Plastic Beach

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2010
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 288

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Hendri
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Brilliant! what i expect from gorillaz.listen to the entire album more than once to understand what is going on.
  2. robp.
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Hardly a lagging moment on Alburn's finest work since 13. Lush. Vibrant. Genius.
  3. SpootyThespoot
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This is the pop filling I've been waiting for the past 3 years. Very experimental and I absolutely adore the overall volume that this kicks. Nom nom nom to your ears.
  4. ClifC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    This is the first 10 stars out of 10 album since M.I.A.'s "Kala". It's certainly the poppiest Gorillaz album, but it's the best. There is no Hit songs like "Dare", "Feel Good Inc." or "Clint Eastwood"; so it's not so immediate, you can't judge it by the first listen. It's more Pop. But who said Pop music couldn't be demanding? The whole album is This is the first 10 stars out of 10 album since M.I.A.'s "Kala". It's certainly the poppiest Gorillaz album, but it's the best. There is no Hit songs like "Dare", "Feel Good Inc." or "Clint Eastwood"; so it's not so immediate, you can't judge it by the first listen. It's more Pop. But who said Pop music couldn't be demanding? The whole album is perfectly balanced and constant in its grandeur. The only thing that wasn't excellent, in my opinion, was the choice of Bashy as a featuring. The rest is pure genius. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2015
    10
    Gorillaz's best and most underrated. Most of the album has a melancholic ambience made up of mellow synthesisers. Adding a lot of elements of electronica and pop, while retaining their hip hop ingredients. This is easily Gorillaz at their most emotional, unique and atmospheric and is definitely an album that deserves multiple listens. Other than one or two tracks that miss the spot, thisGorillaz's best and most underrated. Most of the album has a melancholic ambience made up of mellow synthesisers. Adding a lot of elements of electronica and pop, while retaining their hip hop ingredients. This is easily Gorillaz at their most emotional, unique and atmospheric and is definitely an album that deserves multiple listens. Other than one or two tracks that miss the spot, this is an album with an important message and plenty of favourites to discover. Expand
  6. MirceaC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    I know why some people underrate this splendid album from Gorillaz. It's because Plastic Beach brings pop music to a new level and some people still can't admit it, or let's say, they still can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. It sounds different from any other pop album, and of course Gorillaz album, but it doesn't mean that it's bad. This album may I know why some people underrate this splendid album from Gorillaz. It's because Plastic Beach brings pop music to a new level and some people still can't admit it, or let's say, they still can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. It sounds different from any other pop album, and of course Gorillaz album, but it doesn't mean that it's bad. This album may not have singles like "Feel Good Inc." and "Clint Eastwood", but it's been rewarded with songs like "On Melancholy Hill" (my favourite), "Some Kind of Nature", "Superfast Jellyfish" and finally "Empire Ants", which from my point of view are the climax of this album (or should I say, the cherry on top of the cake?). I agree that Stylo isn't a really strong single compared to any other singles Gorillaz made, but it has its moments. The rest of the songs are also great (not the best of course) but magnificent. Put them all the songs together (aka Plastic Beach) and you'll see something new, unique and refreshing for pop music. Better than Demon Days? That's what people ask for ages. I will say, with all my heart, yes. As I said above, Plastic Beach might not have 'strong' singles, but, it brings something new and unique. Something which Demon Days didn't really bring. It was and still is a great album from Gorillaz, but unfortunately, I don't think it brought pop music to a new level like Plastic Beach. Indeed, this is one of the best albums which came out in 2010. Maybe the best. Expand
  7. AndrewH.
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    this time around the gorillaz got it right with fresh sounds and new collabs. this time around i can;t help but find these tracks being set to repeat on my ipod songs like "Rhinestone Eyes" or "Stlyo are already imprinted forever in my head. Good job Gorillaz.
  8. JoshL
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    The variety in this album is incredible. Wide range of appeal.
  9. TarekM.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    Finally the wait is over and these gorillaz keep on giving out their best!
  10. R.GGV
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Absolutely awesome. The most balanced, consistent Gorillaz album and each track complement each other while the whole album flows like a clean stream. There might be no Feel Good or Clint Eastwood but that's why it is so good because there is no big hitting song that throws the album off. Buy it. Now.
  11. JH
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Not a 10 but not bad at all, jeez the LAcTimes who ever wrote that must be on rock.
  12. PhilipG
    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, how amazing is only revealed with repeated listening.
  13. MiguelM.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    The greatest album I have ever heard to date. Gorillaz have always been a creative and unique band but i never seen something like this before. My favorite song is White Flag, the flowing beats and lyrics just tie in so perfectly and well done. This album is definatly worth buying.
  14. JosephA.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This album sounds different from other Gorillaz albums but if your a fan of how they tend to bring something new in each album then you might like it. This album is for people with certain tastes that can appreciate the sound, style and mixes it offers. I actually want more.
