Port of Morrow - The Shins
Port of Morrow Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: James Mercer's label Aural Apothecary releases The Shins' first studio album in five years.
  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    93
    It's just so utterly satisfying.
  2. 83
    [Frontman James Mercer] and his new mates have conjured the band's best album in nearly a decade.
  3. 80
    By the second listen, it's somehow found its place in one's affections, despite its lack of obvious hooks.
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    70
    Challenging it's not, but its low-key loveliness makes it great for dinner parties where the company is almost as cool as Mercer's pre-Port track record. [Apr 2012, p.98]
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    63
    For the Shins major-label debut, he [James Mercer] has enlisted pop producer Greg Kurstin (who has worked with everyone from Kesha to Beck) to sharpen, polish and broaden the sound, and the results are decidely mixed.
  6. It's the very definition of "not bad", but surely there's some urgent paint you need to watch drying instead?
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    For all the talk that's bound to come up over the album's production, Port of Morrow's problem isn't 't have a whole lot at stake.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A great addition to The Shins' discography, and easily the best album to have been released this year (as of so far at least). While it lacks some of the poignant lows of previous albums, the soaring highs carry the album far above many previous ventures of Mercer's. Although at times Port of Morrow can sound quite crisp and clean in comparison to the dark instrumentation of Wincing the Night Away or the lo-fi element of Oh, Inverted World, it still manages to hold its own, proving once again the prowess of James Mercer's abilities. Overall, I love this album to death, and while it does threaten to fizzle out towards the end, it's incredibly enjoyable and a great listen. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    All in all, this album is a lot of great work. Not perfect, but there are some addictive tracks on here, and Mercer brings some great additions to the Shins catalogue. Expand
  3. j30
    Mar 20, 2012
    9
    The Shins Port of Morrow is triumphant return. Unlike Radiohead's TKOL and Red Hot Chili Peppers' I'm With You, it's one of those albums you look forward to months in advance and it doesn't disappoint. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Port Of Morrow is a return to form from indie outfit The Shins. It's far more different from their previous three albums, but still manages to hold that pop rock feel to it. James Mercer is the only surviving member of the band which isn't a bad thing at all. It feels and sounds like a new band, and I love it. All In All, Port Of Morrow is a fantastic record. B+ Collapse
  5. May 26, 2012
    8
    I was really excited when I heard that there's gonna be a new The Shins album and I pre-ordered it to get it as fast I can. I think it's a good album but just not as brilliant as their older records. My favorite songs are "Simple Song"; "The Rifles Spiral" and "Bait and Switch" because they sound more like their older songs. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    This album is different from so many albums as it emphasizes electronics intrusments and layers the basics of a song and melody. While it isn't exactly indie pop it is inspired by it though. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2012
    3
    I'd have to disagree with j30...I found it an album I looked forward to for months and found hugely disappointing. "Wincing..." still gets regular plays after years of listening, but this? I've made myself listen to this on and off for about 2 weeks, hoping for something, but its just fairly insipid in the main. That would be reasonable, but there are a number of songs which make me want to turn it off immediately. This is mainly due to lyrics (e.g. the first use of the term "ducks in a row" outside of a business meeting full of chubby guys in chinos, or that stuff about dishwater disguised as lemonade) but there are also some musical moments where they seem to be striving for some kind of MOR-type appeal (maybe those chubby guys at the meeting? "Hey Chet, great slides, have you heard of the Shins, they're this new band..."). There are a few decent tunes, Simple Song stands out but I'm already getting a little sick of it. One review I read described it as music made especially for people in their late 30s who still want to feel a bit cool. The reviewer meant it as a good thing, and yeah I'd fall into that category but that statement kind of sums up how it sounds to me. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews