Play

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 108

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I can’t think of anything to say that hasn’t already been said about Moby’s Play album. The one thing that I can say though (and I know it is typical) is that it's his best album he has ever made throughout his entire career.

    The music was flawless, the beats are nice and catchy, the samples he used is brilliant, and it has a fantastic pace. I love how the first couple of tracks were
    I can’t think of anything to say that hasn’t already been said about Moby’s Play album. The one thing that I can say though (and I know it is typical) is that it's his best album he has ever made throughout his entire career.

    The music was flawless, the beats are nice and catchy, the samples he used is brilliant, and it has a fantastic pace.

    I love how the first couple of tracks were all fun and throughout the course of the album, it starts to get darker, more meaningful and really emotional.

    Overall, Moby’s Play is a fantastic album. It left a huge impact on the electronic music genre and it certainly had left a huge impact on me for the rest of my life.

    Track Picks: Honey, Porcelain, Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?, Rushing, Bodyrock, Natural Blues The Sky Is Broken

    DW Rating: 5 out of 5 stars *Album Pick*
    Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    Groundbreaking might be a bit OTT, but this album really brought dance and ambience tracks to the mainstream in a major way. It's got a lot of great tracks on it, however there are a few tracks that just crawl along and don't really serve any purpose as far as I can hear. Every other track on this seems to have been either features in some film, tv show or advert. Fans of the X files willGroundbreaking might be a bit OTT, but this album really brought dance and ambience tracks to the mainstream in a major way. It's got a lot of great tracks on it, however there are a few tracks that just crawl along and don't really serve any purpose as far as I can hear. Every other track on this seems to have been either features in some film, tv show or advert. Fans of the X files will recognise "The Sky is Broken" and "My Weakness" from some of the later episodes. Natural Blues, Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad and Porcelain and instantly recognisable. Collapse
  3. AN
    Apr 7, 2007
    8
    A strong CD, with some of the most unique, catchy songs I've ever heard. Still, even with all of the acclaim it's gotten, I doubt anyone would have complained if a couple of the ambient tracks had been replaced with some more of the clever gospel/techno seen at the start (which also contributes to the album's front-loaded issue). Still, the majority of the tracks are A strong CD, with some of the most unique, catchy songs I've ever heard. Still, even with all of the acclaim it's gotten, I doubt anyone would have complained if a couple of the ambient tracks had been replaced with some more of the clever gospel/techno seen at the start (which also contributes to the album's front-loaded issue). Still, the majority of the tracks are strong, as is much of the ambient, and it turns out to be a shining example of experimentation gone right. Expand
  4. AlexK
    Oct 4, 2006
    8
    Any review that uses the word "advertising" to sum up this album (excluding this one, obviously) should be disregarded. To judge an album purely on a populist basis is unfair. While Moby brought his music to a much wider audience by licensing it to ad execs, much smaller bands and artists are doing the same using MySpace. Same intention, but simply different means and different scale, and Any review that uses the word "advertising" to sum up this album (excluding this one, obviously) should be disregarded. To judge an album purely on a populist basis is unfair. While Moby brought his music to a much wider audience by licensing it to ad execs, much smaller bands and artists are doing the same using MySpace. Same intention, but simply different means and different scale, and Moby shouldn't be criticised for it. This is a seminal album, one that properly transcended genres and one which - rough edges and all - managed to prove that anyone with a sampler and a keyboard can't blame their equipment for making poor music. Expand
  5. C.S.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Undoubtedly Moby's best album. I still wonder how he hasn't managed to be as good on the follow-ups "18" and "Hotel" (18 is just a bit weaker than Play in my opinion; Hotel is worse)
  6. TF
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Easily a 10. Probably Moby's best album to date.
  7. Wendy
    Apr 4, 2005
    9
    Moby at his best!
  8. Mike
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    This is probably Mobys best album. alot of really good tracks. Very good
  9. tanyah
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    catchy, soulfull, moving
  10. edtex
    Oct 19, 2004
    0
