Powder Burns

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 3 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonP
    May 23, 2006
    9
    This is probably one of Dulli's most consistently good albums, including the Whigs days. The verses are huge and act as a ramp for the massive choruses to launch off of. It's also one of his most arresting albums lyrically, too. It sags in a few spots (specifically in the latter half of the album), but overall it's a great record.
  2. TomC
    May 29, 2006
    8
    Yeah, I still like my old Whigs albums mors, but this is still as good as I can come to ask for. Definitely getting some listens.
  3. ChrisH
    May 30, 2006
    9
    With the exception of I wish I was, and The Conversation, every song on this album is a home run.
  4. kevb
    May 30, 2006
    8
    get it enough said
  5. Raindog1972
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Dulli is out there all alone....his songriting just continues to improve. An incredible, intoxicating mix of everyhting that is right w/ music....
  6. TimothyM
    May 30, 2006
    10
    By far the best Twilight album, even eclipses some Whigs work. The urgency, the melodies, the Dulli-isms are all top notch. One of the best records of the year.
  7. steveb
    May 31, 2006
    10
    It is actually a good thing for mr. dulli that the mass-public has not lached on his past and present masterpieces. Publicity and success would never allowed for a perfect recording like we have witnessed in the latest twilight singers outcast. So beautifull that you will have no choice to keep it on repeat in your ipod. Compaired to the latest offerings from other more notible, popular It is actually a good thing for mr. dulli that the mass-public has not lached on his past and present masterpieces. Publicity and success would never allowed for a perfect recording like we have witnessed in the latest twilight singers outcast. So beautifull that you will have no choice to keep it on repeat in your ipod. Compaired to the latest offerings from other more notible, popular rock groups such as the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, and Tool, POWDER BURNS shows that my generation of thirty-somethings can still top themselves over and over again. Definately greg dulli's best yet. At least until the next one. Expand
  8. BlackoutNights
    May 31, 2006
    8
    I wonder why we read reviews on things we like, or even bother to write them when we're not being paid for our opinion? Dulli's never been about putting something together to please anyone but himself. That's part of the fucker's charm. Powder Burns is a storm of emotion and noise. It's the best Twilight Singers album to date. Having said that, I agree with Jason I wonder why we read reviews on things we like, or even bother to write them when we're not being paid for our opinion? Dulli's never been about putting something together to please anyone but himself. That's part of the fucker's charm. Powder Burns is a storm of emotion and noise. It's the best Twilight Singers album to date. Having said that, I agree with Jason P. the latter part of the album starts to sag, still listenable, but nowhere near the intensity of the beginning...though if you got it off iTunes, They Ride certainly is a great closer. Dulli's playing to the "in", and if you're not in it, get out of the damn bar...fucker. Expand
  9. KevinB
    May 31, 2006
    9
    A kick ass ride. Boy did that chick have an ax to grind or what. She really telegraphed her bias by bringing up the zine "Fat Greg Dulli" What is she like 50?
  10. ScottM
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Mature, timeless rock and roll
  11. KenS
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums of recent years. Dulli deserves a wider audience.
  12. JimmyJ
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Great Album.
  13. Smilin'Eyes
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    It's no Blackberry Belle, but with lines like "I've got love for sale, come and get some before it gets stale", how could you not love Mr. DullI? He is a Prince among men.
  14. KenO
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    I cannot stop listening to this CD; easily one of the best albums of 2006, do yourself a favor and purchase this masterpiece today!
  15. GlennH
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Greg Dulli at his absolute best. This CD starts out with a bang and sucks you right in. This is his finest piece of work to date (including his Whigs albums). His lyrics have never felt so heartfelt. Easily one of the best releases in 2006, pick this CD up today, you will not be disappointed.
  16. SimonS
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Better than most
  17. SamA
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    This album must be the best album of 2006 - it's beautiful and moving and i absolutely love it
  18. Ian
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    An outstanding album from one of the best, most underrated songwriters around. Powder Burns is easily the best album of 2006, and a masterpiece that everyone should hear.
  19. BabyHustlerKGB
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Intense & spirtual
  20. OnofreL.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Incredible and for me, their best album!! Go and buy it!!! from Caracas, Venezuela...
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. While Dulli's bitter, drunken voice remains front and center, the backup vocals and orchestras nearly make the songs sound like a parody, marrying a beast to a beauty.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Dulli... once again lets it rip. [19 May 2006, p.77]
  3. Powder Burns doesn't reinvent the Twilight Singers' sound, but it's clear that Greg Dulli is searching for new and darker back alleys to walk down.