Prairie Wind

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GarrettT
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    It got better with every listen. Now, it's as good as it gets.
  2. johnf
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Classic Neil Young for today. I enjoyed, and played along with all the songs. Neil's music is easy to follow on a guitar in many ways, as always, but while easy to follow, his genus is impossible to duplicate. I didn't really get the prairie connection until now. I liked the country side of this, and loved the line in the DVD...is there a guitar player in the house... I hope Classic Neil Young for today. I enjoyed, and played along with all the songs. Neil's music is easy to follow on a guitar in many ways, as always, but while easy to follow, his genus is impossible to duplicate. I didn't really get the prairie connection until now. I liked the country side of this, and loved the line in the DVD...is there a guitar player in the house... I hope everyone caught the solo at the end.. I found three different keys in which to play this.. I guess I mostly loved this. Expand
  3. mikej
    Sep 30, 2005
    0
    weak.
  4. StaceyB
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Each time I listen to it I love it even more.
  5. joew
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    neil's best record since rust never sleeps.
  6. Rust1978Rust1978
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    A very FINE album!
  7. LewL
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Certainly stronger then his most recent "folk-country" albums including "Harvest Moon." The melodies and lyrics seem to become stronger with each listen. Those expecting some new transformation from Neil with be dissappointed. He has been around for over 40 year and you can only re-invent your music so many times. Certainly not another "Harvest", but we shouldn't expect one from Certainly stronger then his most recent "folk-country" albums including "Harvest Moon." The melodies and lyrics seem to become stronger with each listen. Those expecting some new transformation from Neil with be dissappointed. He has been around for over 40 year and you can only re-invent your music so many times. Certainly not another "Harvest", but we shouldn't expect one from Neil. All of us aging baby boomers are enjoying getting old with Neil. Maybe it's not "better to burn out than it is to rust." Expand
  8. roberts
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Definately a grower. Get's better for me with each listen. I have already listened to this more than Greendale and Are You Passionate combined.
  9. FrankB
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    Great album, certainly one of the best he ever made!
  10. tonya
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    neil is da man yo!
  11. bobl
    Sep 30, 2005
    5
    listening to the record for the second time through - and I'm a Neil Young completist - I'm waiting to be surprised, and I'm just not. Sometimes he takes a cliche and turns it inside out, but this record feels like cliche followed by inspiration followed by ghosts of records that used to be followed by cliche. Many talk of this as a return to form; I was blown away by listening to the record for the second time through - and I'm a Neil Young completist - I'm waiting to be surprised, and I'm just not. Sometimes he takes a cliche and turns it inside out, but this record feels like cliche followed by inspiration followed by ghosts of records that used to be followed by cliche. Many talk of this as a return to form; I was blown away by Greendale and consider it one of his best. It surprised me and captivated me as the best of NY has always done. This feels like filler separated by some really good passages/songs Expand
  12. DavidB
    Feb 4, 2006
    2
    Am I the only one who thinks anything Neil manages to pull out of his ass and make up a tune for, isn't necessarily art? For someone who once wrote 'it's better to burn out than it is to rust', old Neil has sure spent a long time rusting. He seems almost completely oxidized. Jeez, he doesn't even attempt to rhyme the lines or even get the meter of his verses to Am I the only one who thinks anything Neil manages to pull out of his ass and make up a tune for, isn't necessarily art? For someone who once wrote 'it's better to burn out than it is to rust', old Neil has sure spent a long time rusting. He seems almost completely oxidized. Jeez, he doesn't even attempt to rhyme the lines or even get the meter of his verses to fit the music. I am a long time Neil fan but this album is just a bunch of whiny geezer guff. Can you tell I was disappointed? Expand
  13. MartinB
    Jul 13, 2006
    2
    I was going to give it a 3, then I decided a 2 was all I could muster. Where do we begin with this one? It sounds like all the songs from "Harvest" that couldn't make the cut. Just because someone is a venerable old artist doesn't mean we lose all sense of taste. In a way, it's an embarrassment. I'm sorry Neil got sick and all with his aneurysm; even better reason for I was going to give it a 3, then I decided a 2 was all I could muster. Where do we begin with this one? It sounds like all the songs from "Harvest" that couldn't make the cut. Just because someone is a venerable old artist doesn't mean we lose all sense of taste. In a way, it's an embarrassment. I'm sorry Neil got sick and all with his aneurysm; even better reason for him not to foist this lame-o stuff on anyone. And the guy who said that "aging Boomers are enjoying getting old with Neil" needs to check his hearing aid. I gave this every chance, but the more I listened, the more it was clear what a major misstep it is. If I was like Neil Young Expand
  14. RandyW
