Post-Nothing - Japandroids
Post-Nothing Image

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the indie-rock duo from Vancouver, Canada.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Maybe its sunstroke, but I feel compelled to suggest that two young Canucks trading in sludgy punk-pop tunes may have crafted a rock album that gets closer to perfection than any other album this year so far.
  2. Regardless of classification, Japandroids have created something pure, something without pretense and without any concern for how smart or cool they will sound.
  3. Vancouver duo Brian King and David Prowse throw themselves into every song as if it's the last one they'll ever play. That go-for-broke attitude carries their third album, which is less about the songs than the sheer joy of playing them.
  4. Post-Nothing is their eight-song debut, and it goes by in a flash of infectious, sweaty anthem jams about angsty youth problems.
  5. It’s all quite charming and lovely.
  6. 74
    This album has the beauty of controlled chaos, it's emotive yet carefree and secure. [Spring 2009, p.103]
  7. Perhaps unsurprisingly, this template leaves little room for subtlety, yet what the duo's first lacks in brains it makes up for in sheer noisy exuberance, displaying on Crazy/Forever a common thread with the once majestic ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead. [Dec 2009, p. 116]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    I'm surprised these two rockers aren't as big as they should be. Maybe that's a good thing. Either way, Post-Nothing is pure rock and roll. From the pulsating drums to Brian King's rough guitar riffs, Japandroids just spill anxious youth rock. It's almost a perfect album. A- Expand

See all 16 User Reviews