Post-Nothing - Japandroids

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Vancouver duo Brian King and David Prowse throw themselves into every song as if it's the last one they'll ever play. That go-for-broke attitude carries their third album, which is less about the songs than the sheer joy of playing them.
  2. Regardless of classification, Japandroids have created something pure, something without pretense and without any concern for how smart or cool they will sound.
  3. Their debut is a gale-force riot, a virtual tempest of joyous abandon.
  4. Yes, there’s technically more instrumental breadth in most episodes of Sesame Street, but this is a deeply, troublingly emotional record.
  5. It’s all quite charming and lovely.
  6. This is terminally catchy music played with punk's enthusiasm and velocity, and maybe it's the fact that there's only two dudes in this band that makes you feel like joining in to bash along.
  7. Maybe its sunstroke, but I feel compelled to suggest that two young Canucks trading in sludgy punk-pop tunes may have crafted a rock album that gets closer to perfection than any other album this year so far.
  8. Japandroids' (or JPNDRDS) first full length--Post-Nothing--is the perfect embodiment of the post-teen angst, excitement, anxiety and fuck-it artlessness of finally packing your bags and moving on, wherever the destination as long as it’s at least a million miles away from home.
  9. They're innocent, they're simple, and they're filled with blindingly good hooks. It's all thrown together with a superb sense of knowing what works.
  10. Post-Nothing is convincing in its candor to the point of exhaustion.
  11. Post-Nothing is their eight-song debut, and it goes by in a flash of infectious, sweaty anthem jams about angsty youth problems.
  12. On their debut disc, Post-Nothing, guitarist Brian King and drummer David Prowse deliver a rush of fuzzed-out rockers and stoner-metal grooves, plus an awesomely bummed-out drone called 'I Quit Girls.'
  13. 70
    Japandroids have a point of view (young, male, infatuated with the promise of the present) and an M.O. (excellently fuzzed-out garage rock played as if at the apocalypse), but more impressively, they've mastered another secret to swaying the public: confidence without smugness.
  14. The cacaphonous bursts of garage-rock fuzz on this young Vancouver duo's third album are the stuff of a thousand beer-soaked basement parties--shambolic, sweaty, and happily unrefined.
  15. Post-Nothing is an album that deserves listens and that will definitely gather support with this re-issue.
  16. Filled with bounce, bite and surprising cohesion, Post-Nothing is a deceptive little piece that is as much fun as it is subversive.
  17. Sure, there’s nothing at all novel about young dudes feeling immortal and wanting to get laid, but Japandroids infuse those well-worn tropes with enough energy and songcraft to make it feel refreshing.
  18. 'Young Hearts Spark Fire' showcases their gleeful exuberance, but even on more subdued numbers like 'Sovereignty,' they still sound like two kids who don't yet know their own strength.
  19. While King’s hyperdrive approach to laying guitar brick rarely sits perfectly flush with Prowse’s cyclonic drums, every spasm on the recording sticks. The combined explosions never quit popping until the muddy sigh of the heartbreaking closer, 'I Quit Girls.'
  20. Perhaps unsurprisingly, this template leaves little room for subtlety, yet what the duo's first lacks in brains it makes up for in sheer noisy exuberance, displaying on Crazy/Forever a common thread with the once majestic ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead. [Dec 2009, p. 116]
  21. 74
    This album has the beauty of controlled chaos, it's emotive yet carefree and secure. [Spring 2009, p.103]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    I'm surprised these two rockers aren't as big as they should be. Maybe that's a good thing. Either way, Post-Nothing is pure rock and roll. From the pulsating drums to Brian King's rough guitar riffs, Japandroids just spill anxious youth rock. It's almost a perfect album. A- Full Review »