  15. idreamo.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Album of the year(possibly). Hopefully Albarn's next project will be to produce a solo Womack album or more duets with Little Dragon.
  16. SanstoneZ.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Best album of 2010 and best Gorillaz album. Smooth and melodic with lots of changeups. Musical fusion at it's best.
  17. TroelsS.
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    When I had only heard the album a few times, I thought about just giving it a 9. There are some low points, but each time you listen to the album, the low points seem to get better and better. And now, after several listens, it can't be anything but the highest grade. Gorillaz' greatest so far (and that says a lot, Demon Days being completely magnificent as well), and also the When I had only heard the album a few times, I thought about just giving it a 9. There are some low points, but each time you listen to the album, the low points seem to get better and better. And now, after several listens, it can't be anything but the highest grade. Gorillaz' greatest so far (and that says a lot, Demon Days being completely magnificent as well), and also the greatest album of this year so far. It's going to be tough to drag this album down fro it's top position of 2010. Damon Albarn is a musical genius. Expand
  18. ShannaM.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Gorillaz
  19. TheEz8
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Flawless album as well as brilliantly thought out and executed. Definitely contender for best album of the year and by far best Gorillaz album to be released.
  20. DexStud
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    Has all the elctro glitz and glam of great bands from the 80's. Love all the cameos. Plastic Beach is much better than their debut and Demon Days!
  21. YanniL
    Mar 12, 2010
    10
    Outstanding trip hop. We want more of this, Gorillaz!
  22. PatrickC
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    Really brilliant album. Superior to their first album and equal with Demon Days. This album takes longer to warm up to then Demon Days, but if you did enjoy either of Gorillaz's past albums, you will eventually love this album. The song's I really warmed up to first were Rhinestone Eyes, and Sweepstakes. So if you're having a hard time with the album, try those two songs some.
  23. LeahT.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    As brilliant an album as anything else I've heard this year. Fantastic collaborations and Albarn's signature melodic charm. Wonderful.
  24. james
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    Staggeringly good. If you don't give this 10 out of 10 then shame upon your musical soul.
  25. AriellaY.
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This album is their best so far.
  26. rx2
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    Most albums that require relistens are fabulous. The Good, the Bad, and The Queen took some time get into and this does as well. It's brilliant. It's wonderful that we have tracks like these.
  27. DanB.
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    Gorillaz third studio release does not disappoint. With a more 80's, electronica feel than the previous album Demon Days; Plastic Beach will draw in a different crowd while maintaining the original Gorillaz fan base. With a wide range of celebrity cameos and great production value this album will have you humming its contagious beats long after listening.
  28. Jordan
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Trials off in the end, but is still extremely fun throughout. Superfast Jellyfish and Empire Ants are amazing songs.
  29. AnthonyC.
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    I reviewed the album at the amazon.com website. I think it's an excellent piece of work. Requires two listens to begin to get how really good it is.
  30. AdamS.
    Mar 13, 2010
    7
    By all means an enjoyable album, Plastic Beach never comes close to Gorillaz' previous efforts. Something is missing, and many of these professional reviews may be spot on when they claim this is because Plastic Beach has no memorable beats or "Hits." My favorites from this album so far are White Flag, Superfast Jellyfish, and Plastic Beach. Some of these songs are just plain weird By all means an enjoyable album, Plastic Beach never comes close to Gorillaz' previous efforts. Something is missing, and many of these professional reviews may be spot on when they claim this is because Plastic Beach has no memorable beats or "Hits." My favorites from this album so far are White Flag, Superfast Jellyfish, and Plastic Beach. Some of these songs are just plain weird in their delivery, IE Glitter Freeze, Sweepstakes. The latter of which attempts social commentary, but struggles, in my opinion, to match clarity of contemporary artists efforts; I'm thinking of 'Gotta Eat' by Lupe Fiasco. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 100
    Only behind such a distracting smokescreen could Damon Albarn get away with conducting a project as sprawling, daring, innovative, surprising, muddled and magnificent as Plastic Beach: not just one of the best records of 2010, but a release to stand alongside the greatest Albarn’s ever been involved with and a new benchmark for collaborative music as a whole.
  2. Best when he’s corralling others into out-of-their-comfort-zone creativity, it’s the Albarn-sung tracks on the second half of the album where the attention wanders and the album opening Snoop Dogg cameo seems a million miles away. Of course, there’s alot here to take in and maybe it just needs a fair few listens to fully digest it - the sign of any album worth its salt.
  3. 60
    The music that wraps around the concept is never boring and much of it is excellent....What's lacking is the nailed-on megatune--a "Clint Eastwood" or "Feel Good Inc"--that we've come to expect from a Gorillaz album. [Apr 2010, p.99]