Prairie Wind

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GarrettT
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    It got better with every listen. Now, it's as good as it gets.
  2. johnf
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Classic Neil Young for today. I enjoyed, and played along with all the songs. Neil's music is easy to follow on a guitar in many ways, as always, but while easy to follow, his genus is impossible to duplicate. I didn't really get the prairie connection until now. I liked the country side of this, and loved the line in the DVD...is there a guitar player in the house... I hope Classic Neil Young for today. I enjoyed, and played along with all the songs. Neil's music is easy to follow on a guitar in many ways, as always, but while easy to follow, his genus is impossible to duplicate. I didn't really get the prairie connection until now. I liked the country side of this, and loved the line in the DVD...is there a guitar player in the house... I hope everyone caught the solo at the end.. I found three different keys in which to play this.. I guess I mostly loved this. Expand
  3. StaceyB
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Each time I listen to it I love it even more.
  4. joew
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    neil's best record since rust never sleeps.
  5. Rust1978Rust1978
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    A very FINE album!
  6. LewL
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Certainly stronger then his most recent "folk-country" albums including "Harvest Moon." The melodies and lyrics seem to become stronger with each listen. Those expecting some new transformation from Neil with be dissappointed. He has been around for over 40 year and you can only re-invent your music so many times. Certainly not another "Harvest", but we shouldn't expect one from Certainly stronger then his most recent "folk-country" albums including "Harvest Moon." The melodies and lyrics seem to become stronger with each listen. Those expecting some new transformation from Neil with be dissappointed. He has been around for over 40 year and you can only re-invent your music so many times. Certainly not another "Harvest", but we shouldn't expect one from Neil. All of us aging baby boomers are enjoying getting old with Neil. Maybe it's not "better to burn out than it is to rust." Expand
  7. roberts
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Definately a grower. Get's better for me with each listen. I have already listened to this more than Greendale and Are You Passionate combined.
  8. FrankB
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    Great album, certainly one of the best he ever made!
  9. tonya
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    neil is da man yo!
  10. RandyW
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    I don't know if this review will make this board because I didn't buy the CD, I bought the DVD and I would say GREAT. Neil Youngs Prarie Wind is a tender moving tribute to his friends and family and perhaps a portrayal of the sense of gratitude he feels for the way he was brought up and the "down home open air" lifestyle he embraces and this by a man who again has reached a sort I don't know if this review will make this board because I didn't buy the CD, I bought the DVD and I would say GREAT. Neil Youngs Prarie Wind is a tender moving tribute to his friends and family and perhaps a portrayal of the sense of gratitude he feels for the way he was brought up and the "down home open air" lifestyle he embraces and this by a man who again has reached a sort of milestone in his life. What inspires or motivates truly great artists is often times hard to pin down. Not so with Prarie Wind or Neil Young as always, for that matter. This is a portrayal of a man who has obviously faced some difficult times recently and in a most unpretentious and graceful manner Neil gives us his very soul in this one. I found it quite refreshing. Its already been established that Youngs songs will stand the test of time, and although we are quite familier with the catalog in this one...and he's sang these songs countless times...his performence feels refreshed and new. I don't think he had to reach very far to sing these songs and make them feel like he had just written them 5 minutes ago.You can sense watching him that he has been touched and is merely sharing what he knows is a gift, his talent, his friends & his life. The stage setup again is simple yet poignent, the prarie...paying homage to his upringing and the often times overlooked simple yet bountiful lay of the land. I think the over 40 crowd will love and embrace this because it's songs and genuine sentiment are easily identifiable. Here is a Neil Young who has matured (again) to another level and openly shares his feelings in a humble tribute. Here is Neil, dare I say...at his VERY best! He has always shown a sense of balance in his lfe, and I for one respect the fact that with the power and influence he could have misused or weilded through out his career, he has stayed true to his values. Skip the CD and purchase the DVD...truly a better portrayal and perspective of the man and his music! Phenomanal even if your only a remote fan. P.S. I purchased the double disc DVD for the bargain price of $5.95. You get way more than your moneys worth on this one folks! Expand
  11. GregD
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Difficult to understand how anyone can listen to this album and not be moved. Many artists try to capture genuine emotion through simplicity, but Neil Young is surely the master - "Prairie Wind" is to the sense of loss what "On The Beach" is to that of despair. Ranks amongst the finest of a legend's albums.
  12. PatrickO
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Best from Neil in quite a while, excellent.
  13. johncrazy
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Best album in years
  14. ChrisL
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    GREAT ALBUM! What I've been waiting for a long time. One of Neil Youngs finest.
  15. MartyS
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    An excellent acoustic Neil CD!!
  16. Arcangeli
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Neil Young
  17. dannyb
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    This is solid. If you like accoustic Neil Young, I'd suggest it.
  18. LucaF
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    Well, old Neil has done it again...though the comparisons with the classics of the seventies may appear a bit exaggerated, still, Prarire Wind is a real fine piece of work. Better than Harvest Moon and Freedom and even Comes a time: but Harvest, After the Gold Rush and On the Beach are still in a league of their own.
  19. Scott
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Classic Neil
  20. MattG
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Intimate Neil at his best. It's only a dream ..a few other classics. We need more music like this.
  21. MN
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Love it!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The pedal steel guitar playing on the whole record is breathtaking.
  2. Familiar, yes, but not unwelcome. [1 Oct 2005]
  3. Mr. Young is pushing toward guilelessness in these 10 songs; these are messages of nearly transcendental forgiveness that have lost their old edges of fear and anger. [26 Sep 2005]