Poses

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Discombobulator
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    I never grow bored of listening to the tunes on this album. that speaks volumes to anyone that knows how anal I am about music.
  2. PhilippeD
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    Amazing album. The song Poses has been my favorite song for years now. Very personal and never boring. Good job Rufus.
  3. StinaW
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is absolutely the best album I've EVER listened to! Poses and Shadows are two masterpieces, can't get enough. But that doesn't mean I don't like the other songs, because I really do! Rufus sings so smoothly and he's got my heart!
  4. PeterB
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    A masterpeace no doubt about it. Every single song on this album is wonderful in its own way! Stand outs: Cigarettes & Chocolate MIlk, Poses, California, Grey Gardens, Rebel Prince, One Man Guy but every song here is good. Rufus is amazing!
  5. NathalieE
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This was my first Rufus Wainwright album, and it has changed my life. His music fills me, inspires me, and I listen to him every day. The songs have many layers, and I continue to discover more each time I listen.
  6. jyo_tirmayad
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    This album is a rock gem. The lyrics are so intense and the music is so good... trust me... you will LOVE this CD!!! Read no other reviews, just go get it.
  7. Fiona
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    If he weren't gay, I would definitely bear his children. No really, I would.
  8. BearlyyB
    Mar 27, 2006
    8
    8 and a half is my score. This album is absolutely fantastic. The only songs which are not exquisite euphoric singalongs are Shadows, Evil Angel and In a Graveyard. And those songs are good. All of the other songs are inexplicable, inspirational, glorious, Genius melody.
  9. NastyR
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Great record, cinematic and sublime, cynical and witty. Wainwright is on top of his game.
  10. TheBIX
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing man
  11. QueenArykah
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    Poses is an amazing piece of work. Rufus has come through once again with a fabulous new set of songs. I can't seem to get enough of the poetry, music, and voice.
  12. JenW
    May 28, 2003
    9
    When he sings "Life is a game, and true love is a trophy.." fan-tastic.
  13. DAVIDL
    May 23, 2003
    3
    A collection of glossy, overproduced unbelievably bland and sometimes inane ballads. Refus comes accross as a poor man's (or even destitute) Elliot Smith or Belle and Sebastian. He tries to be a clever wordsmith but comes accross as incredibly sophmoric. Cigarrettes and Chocolate Milk? Come on, are serious?
  14. KittyHo
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    With such rare beauty, this album impresses me with new attraction every time I listen to it. It's hard to believe a talented and perfect singer-songwriter like wainright--- great melodies, poetic lyrics and rich voice. He has all the qualities. The heir of Buckley and Tom Waits, he has surpassed peer group like Jesse Malin nd Ryan Adams.
  15. ChezM
    Oct 16, 2002
    9
    I've never come across a more unique artist then Rufus. He's music actually has meaning and you can tell the feeling he put into each of his songs. He's so talented that it's somewhat undescribable.
  16. LizS.
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    In near constant rotation in my cd player since I bought it the day it came out!
  17. kc
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    Seems new and fresh upon every listen. Love it!
  18. EricS.
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    Excellent - Excellent - and finally - Excellent.
  19. MonicaJ.
    Apr 7, 2002
    10
    Beautiful
  20. G.Simon
    Mar 14, 2002
    10
    One of the finest pop albums I've heard. You should see this guy in concert! What a talent for something refreshingly original, melodic, and heartfelt. His acute ear for arrangement really comes out on this disc.
  21. BimboB.
    Feb 22, 2002
    10
    I just love it. What a voice! And this songs. Real new songs, we've never heard. Don't miss it!
  22. AndrewE.
    Feb 13, 2002
    9
    this album is amazing. rufus's melodies are superb. i heard a few of his tracks on the net and i immediately ran out to buy both of his cds. this one is just as good, if not better (and more consistent) than his first.
  23. KB
    Oct 18, 2001
    10
    Wonderful - a mix of Jeff Buckley, Ryan Adams and Cole Porter. Soaring songs that swell at just the right moment. Make you miss your exit, you're driving and listening to it, and you won't mind at all.
  24. PattiY.
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    Truly original; new and fresh.
  25. HollyL.
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    It's the best cd in the world, he is the best artist ever, and I mean that sincerely and for real
  26. BrianL.
    Jul 29, 2001
    10
    This album is simply amazing. The music is incredible, but the lyrics say so much. Wonderful.
  27. MikeT.
    Jul 11, 2001
    6
    Not quite as strong as his enigmatic debut, and altough this is only album #2, Wainwright already seems to be repeating himself -- not a good sign, to say the least....
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 80
    It's impressive enough that Wainwright doesn't have the whole orchestra playing at once. But his well thought out arrangements are only the finishing touches on songs that would have held up even if he was given little more than a guitar and a pocket tape recorder to work with.
  2. Mojo
    70
    On first listen Poses feels diffuse and unfocused. [Jul 2001, p.108]
  3. Like the works of other great swooners from Cole Porter to The Divine Comedy, 'Poses' is held together by its maker's maniacal attention to detail and conceptual strength.