. That is all. Probably the best album by Weezer in my books. I can definitely understand how it has a 100 on Metacritic by criticMasterpiece. That is all. Probably the best album by Weezer in my books. I can definitely understand how it has a 100 on Metacritic by critic scores. Great album. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    A haunting, brilliant masterpiece. Rivers Cuomo is brutally honest in all of these songs, deliberately portraying himself as pathetic andA haunting, brilliant masterpiece. Rivers Cuomo is brutally honest in all of these songs, deliberately portraying himself as pathetic and broken, and it just adds to the power of it all. Easily Weezer's best album and one of the best albums of all time. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    2
    "Pink Triangle" is a great track that would fit on the Blue Album, Weezer's pop-rock opus. However, the rest of this album lacks anything"Pink Triangle" is a great track that would fit on the Blue Album, Weezer's pop-rock opus. However, the rest of this album lacks anything worth listening too. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.