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    I don't know if this review will make this board because I didn't buy the CD, I bought the DVD and I would say GREAT. Neil Youngs Prarie Wind is a tender moving tribute to his friends and family and perhaps a portrayal of the sense of gratitude he feels for the way he was brought up and the "down home open air" lifestyle he embraces and this by a man who again has reached a sort I don't know if this review will make this board because I didn't buy the CD, I bought the DVD and I would say GREAT. Neil Youngs Prarie Wind is a tender moving tribute to his friends and family and perhaps a portrayal of the sense of gratitude he feels for the way he was brought up and the "down home open air" lifestyle he embraces and this by a man who again has reached a sort of milestone in his life. What inspires or motivates truly great artists is often times hard to pin down. Not so with Prarie Wind or Neil Young as always, for that matter. This is a portrayal of a man who has obviously faced some difficult times recently and in a most unpretentious and graceful manner Neil gives us his very soul in this one. I found it quite refreshing. Its already been established that Youngs songs will stand the test of time, and although we are quite familier with the catalog in this one...and he's sang these songs countless times...his performence feels refreshed and new. I don't think he had to reach very far to sing these songs and make them feel like he had just written them 5 minutes ago.You can sense watching him that he has been touched and is merely sharing what he knows is a gift, his talent, his friends & his life. The stage setup again is simple yet poignent, the prarie...paying homage to his upringing and the often times overlooked simple yet bountiful lay of the land. I think the over 40 crowd will love and embrace this because it's songs and genuine sentiment are easily identifiable. Here is a Neil Young who has matured (again) to another level and openly shares his feelings in a humble tribute. Here is Neil, dare I say...at his VERY best! He has always shown a sense of balance in his lfe, and I for one respect the fact that with the power and influence he could have misused or weilded through out his career, he has stayed true to his values. Skip the CD and purchase the DVD...truly a better portrayal and perspective of the man and his music! Phenomanal even if your only a remote fan. P.S. I purchased the double disc DVD for the bargain price of $5.95. You get way more than your moneys worth on this one folks! Expand
  15. GregD
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Difficult to understand how anyone can listen to this album and not be moved. Many artists try to capture genuine emotion through simplicity, but Neil Young is surely the master - "Prairie Wind" is to the sense of loss what "On The Beach" is to that of despair. Ranks amongst the finest of a legend's albums.
  16. BruceD
    Oct 2, 2005
    6
    Not a great album, but not bad either. It's been called a "Harvest"/"Harvest Moon" type album, but I hear a little "Are You Passionate?" thrown in there - it's heavily rooted in folk and country, but there's plenty of back-up singers and touches of r&b soul. There aren't any tracks that strike me as bad, but some aren't that interesting, musically or lyrically. Not a great album, but not bad either. It's been called a "Harvest"/"Harvest Moon" type album, but I hear a little "Are You Passionate?" thrown in there - it's heavily rooted in folk and country, but there's plenty of back-up singers and touches of r&b soul. There aren't any tracks that strike me as bad, but some aren't that interesting, musically or lyrically. "Painter," "Falling Off the Face of the Earth," "Prairie Wind," "He Was the King," and "When God Made Me" make up the better half for me, with the last one ("When God Made Me") the best song Young's done since 1995's "I'm The Ocean." There's some raggedness that actually enhances the album (you hear Young start off the novelty Elvis tribute "He Was the King" - apparently an early take that ended up getting tagged as the master), and all the songs fit together despite the eclectic roots sound. I still prefer "After the Goldrush" and "Comes A Time" for 'softer' Neil, and even "Harvest" and "Harvest Moon" are better albums than this, but this one still ain't bad. Expand
  17. PatrickO
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Best from Neil in quite a while, excellent.
  18. johncrazy
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Best album in years
  19. ChrisL
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    GREAT ALBUM! What I've been waiting for a long time. One of Neil Youngs finest.
  20. MartyS
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    An excellent acoustic Neil CD!!
  21. Arcangeli
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Neil Young
  22. dannyb
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    This is solid. If you like accoustic Neil Young, I'd suggest it.
  23. LucaF
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    Well, old Neil has done it again...though the comparisons with the classics of the seventies may appear a bit exaggerated, still, Prarire Wind is a real fine piece of work. Better than Harvest Moon and Freedom and even Comes a time: but Harvest, After the Gold Rush and On the Beach are still in a league of their own.
  24. JasonD
    Nov 25, 2005
    3
    After all of the breathless reveiws, I couldn't wait to hear Prairie Wind. What a letdown. It's like he wasn't even trying when writing these lyrics, rather just scribbling simplistic thoughts and singing them. For mellow, thoughtful Neil, best to get Silver and Gold and forget this one ever came out.
  25. Scott
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Classic Neil
  26. MattG
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Intimate Neil at his best. It's only a dream ..a few other classics. We need more music like this.
  27. MN
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Love it!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The pedal steel guitar playing on the whole record is breathtaking.
  2. Familiar, yes, but not unwelcome. [1 Oct 2005]
  3. Mr. Young is pushing toward guilelessness in these 10 songs; these are messages of nearly transcendental forgiveness that have lost their old edges of fear and anger. [26 Sep 2005]