Plastic Beach - Gorillaz
Plastic Beach Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett animated group features guest appearances by Snoop Dogg, Kano, Mos Def, De La Soul, Gruff Rhys, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, The Fall's Mark E. Smith, Little Dragon, Lou Reed, Bobby Womack, The Clash's Mick Jones, and Paul Simonon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. The whole thing works beautifully, more with each listen.
  2. Though it's only to be considered "pop" in the most obscure sense, and it goes to show Albarn has a pretty warped concept of the term, Plastic Beach provides the almighty shakeup that pop music has needed for some time.
  3. The one-time Blur frontman has transcended some of the post-modern artifice of this project, and created the group's most affecting and uniquely inviting album. Joke's over, Gorillaz are real.
  4. From the languid, early Bowie dreaminess of “Empire Ants’’ to the chilled-out fuzz-funk of “Stylo,’’ featuring a startling eruptive vocal from the legendary Bobby Womack, Plastic Beach captivates.
  5. With synth tones straight outta Miami Vice and dreamy melodies that cut through the fog-machine haze, Plastic Beach is music for piloting your speedboat beyond the no-wake zone, or for looking back from the future with a sentimental affinity for the past.
  6. Plastic Beach proves that he's most truly himself when he turns into a cartoon.
  7. Too many of these 16 hazy, half-crazy tracks sound like undercooked studio goofs recorded in the wee hours by Albarn and his impressive circle of celebrity pals.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
  1. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This is probably the last hope for humanity when it comes to music. With all this crap on the charts, it's annoying not to see this album anywhere up there. Absolutely amazing. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    A purely amazing album! I can see where some people would be against this album as it is quite different than other gorillaz albums. I would put it on par to Demon Days. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    77!!!!!!!! What you've got to be joking! This album does not deserve that rating. Murdoc Niccals, Stu- Pot, and Cyborg Noodle. have done it again (except not Cyborg Noodle). This album is at least as good as Demon Days.
    There is such a good variety in this LP that even Yukimi Nagano (Little Dragon) is on two tracks 'To Binge' and one of my favourites 'Empire Ants'.
    Legendary rapper Mos Def also has his contribution to this memento, in the single Stylo he raps through a voice distorter and turns the song into a kind of deep electric dark, mini-anthem. Then its the return of De-La soul, super fast ,super fast, super catchy. There song is a great contribution the the album and possibly "brightening up the album".
    The highlight of the album is 'Melancholy Hill' Gorillaz on there own with 2D singing about a hill and being in love?

    8 ½ / 10
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    The beach vibe is definitely present. Gorillaz seem to weave in and out of each genre, picking and choosing collaborations that fit the albums specific style. This one brings a more laid back tone after the more ominous demon days, and is a great soundtrack that seems at home playing in your headphones during an island vacation (which it did serve as my soundtrack during a st. john trip). Initially, I admit I was not as struck with PB as I was with Gorillaz or even Demon Days, but it kept growing on me until it was proudly placed as a worthy addition to the gorillaz legacy. One thing I must say, MORE DAMON. Sure, songs such as Some Kind of Nature and Superfast Jellyfish are catchy and fun, but I really want to see more of 2D up front than providing some chorus lines. Heck, in some songs, such as White Flag or Sweepstakes, Damon isnt even present at all. Please return to more Demon-Days collaboration methods or even back to good ole' Gorillaz 2d-centric album where we can focus on Gorillaz and not the spotlight solely on the collaborators. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    8
    Good diverse collection of tracks here with a wide range of A-List collaborators. Wasn't a big fan of Demon Days but this is much more consistent. A few tracks do meander off track but overall the quality is maintained. On Melancholy Hill is the best thing they've put out in my opinion. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    [8.7] Plastic Beach is Gorillaz' most spacious, energetic, and bizarre album, and honestly their most cohesive. I still wouldn't call the album as a whole accessible, but if you listen to it enough, all of the songs are thoroughly enjoyable, and equally so. There are several perfect tracks on this album, and the rest are much more experimental, but are often even more powerful and original. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2010
    1
    OK I had to create a Metacritic account just because I saw so many favorable reviews of this horrible drek. I keep trying to like it because I love this band. But I keep clicking next next next. You people should come to my house and share whatever illegal substance you took to enjoy this because it's just awful. If you added up all the essence from this entire album it still wouldn't be close to being as good as Dare. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  2. Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band

    Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band Image
    Published: March 2, 2010
    With the Gorillaz' third album "Plastic Beach" hitting stores next week, we take a moment to look at all of the artists who have contributed to the virtual band's success.