User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 319

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeteD
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Best. Album. Ever.
  2. cjmanapsal
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    best album ever made!!! just kidding...as worthless as you'd heard about
  3. FrankD.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Man K- Fed does it again... he has cemented himself in the rap hall of fame.. with his new cd.. Seriously folks this guy is one of if not the greatest rappers of all time.. ive heard nas.. ive heard jay-z and none of them even hold a candle to k-fed. If there is ONE album this year that u should go grab it is def Playing with Fire! Peace.
  4. JesusH.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    KF's Voice is the most beautiful thing I have ever heard
  5. AaronJ
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    By far the greatest rap album to be released in history. "moguls" like dr. dre and grandmaster flash cry when hearing this, seeing that there work is just so inferior. people will play this and god will bless them!
  6. HoraceS
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Probably the most illuminating album of 2006. Kevin Federline is an iconoclast and arguably the most incisive wordsmith of his generation.
  7. greg
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    the '10' is not for this album--I haven't heard it--but for Raoul V's review below. good stuff.
  8. tedkaboom
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Finally, K-Fed is able to silence his critics by releasing a brilliant album. It may not be popular now, but Playing With Fire will help shape the future of popular music.
  9. taxiride
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    You wish Fed-Ex!
  10. Luke
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Great album, one of the best i've ever heard.
  11. BigWig
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Man you cracka asses dont no shiiiiiit. This album is off the hizzy. it just makes me want to get 'jiggy with it' and 'keep it real' homie. this is some of the best shit ive heard since vanilla ice mutha fucka!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. NE
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    This is dat hip hop gansta who likes to mix it wit a bit of rock n' roll
  13. CameronB
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    NW-who? K-fed is the new wave of RAPPERS!
  14. RyanF.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    I like it.
  15. EvanG.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    The MOST amazing album of all time! Its very existence validates mine.
  16. ToddJ
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    like all other masterpieces of the 21st century 'Playing with Fire' is both exhilarating and breathtaking. No one will admit the beauty of this album, merely because he got famous. Do not fall into the same trap. reminiscent of 'Stankonia', 'The Black Album' and 'Late Registration'. 10/10
  17. RaoulV
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Kevin Federline is a madman on a tear, beautifying and demolishing the world; when he
  18. DanB
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    just kidding.
  19. KHole
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    K-fed rulez, yo!
  20. DoctorFunk
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    K. Fed struck it rich by marrying Britney, and he strikes gold on this classic album.
  21. BritanySpears
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Tell me one thing mankinds done thats any better.
  22. SoFed
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Jaw-dropping song after jaw-dropping song, Mr. Federline delivers the smooth rhymes which one day will be the standard of all true Hip Hop. The first true classic of the Millenium.
  23. THEDAAAWG!
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    yo yo yo, this album is the shit, y'alL! K. Fed is bustin' rhymes like a motherf***!
  24. mike
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    I have never heard so many complex flows coming from one man, this guy is a real virusou with the mic, sure the beats are not perfect, but KF seamlessly overshadows the bad with his complex rymes and flows. If there was one hip/hop album to buy this year, buy Ghostface Killahs Fishscale
  25. Spock
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Don't be fooled by these haters! This Album reeks of genius. I've never heard such an amazing flow. The beats are straight wicked. After listening to the CD i felt like i knew where K-Fed was coming from. The haters are not real hip hop fans, because anyone who knows hip hop can see this mans talent. I cant wait for the new CD.
  26. hahaho
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    The best album of the year period
  27. ixata
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    10 for the reviews that gave this a 0. i could make a book of the world's funniest quotes out of them. oh and for K-Fed's sake, i'll help promote his album by giving them out free along with my soon-to-be published book of these reviews. or give them to orphans... no it wont be a good idea. it would be a sin to torture them more.
  28. AlexS
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    U guyzz r so meann!!!! U kno, K-Fed iz juz tring to mak a living. ): Stop yo hatenn u bitchez
  29. ZachG
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    If this was meant as a joke, it is a HUGE success. I laughed my ass off.
  30. KevinF
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    I put a lot of effort and hard work into this album, and just because of who I am I get crap for it. This ain't right, if I was Jay-Z, y'all would think these songs was dope.
  31. BritneyS
    May 31, 2007
    10
    His lyrical genius get the block dancing every night.
  32. K-FED
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    The record of the decade.
