Plastic Beach

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2010
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 368 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 368

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This is probably the last hope for humanity when it comes to music. With all this crap on the charts, it's annoying not to see this album anywhere up there. Absolutely amazing.
  2. Hendri
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Brilliant! what i expect from gorillaz.listen to the entire album more than once to understand what is going on.
  3. robp.
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Hardly a lagging moment on Alburn's finest work since 13. Lush. Vibrant. Genius.
  4. SpootyThespoot
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This is the pop filling I've been waiting for the past 3 years. Very experimental and I absolutely adore the overall volume that this kicks. Nom nom nom to your ears.
  5. ClifC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    This is the first 10 stars out of 10 album since M.I.A.'s "Kala". It's certainly the poppiest Gorillaz album, but it's the best. There is no Hit songs like "Dare", "Feel Good Inc." or "Clint Eastwood"; so it's not so immediate, you can't judge it by the first listen. It's more Pop. But who said Pop music couldn't be demanding? The whole album is This is the first 10 stars out of 10 album since M.I.A.'s "Kala". It's certainly the poppiest Gorillaz album, but it's the best. There is no Hit songs like "Dare", "Feel Good Inc." or "Clint Eastwood"; so it's not so immediate, you can't judge it by the first listen. It's more Pop. But who said Pop music couldn't be demanding? The whole album is perfectly balanced and constant in its grandeur. The only thing that wasn't excellent, in my opinion, was the choice of Bashy as a featuring. The rest is pure genius. Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2015
    10
    Gorillaz's best and most underrated. Most of the album has a melancholic ambience made up of mellow synthesisers. Adding a lot of elements of electronica and pop, while retaining their hip hop ingredients. This is easily Gorillaz at their most emotional, unique and atmospheric and is definitely an album that deserves multiple listens. Other than one or two tracks that miss the spot, thisGorillaz's best and most underrated. Most of the album has a melancholic ambience made up of mellow synthesisers. Adding a lot of elements of electronica and pop, while retaining their hip hop ingredients. This is easily Gorillaz at their most emotional, unique and atmospheric and is definitely an album that deserves multiple listens. Other than one or two tracks that miss the spot, this is an album with an important message and plenty of favourites to discover. Expand
  7. MirceaC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    I know why some people underrate this splendid album from Gorillaz. It's because Plastic Beach brings pop music to a new level and some people still can't admit it, or let's say, they still can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. It sounds different from any other pop album, and of course Gorillaz album, but it doesn't mean that it's bad. This album may I know why some people underrate this splendid album from Gorillaz. It's because Plastic Beach brings pop music to a new level and some people still can't admit it, or let's say, they still can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. It sounds different from any other pop album, and of course Gorillaz album, but it doesn't mean that it's bad. This album may not have singles like "Feel Good Inc." and "Clint Eastwood", but it's been rewarded with songs like "On Melancholy Hill" (my favourite), "Some Kind of Nature", "Superfast Jellyfish" and finally "Empire Ants", which from my point of view are the climax of this album (or should I say, the cherry on top of the cake?). I agree that Stylo isn't a really strong single compared to any other singles Gorillaz made, but it has its moments. The rest of the songs are also great (not the best of course) but magnificent. Put them all the songs together (aka Plastic Beach) and you'll see something new, unique and refreshing for pop music. Better than Demon Days? That's what people ask for ages. I will say, with all my heart, yes. As I said above, Plastic Beach might not have 'strong' singles, but, it brings something new and unique. Something which Demon Days didn't really bring. It was and still is a great album from Gorillaz, but unfortunately, I don't think it brought pop music to a new level like Plastic Beach. Indeed, this is one of the best albums which came out in 2010. Maybe the best. Expand
  8. AndrewH.
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    this time around the gorillaz got it right with fresh sounds and new collabs. this time around i can;t help but find these tracks being set to repeat on my ipod songs like "Rhinestone Eyes" or "Stlyo are already imprinted forever in my head. Good job Gorillaz.
  9. JoshL
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    The variety in this album is incredible. Wide range of appeal.
  10. newt
    Mar 10, 2010
    5
    Hmm. Not so good. Really wanted to love it, loved previous gorillaz... love collabs, & downtempo, & world & rap plus anything & electronica & grime & meloncholia & all the elements this album has... but the album as a whole doesn't work. the songs are actually boring, even noodley at parts... wow. very disappointed. not one track that makes me sit up and hit repeat right away, & have Hmm. Not so good. Really wanted to love it, loved previous gorillaz... love collabs, & downtempo, & world & rap plus anything & electronica & grime & meloncholia & all the elements this album has... but the album as a whole doesn't work. the songs are actually boring, even noodley at parts... wow. very disappointed. not one track that makes me sit up and hit repeat right away, & have listened a few times waiting for it to grow on me but... it doesn't. not really recommended, sorry to say. and this from a big time fan. Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2010
    3
    Quite dissappointing. While the production, artwork, videos and list of guest appearances may be amazing, the quality of individual songs is very poor and even after a few months of listening I can not remember what the majority of songs sound like. Highlights however include "Stylo", "Superfast Jellyfish", Glitter Freeze" and "Empire Ants".
