Poses Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to his 1998 self-titled debut (which gained the Canadian singer-songwriter "Best New Artist" honors from Rolling Stone), 'Poses' contains 12 new tracks from sessions with five different producers. He also has songs on the soundtracks for "Shrek" and "Moulin Rouge."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. With Broadway-worthy new standards, and a strong supporting cast, Wainwright delivers a flawless, flip-flopless performance. [8 June 2001, p.76]
  2. An epic album that speaks with grand gestures and a refined eloquence rare in young songwriters.
  3. 'Poses', his second terrific album, is a collection of 12 songs in search of a musical; arch tales that mingle snapshots of boho life with arch allusions to courtly love.
  4. 80
    While there's certainly nothing on Poses so riveting as to signify a rock revolution, there's something to be said for the virtue of a simple crooner operating at the top of his game. [#51, p.122]
  5. Overall, Poses is more daring (and, at times, more mellow) than its predecessor, mostly because Wainwright has densely packed images and sounds in a way that is less immediately catchy and more complex.
  6. Like the works of other great swooners from Cole Porter to The Divine Comedy, 'Poses' is held together by its maker's maniacal attention to detail and conceptual strength.
  7. 60
    His ornate, piano-driven arrangements cite a wide variety of musical sources, from indie pop to Gershwin to trip-hop and back again. [Jun/Jul 2001, p.116]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. StinaW
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is absolutely the best album I've EVER listened to! Poses and Shadows are two masterpieces, can't get enough. But that This album is absolutely the best album I've EVER listened to! Poses and Shadows are two masterpieces, can't get enough. But that doesn't mean I don't like the other songs, because I really do! Rufus sings so smoothly and he's got my heart! Collapse
  2. TheBIX
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing man
  3. BrianL.
    Jul 29, 2001
    10
    This album is simply amazing. The music is incredible, but the lyrics say so much. Wonderful.
  4. NathalieE
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This was my first Rufus Wainwright album, and it has changed my life. His music fills me, inspires me, and I listen to him every day. The This was my first Rufus Wainwright album, and it has changed my life. His music fills me, inspires me, and I listen to him every day. The songs have many layers, and I continue to discover more each time I listen. Expand
  5. AndrewE.
    Feb 13, 2002
    9
    this album is amazing. rufus's melodies are superb. i heard a few of his tracks on the net and i immediately ran out to buy both of his this album is amazing. rufus's melodies are superb. i heard a few of his tracks on the net and i immediately ran out to buy both of his cds. this one is just as good, if not better (and more consistent) than his first. Expand
  6. NastyR
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Great record, cinematic and sublime, cynical and witty. Wainwright is on top of his game.
  7. DAVIDL
    May 23, 2003
    3
    A collection of glossy, overproduced unbelievably bland and sometimes inane ballads. Refus comes accross as a poor man's (or even A collection of glossy, overproduced unbelievably bland and sometimes inane ballads. Refus comes accross as a poor man's (or even destitute) Elliot Smith or Belle and Sebastian. He tries to be a clever wordsmith but comes accross as incredibly sophmoric. Cigarrettes and Chocolate Milk? Come on, are serious? Expand

See all 27 User Reviews