Poses

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KB
    Oct 18, 2001
    10
    Wonderful - a mix of Jeff Buckley, Ryan Adams and Cole Porter. Soaring songs that swell at just the right moment. Make you miss your exit, you're driving and listening to it, and you won't mind at all.
  2. PattiY.
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    Truly original; new and fresh.
  3. KittyHo
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    With such rare beauty, this album impresses me with new attraction every time I listen to it. It's hard to believe a talented and perfect singer-songwriter like wainright--- great melodies, poetic lyrics and rich voice. He has all the qualities. The heir of Buckley and Tom Waits, he has surpassed peer group like Jesse Malin nd Ryan Adams.
  4. TheBIX
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing man
  5. StinaW
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is absolutely the best album I've EVER listened to! Poses and Shadows are two masterpieces, can't get enough. But that doesn't mean I don't like the other songs, because I really do! Rufus sings so smoothly and he's got my heart!
  6. PeterB
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    A masterpeace no doubt about it. Every single song on this album is wonderful in its own way! Stand outs: Cigarettes & Chocolate MIlk, Poses, California, Grey Gardens, Rebel Prince, One Man Guy but every song here is good. Rufus is amazing!
  7. NathalieE
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This was my first Rufus Wainwright album, and it has changed my life. His music fills me, inspires me, and I listen to him every day. The songs have many layers, and I continue to discover more each time I listen.
  8. BrianL.
    Jul 29, 2001
    10
    This album is simply amazing. The music is incredible, but the lyrics say so much. Wonderful.
  9. QueenArykah
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    Poses is an amazing piece of work. Rufus has come through once again with a fabulous new set of songs. I can't seem to get enough of the poetry, music, and voice.
  10. Fiona
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    If he weren't gay, I would definitely bear his children. No really, I would.
  11. jyo_tirmayad
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    This album is a rock gem. The lyrics are so intense and the music is so good... trust me... you will LOVE this CD!!! Read no other reviews, just go get it.
  12. NastyR
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Great record, cinematic and sublime, cynical and witty. Wainwright is on top of his game.
  13. AndrewE.
    Feb 13, 2002
    9
    this album is amazing. rufus's melodies are superb. i heard a few of his tracks on the net and i immediately ran out to buy both of his cds. this one is just as good, if not better (and more consistent) than his first.
  14. ChezM
    Oct 16, 2002
    9
    I've never come across a more unique artist then Rufus. He's music actually has meaning and you can tell the feeling he put into each of his songs. He's so talented that it's somewhat undescribable.
  15. BearlyyB
    Mar 27, 2006
    8
    8 and a half is my score. This album is absolutely fantastic. The only songs which are not exquisite euphoric singalongs are Shadows, Evil Angel and In a Graveyard. And those songs are good. All of the other songs are inexplicable, inspirational, glorious, Genius melody.
  16. Discombobulator
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    I never grow bored of listening to the tunes on this album. that speaks volumes to anyone that knows how anal I am about music.
  17. PhilippeD
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    Amazing album. The song Poses has been my favorite song for years now. Very personal and never boring. Good job Rufus.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 80
    It's impressive enough that Wainwright doesn't have the whole orchestra playing at once. But his well thought out arrangements are only the finishing touches on songs that would have held up even if he was given little more than a guitar and a pocket tape recorder to work with.
  2. Mojo
    70
    On first listen Poses feels diffuse and unfocused. [Jul 2001, p.108]
  3. Like the works of other great swooners from Cole Porter to The Divine Comedy, 'Poses' is held together by its maker's maniacal attention to detail and conceptual strength.