  33. JoelS
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The complex production stands up to Neptunes' pinnacle work. The tight rhyme schematic set forth by Eminem is combined with the intellectual lyrical depth of Sage Francis, This is an unforgettable achievement in white hip-hop.
  34. KevinF.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year.
  35. KevinFederline
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Yo Yo Y'all be hatin and perpetratin while in the caddy with 20 inch rimmmms keepin frezno on LOCK
  36. RogerB
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Y'all just hating on KFed! If anyone actually listened to this album, theyd know he CAN rap, and that he's not goin anywhere! Critics just hate on him cuz they wish they could marry Britney!
  37. JimR
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Kevin Federline is the apotheosis of the American Dream, and his unapologetic paeans to hedonism come at a most opportune time. Could K-Fed be the next great warrior-poet? If the sequel to Playing With Fire manages to maintain the momentum he establishes here, then I'd be surprised to see him fail.
  38. TimH
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 because, well, in some strange way I feel sorry for the guy. It's just *too* easy to kick this guy when he's down. So there! 10! 10! Bravo! Encore!
  39. JhonnyB
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Awesome!!!! Great tracks!!!!!!!!!! Go ahead Kevin !!!!!!!!! Get Rich o get divorced !!!!!!!!!! At least you arent fat like your wife!!!!!!!
  40. MichaelS
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Hey Y'all dissing this album should be shot........this guy can make beats that not even Jay Z can dream of. The most inspiring CD of the decade. But still i know this guy named Sutho who is PHAT!
  41. Borat
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Notttttttttttt!
  42. KittenKontrol
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    I don't own this album or anything, but once I save up enough of my allowance it'll be the first thing I buy. I heard a few cuts from it the other night at my friend's house and it knocked my socks off, damaging my shoes. This is the perfect stoner album, the beats are so crisp and the rhymes are so ill you'll think you've got ebola. In other words, this album I don't own this album or anything, but once I save up enough of my allowance it'll be the first thing I buy. I heard a few cuts from it the other night at my friend's house and it knocked my socks off, damaging my shoes. This is the perfect stoner album, the beats are so crisp and the rhymes are so ill you'll think you've got ebola. In other words, this album will induce involuntarily roof-raising. I should have enough money by next week to own this, and once I do, I promise an in-depth track-by-track review. Expand
  43. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This is the best album ever. Hip Hop pioneers like Run DMC and Nas should be ashamed that they can't match the flabbergasting, genuine production and mouth watering, witty, absorbing lyrics of K-Fed's universally praised album. His sharp flow and quick rhymes would destroy any candy rappers in a rap battle. Go K-Fed!
  44. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This man is a visionary. He puts the heat in my summer. Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing withThis man is a visionary. He puts the heat in my summer. Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire Playing with Fire. I Love Kev. Expand
  45. Lolo
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    Rarely have I heard such genius.... KFed is more than anything else a visionary, and of course, a twice divorced father of three children (one of which is black).
  46. CraigRobertS
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Move over Eminem. The next great white rapper has landed on planet Earth. His name is Kevin and his mellifluous flows will make you think of heaven. So what if he's married to a washed up pop singer; he just needed that spark to unleash his talent upon the masses. Most industry "experts" will pan this album as one of the worst of the year, however, I don't hear them coming out Move over Eminem. The next great white rapper has landed on planet Earth. His name is Kevin and his mellifluous flows will make you think of heaven. So what if he's married to a washed up pop singer; he just needed that spark to unleash his talent upon the masses. Most industry "experts" will pan this album as one of the worst of the year, however, I don't hear them coming out with hit songs in English much less Portuguese. For real though, buy this album and listen to it all the way through just once and you'll feel like you just got done playing with FIRE! Highlights include "Dance with a Pimp" and "Crazy." But don't just listen to me and certainly don't just listen to all these haters. They're just copying each other because no one has the guts to publicly acknowledge this album for what it really is... Da Bomb. Expand
  47. MisterB
    Nov 14, 2006
    9
    Federline gives voice to men struggling under the strain of sudden marriage and fatherhood. His rhymes are the psyche of Middle America manifest, and are just as real to those living in a McMansion or a double-wide. An impressive debut.
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. The worst thing about Playing with Fire is that it's too stale and inept to inspire laughter: it can only elicit weary groans.
  2. In general, Federline enunciates well. [11 Nov 2006]
  3. Other rappers might hesitate to brag about marrying into bling, but Federline isn't self-conscious about it.