Pioneer - The Band Perry
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    I wish I had these songs to listen to as a younger man, because you can dance the night away to great sound, great lyrics. A perfect summer album. This Band called The Band Perry sure knows how to rock out these country songs I hear Blossom Music Center here in NE Ohio is calling you for a tour stop
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    The Band Perry are one of the few real country groups that were formed in the 21st century. It seems that nowadays, country acts go off in a more country pop direction over time and then go for fully fledged pop to maximise sales *cough*TaylorSwift*cough*, so The Band Perry are certainly a breath of fresh air in the sense that they stay true to themselves. But their music? Well, most of it's rather sub-par and rather cheesy and takes a turn for the ridiculous with their biggest and only hit, If I Die Young, which was basically about a girl wanting to commit suicide so people will notice her but didn't even try to mention that this is a terrible thing to do. Well, straight off, their new album seems to have a song along the same lines, with Better Dig Two, which is about a girl who is so in love with her husband that if he dies, she'll kill herself too. Er...another not very good message to send to impressionable youth. But despite this, the song is weirdly...captivating with a cool, sombre, rustic country beat which turns into a slight rock chorus and saves it very well. For the most part, the album focuses around obsessive love and getting well rid of bothersome exes and it's what fills the album's best tracks Done, Forever Mine Nevermind, Night Gone Wasted, Chainsaw, I'm A Keeper and End Of Time. While I'm not much of a fan of break up songs, especially country ones, these songs are surprisingly endearing. The rest is all pretty much mediocre album filler that the majority of their debut was made up of. The worst track by far is the cheesetastic Mother Like Mine, which may actually result in projectile vomiting. The Band Perry have improved a notch or two since their debut. As long as they keep maturing and drop some of the cheesiness and questionable song content, they could be one of the few good modern country artists. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    The Best Country Album so far in 2013! The song blend and you wont stop listening to it. Its really good and the songs are well structured and its pure country at its best! :D
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Le band Perry ce une grand mérde
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Once again, The Band Perry hits, and hits harder than ever! They're back with a really an awesome, fantastically-arranged record that'll leave the country trio fans speechless.
    The album kicks off with "Better Dog Two" (10/10), which is an awesome start. From its dark tune and its not-so-fun lyrics, we move to "DONE." (10/10), that showcases K's strong vocals and her sassy attitude. Next
    is "Don't Let Me Be Lonely"(9/10), which has an incredible chorus that could lead the song to be their biggest hit ever. Track no. 5, "Pioneer" (8/10) has a really impressive tune with the catchy "Let your heart not be troubled" bridge. "Forever Mine Nevermind"(9/10), co-written with Brad Paisly is really impressive too. The next one is not one I'm a big fan of, "Night Fine Wasted"(6/10). Then comes the AWESOME "I Saw A Light"(10/10), which is traditionally written and composed, reminds us a bit of "If I Die Young". "Mother Like Mine"(10/10) is a masterpiece I, personally, can't comment on. Moving on, "Chainsaw"(8.5/10) with its dark chorus is also good track. Next, "I'm A Keeper"(9/10) is very radio-friendly and catchy. "Back To Me Without You"(11/10 if I could...) is definitely the stand-out track that leaves you speechless on the record. And finally, "End of Time"(8/10) is a good way to end this joyful album, and it keeps the listener wondering if The Band Perry can get any better?!
    Solid record. Very well done. Keep up the awesome work, TBP!
    Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    5
    The album was simply too loud. The Band Perry are known for good, not great lyrics (Kim is no Ashley Monroe), but most of all, the band was famous for its rich, clean sound. This album, that sound was replaced by loud concert music; which may help sell tickets but is not very fun to listen to at home. "Pioneer" is the best song on the album.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    The album sags when the songs fall back on traditional tropes and are unable to match the performative bombast.
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    The brood is most convincing on giddier kiss-offs like "Chainsaw" (rhymes with "such a shame y'all") and the Brad Paisley co-write "Forever Mine Nevermind."
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    The album’s overall spirit of adventure is summed up in the gorgeous title track, written by the Perrys with fellow family trio The Henningsens. Starting sweet and delicate, it offers a message of encouragement to be bold in the face of uncertainty and doubt as it builds to a thrilling crescendo.