Play It As It Lays

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 4, 2007
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Complex and sophisticated lyrically, interesting arrangements covering a wider range of styles than most singers dare, and catchy tunes. This is an album that will grow on you
  2. ToddW.
    Oct 25, 2007
    2
    I've never really understood the allure of Patti Scialfa. I mean, next to Julianne Phillips she is obviously lacking both in terms of talent and eye candy quotient. I get the whole 'Jersey girl thing connection with Springsteen, but this addition to his band seems more like a Linda McCartney-type waste of space and spotlight. I never thought she could sing, and this offering I've never really understood the allure of Patti Scialfa. I mean, next to Julianne Phillips she is obviously lacking both in terms of talent and eye candy quotient. I get the whole 'Jersey girl thing connection with Springsteen, but this addition to his band seems more like a Linda McCartney-type waste of space and spotlight. I never thought she could sing, and this offering only reinforces my belief. Breathless trilling is not my thing. Expand
  3. JamesT
    Oct 20, 2007
    9
    This is a solid album. I like it better than the last, but not as much as Rumble Doll.
  4. AnnJ
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Very brave and honest, bittersweet recording that explores the ups and downs of long-term love. Her voice is perfect for these songs--sweet and husky as necessary and boy, the woman sure can write!
  5. ZachH
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    Absolutely horrible. How Patti got her own solo career or why Bruce even lets her sing on stage is way beyond me. The critics are full of it.
  6. mickeym.
    Oct 21, 2007
    1
    the singing on this album is like fingernails on a chalkboard.
  7. BJK
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    One reviewer said she sounds like "fingers on a chalkboard?" What are you expecting Britney? Patti has a wonderfully average voice. Her best qualities are backing vocals and on this CD she shows that she can write and carry some good songs. Great job Patti!
  8. SarahM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Excellent album from an overlooked and underappreciated singer/songwriter.
  9. MattD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    4
    Does not display the melodic gifts her previous CD has, and her singing is not enough to save the material.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Play It as It Lays is, without doubt, the record where Scialfa gives us the full fruit of her exceptional gift as a writer, a singer, as an artist.
  2. The sharpest, most assured, and best record of her solo career.
  3. Scialfa's third and most accomplished solo album.