Playing With Fire

Playing With Fire Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now that Britney has dumped him, all he has is his music. Ouch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. Billboard
    30
    In general, Federline enunciates well. [11 Nov 2006]
  2. Vibe
    20
    His constipated, region-nonspecific flow overwhelms even the most flamboyant beats. [Jan 2007, p.119]
  3. This disc is just as disposable and dumb as you'd expect.
  4. His flow is generic and instantly forgettable and his lyrics are trite, inconsequential and full of self-importance.
  5. The worst thing about Playing with Fire is that it's too stale and inept to inspire laughter: it can only elicit weary groans.
  6. Federline's rhyme flow is the opposite of tight.
  7. Other rappers might hesitate to brag about marrying into bling, but Federline isn't self-conscious about it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 205
  1. Borat
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Notttttttttttt!
  2. JoelS
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The complex production stands up to Neptunes' pinnacle work. The tight rhyme schematic set forth by Eminem is combined with the The complex production stands up to Neptunes' pinnacle work. The tight rhyme schematic set forth by Eminem is combined with the intellectual lyrical depth of Sage Francis, This is an unforgettable achievement in white hip-hop. Collapse
  3. Tom
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Oh these bad reviews are just because people don't like him. The album isn't that bad and is kind of catchy! Take a listen and Oh these bad reviews are just because people don't like him. The album isn't that bad and is kind of catchy! Take a listen and forget he is Ex-Mr.Spears Expand
  4. NathanS
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, and perhaps, just maybe, he'll go away. This isn't even intriguingly bad; it's not even laughable. I think the worst part of an album like this is how he casually utters blasphemy in the lines of "Like Jesus in every way/I'm crucified every day" in a way that he seems so oblivious to the importance of Jesus as anything more than simply being crucified at some point. Horrible, I wish I could put it into the negative. Expand
  5. yourmother
    Dec 14, 2006
    0
    i think the people who gave this CD good reviews were just kidding... or at least i hope they were.
  6. FatTony
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    The sound of me taking a shit after eating a rancid, maggot infested pile of week-old burritos would sound better than this f*cktard's The sound of me taking a shit after eating a rancid, maggot infested pile of week-old burritos would sound better than this f*cktard's album. Metacritic should be ashamed for not having the option to give minus infinity points for garbage like this. Expand
  7. michaelk
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    ya k- fed is a complete joke. and i really think that anyone who gave this more then a 2 is jus jokin around and bein an idiot

See all 205 User Reviews