• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2007
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddW
    Jul 30, 2007
    1
    For those of you pro football junkies who thought Prince's Super Bowl halftime show was the greatest performance since Moses came down with the tablets, you need to both get a life and a hearing aid. It stank and he stinks, and I'm not just talking about the game. Wow, Mr. Nelson was playing a marriage tackle-shaped guitar behind a projection screen while a wind machine blew and For those of you pro football junkies who thought Prince's Super Bowl halftime show was the greatest performance since Moses came down with the tablets, you need to both get a life and a hearing aid. It stank and he stinks, and I'm not just talking about the game. Wow, Mr. Nelson was playing a marriage tackle-shaped guitar behind a projection screen while a wind machine blew and purple lights shone brightly. Geez, now there's a novel performance concept for old Prince, eh? I'm sorry, his last great album was Around the World in a Day. His output for the past 20 years has been retreaded crap. Planet Earth is no different. Where the guy was once on par with peer Michael Jackson in terms of talent, now he inhabits the same alien planet as Mr. Child Molester himself. Take heart you royalty watchers. At least he isn't calling himself an unintelligible symbol anymore. Maybe he, too, will do us all a favor and move to Bahrain. Expand
  2. richardj
    Aug 1, 2007
    3
    To be honest it had to be given away in the UK and for a reason, this is one of Princes worse albums ever....boring, awful lyrics and tame he has done so much better...really I don't want to be negative about Prince as he is a genius like MIchael Jackson but Prince hasn't done a album in greatness since "Sign of the times" , infact i find this music and the last three albums To be honest it had to be given away in the UK and for a reason, this is one of Princes worse albums ever....boring, awful lyrics and tame he has done so much better...really I don't want to be negative about Prince as he is a genius like MIchael Jackson but Prince hasn't done a album in greatness since "Sign of the times" , infact i find this music and the last three albums since he got his name back..dare i say it Souless. he is also like a James Brown cover band...Prince you need to do better then this, as even people who love your music will stop buying it, the last three i didn't bother with, and i was given them but rejected them after listening to them...You need to get people to hear the albums before you release them so that you do annoy listenrs ears.... Expand
  3. myreviewj
    Jul 25, 2007
    2
    Well, sorry but this aint good music. This man had pure talent, pure skills. But dont ask me why he lost it long time ago. There's nothing new in this album, nothing original. Too bad he cant creative anymore.
  4. MarkR.
    Aug 22, 2007
    0
    I love Prince, but c'mon! This is not only the worst Prince CD ever, but one of the worst CDs I have ever purchased period. There's not an impact track on here at all. This sounds like a crappy collections of bad b-sides that nobody wants to hear. I actually like a lot of his later stuff, but this is pure trash.
  5. rayr
    Aug 9, 2007
    2
    tired and unoriginal, like he is trying to meet a quota again. Individual songs are mediocre and a lack of integration leaves it little more than an album of ho-hum singles, none of them standing out.
  6. MikeL
    Aug 20, 2007
    2
    A forgettable album with one good single buried in it. "Chelsea Rodgers"/"Guitar" would've been a great 45 back in the day...the rest is a drag, with some really awful lyrics
  7. JamieS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    1
    My Lord...This just STINKS!!!!! I have loved Prince through thick and thin...I own all cd's including spinoff work...but come on, this is so bad. There is not one listenable song on this. Most sound like someone in high school who has just written his first song- ala' "Lion of Judah" or "Guitar". What happened to the Purple Genius?? He ran out of ideas I guess.
  8. JustinB
    Jul 24, 2007
    0
    This album is woeful and a classic example of an artist ripping people off in just the same way as U2 did when they started releasing tripe a few years ago. Having read some of the other reviewers commenrts I can only assume I have purchased a 'worst of the X factor contestants' by mistake. On the other hand if what I have is the genuine Prince I can only thank god that I did This album is woeful and a classic example of an artist ripping people off in just the same way as U2 did when they started releasing tripe a few years ago. Having read some of the other reviewers commenrts I can only assume I have purchased a 'worst of the X factor contestants' by mistake. On the other hand if what I have is the genuine Prince I can only thank god that I did not buy either of his previous two albums if as some of your reveiwers state this latest offer is better than those. Expand
  9. ShariG.
    Jul 27, 2007
    3
    I long for the Prince of the 80's and early 90's!! I have seen him twice and will continue to see him on tour and buy his albums, although this album is definately not one of my favorites. It is too slow and left me wondering where the dance tracks were!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Across Planet Earth’s brisk and varied 10 tracks, he is once again doing it pretty well, from cocky rock strut ('Guitar') to Chic-style, pumped-up funk ('Chelsea Rodgers') and knicker-loosening R&B beats ('Future Baby Mama').
  2. It's all right--in the dispiriting way that everything he's put out since his "Symbol" era has been all right.
  3. Planet Earth’ll leave you feeling decidedly short-changed.