    he epitomises the money-driven greed and hypocrisy of modern society. play is the most licenced body of work ever. with a record 900 synch licences to adverts all this, from work based on copyright-free blues recordings and artists whose relatives are very unlikely to be living in a fancy condo in the east village. he gets all the publishing. white folk stealing black music? i'm sick he epitomises the money-driven greed and hypocrisy of modern society. play is the most licenced body of work ever. with a record 900 synch licences to adverts all this, from work based on copyright-free blues recordings and artists whose relatives are very unlikely to be living in a fancy condo in the east village. he gets all the publishing. white folk stealing black music? i'm sick of celebrities happy to flog their integrity for cash. oh yes, and the musical part of whats he's added to his carnival of stolen voices?turgid lifeless production, with 'honey' the only bearable track. Expand
  11. Damian
    Aug 27, 2004
    0
    This album is bland and dull... that is unless you're an advertising exec, in which case it's perfect. So I assume that was it's main motive-to attract their attention. Moby's politics and musical ability aside: to provide music for advertising wasteful, vain, destructive commodities (eg cars) is bad enough, but to profit from it... well, that's just shameful. May This album is bland and dull... that is unless you're an advertising exec, in which case it's perfect. So I assume that was it's main motive-to attract their attention. Moby's politics and musical ability aside: to provide music for advertising wasteful, vain, destructive commodities (eg cars) is bad enough, but to profit from it... well, that's just shameful. May as well sell drugs. Expand
  12. littleidiot
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Although someone could claim this cd would be worth buying enen just for some 4 or 5 great songs, it suprises for its depth and beauty and makes for an all around very good album. Moby, Coldplay and U2 are IMO, for their fantasy and contribution to the music, the best music artists at the moment.
  13. ValiantAlex
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    It is from the rare single-author albums that gives so satisfaction. The good about it is that it isn't comfirmed to some kind of music neither to a particular style(except maybe for that charming piano), it is what I should call multi-stylish. You can hear several voises and many instruments. But, hey, this is music and what makes this awesome is the punk explosions at times, that It is from the rare single-author albums that gives so satisfaction. The good about it is that it isn't comfirmed to some kind of music neither to a particular style(except maybe for that charming piano), it is what I should call multi-stylish. You can hear several voises and many instruments. But, hey, this is music and what makes this awesome is the punk explosions at times, that perfectly graceful piano , the harmony and the rythm of Moby's music. This music is utterly unpredictable and suprising with its spirit. Beautiful, beautiful!! Expand
  14. kent
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    catchy, fun, ingenious, and never wears out on repeated listenings
  15. ARC
    Sep 16, 2002
    6
    Okay. It works well as background music (as its use in various commercials has shown) but doesn't seem as interesting when listened to for its own sake.
  16. lisa
    Sep 11, 2002
    10
    look at amber e. comments. BRAINWASHING! eminem is still ok but there is nothing wrong with moby. just because eminem cant handle any critism against him, and he at all times must write songs about himself. god forbid someone who actually has musical talent and releases a alternative album which some people cant get a grasp on. therefore these people make fun it because it's look at amber e. comments. BRAINWASHING! eminem is still ok but there is nothing wrong with moby. just because eminem cant handle any critism against him, and he at all times must write songs about himself. god forbid someone who actually has musical talent and releases a alternative album which some people cant get a grasp on. therefore these people make fun it because it's different. MOBY - PLAY is a must for anyone who sees the world differently and is an extremely beautiful album. Expand
  17. NseE.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    A brilliant cd from Moby. Standouts include the haunting 'Natural blues', 'Find my baby' and the glittering 'Porcelain'.
  18. AmberE.
    Jul 27, 2002
    0
    Moby proves that he sux. and Eminem Rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. This time out, Moby manages to establish himself not only as a talented multi-instrumentalist and genre-jumper, but as someone who can write interesting songs in a variety of genres -- a point he's missed in the past.
  2. But though the blues and gospel and more gospel testify not just for song but for body and spirit, they wouldn't shout anywhere near as loud and clear without the mastermind's ministrations--his grooves, his pacing, his textures, his harmonies, sometimes his tunes...
  3. Play's inventiveness will restore his reputation as a puck-like, maverick talent.