  12. Oct 14, 2010
    1
    OK I had to create a Metacritic account just because I saw so many favorable reviews of this horrible drek. I keep trying to like it because I love this band. But I keep clicking next next next. You people should come to my house and share whatever illegal substance you took to enjoy this because it's just awful. If you added up all the essence from this entire album it still wouldn't beOK I had to create a Metacritic account just because I saw so many favorable reviews of this horrible drek. I keep trying to like it because I love this band. But I keep clicking next next next. You people should come to my house and share whatever illegal substance you took to enjoy this because it's just awful. If you added up all the essence from this entire album it still wouldn't be close to being as good as Dare. Expand
  13. TarekM.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    Finally the wait is over and these gorillaz keep on giving out their best!
  14. TravisH.
    Mar 21, 2010
    4
    Disappointed. Lacking any standout hits that I am used to from this band. After Gorillaz and Demon Dayz I had high hopes for this album and got it because I simply trusted the Gorillaz to provide top quality. Quantity seems more important here as there are 16 tracks, 4 of which I would consider catchy enough to cruise around to, but the album as a whole is a major dull let down smothered Disappointed. Lacking any standout hits that I am used to from this band. After Gorillaz and Demon Dayz I had high hopes for this album and got it because I simply trusted the Gorillaz to provide top quality. Quantity seems more important here as there are 16 tracks, 4 of which I would consider catchy enough to cruise around to, but the album as a whole is a major dull let down smothered by mediocrity and a possible sense of accomplishment overshadowing the need to produce quality hits. Instead we are introduced to the singer we love surrounded by guest star cameos. I feel like i was tossed a piece of bologni when I clearly wanted steak. Expand
  15. R.GGV
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Absolutely awesome. The most balanced, consistent Gorillaz album and each track complement each other while the whole album flows like a clean stream. There might be no Feel Good or Clint Eastwood but that's why it is so good because there is no big hitting song that throws the album off. Buy it. Now.
  16. JH
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Not a 10 but not bad at all, jeez the LAcTimes who ever wrote that must be on rock.
  17. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    I love all of Gorillaz previous work, and after reading many positive reviews, I gave this album many honest listens over few months, hoping it would grow on me, but it didn't - there are some interesting moments, but it's mostly quite bland and forgettable - none of the songs really sticks.
  18. PhilipG
    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, how amazing is only revealed with repeated listening.
  19. MiguelM.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    The greatest album I have ever heard to date. Gorillaz have always been a creative and unique band but i never seen something like this before. My favorite song is White Flag, the flowing beats and lyrics just tie in so perfectly and well done. This album is definatly worth buying.
  20. JosephA.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This album sounds different from other Gorillaz albums but if your a fan of how they tend to bring something new in each album then you might like it. This album is for people with certain tastes that can appreciate the sound, style and mixes it offers. I actually want more.
  21. idreamo.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Album of the year(possibly). Hopefully Albarn's next project will be to produce a solo Womack album or more duets with Little Dragon.
  22. SanstoneZ.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Best album of 2010 and best Gorillaz album. Smooth and melodic with lots of changeups. Musical fusion at it's best.
  23. TroelsS.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    When I had only heard the album a few times, I thought about just giving it a 9. There are some low points, but each time you listen to the album, the low points seem to get better and better. And now, after several listens, it can't be anything but the highest grade. Gorillaz' greatest so far (and that says a lot, Demon Days being completely magnificent as well), and also the When I had only heard the album a few times, I thought about just giving it a 9. There are some low points, but each time you listen to the album, the low points seem to get better and better. And now, after several listens, it can't be anything but the highest grade. Gorillaz' greatest so far (and that says a lot, Demon Days being completely magnificent as well), and also the greatest album of this year so far. It's going to be tough to drag this album down fro it's top position of 2010. Damon Albarn is a musical genius. Expand
  24. ShannaM.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Gorillaz
  25. TheEz8
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Flawless album as well as brilliantly thought out and executed. Definitely contender for best album of the year and by far best Gorillaz album to be released.
  26. DexStud
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Has all the elctro glitz and glam of great bands from the 80's. Love all the cameos. Plastic Beach is much better than their debut and Demon Days!
  27. YanniL
    Mar 12, 2010
    10
    Outstanding trip hop. We want more of this, Gorillaz!
  28. PatrickC
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    Really brilliant album. Superior to their first album and equal with Demon Days. This album takes longer to warm up to then Demon Days, but if you did enjoy either of Gorillaz's past albums, you will eventually love this album. The song's I really warmed up to first were Rhinestone Eyes, and Sweepstakes. So if you're having a hard time with the album, try those two songs some.
  29. LeahT.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    As brilliant an album as anything else I've heard this year. Fantastic collaborations and Albarn's signature melodic charm. Wonderful.
  30. james
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    Staggeringly good. If you don't give this 10 out of 10 then shame upon your musical soul.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 100
    Only behind such a distracting smokescreen could Damon Albarn get away with conducting a project as sprawling, daring, innovative, surprising, muddled and magnificent as Plastic Beach: not just one of the best records of 2010, but a release to stand alongside the greatest Albarn’s ever been involved with and a new benchmark for collaborative music as a whole.
  2. Best when he’s corralling others into out-of-their-comfort-zone creativity, it’s the Albarn-sung tracks on the second half of the album where the attention wanders and the album opening Snoop Dogg cameo seems a million miles away. Of course, there’s alot here to take in and maybe it just needs a fair few listens to fully digest it - the sign of any album worth its salt.
  3. Mojo
    60
    The music that wraps around the concept is never boring and much of it is excellent....What's lacking is the nailed-on megatune--a "Clint Eastwood" or "Feel Good Inc"--that we've come to expect from a Gorillaz album. [Apr 2010, p.99]