Playing With Fire

Playing With Fire Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now that Britney has dumped him, all he has is his music. Ouch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. In general, Federline enunciates well. [11 Nov 2006]
  2. 20
    His constipated, region-nonspecific flow overwhelms even the most flamboyant beats. [Jan 2007, p.119]
  3. This disc is just as disposable and dumb as you'd expect.
  4. His flow is generic and instantly forgettable and his lyrics are trite, inconsequential and full of self-importance.
  5. The worst thing about Playing with Fire is that it's too stale and inept to inspire laughter: it can only elicit weary groans.
  6. Federline's rhyme flow is the opposite of tight.
  7. Other rappers might hesitate to brag about marrying into bling, but Federline isn't self-conscious about it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 203
  1. Borat
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Notttttttttttt!
  2. JoelS
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The complex production stands up to Neptunes' pinnacle work. The tight rhyme schematic set forth by Eminem is combined with the The complex production stands up to Neptunes' pinnacle work. The tight rhyme schematic set forth by Eminem is combined with the intellectual lyrical depth of Sage Francis, This is an unforgettable achievement in white hip-hop. Collapse
  3. Tom
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Oh these bad reviews are just because people don't like him. The album isn't that bad and is kind of catchy! Take a listen and Oh these bad reviews are just because people don't like him. The album isn't that bad and is kind of catchy! Take a listen and forget he is Ex-Mr.Spears Expand
  4. NathanS
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, and perhaps, just maybe, he'll go away. This isn't even intriguingly bad; it's not even laughable. I think the worst part of an album like this is how he casually utters blasphemy in the lines of "Like Jesus in every way/I'm crucified every day" in a way that he seems so oblivious to the importance of Jesus as anything more than simply being crucified at some point. Horrible, I wish I could put it into the negative. Expand
  5. JohnC
    Dec 13, 2006
    0
    Putting all of the news headlines aside, and really listening to this material, all I can say is, you have to be kidding me. An absolute Putting all of the news headlines aside, and really listening to this material, all I can say is, you have to be kidding me. An absolute joke. It's a crime if this guy makes one stinking dollar off this crap. What an insult. Thank God I listened to someone elses copy and did not waste any of my money, but it did waste my time. And to really fuel my dislike, is the fact that he is a leech, only able to live off of others. He is self centered and disrespectful and deserves nothing until he grows up. Give it up dude. Go back to dancing or whatever it is you do. Expand
  6. CarlosR.
    Mar 19, 2008
    0
    Total crap! no good tunes, lame lyrics, unoriginal and disposable!! how good can it be listening to 11 tracks about money, drugs and Total crap! no good tunes, lame lyrics, unoriginal and disposable!! how good can it be listening to 11 tracks about money, drugs and parties?... If what gay-fed was trying to pull with this was his singing career, let me tell you he ended it before even starting it! Expand
  7. GG
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    Please tell me that now they've split up, he'll go back to wherever he came from... and get the hell away from a recording studio

See all 203 User Reviews