Pretty.Odd. Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to their platinum debut album finds the band dropping the exclamation point from their name.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. An admirably ambitious musical bonanza. [28 Mar 2008, p.64]
  2. It may not be an album to die for, but it is a rare album of note, as much for its context as its content.
  3. 15 tracks of welcomed live drum sounds, symphonies and stacked harmonies.
  4. The fact remains, even if this batch of songs is a little clumsy and without nuance at times, most are memorable and enjoyable.
  5. This is a remarkably solid album that stands as one of the best album made by a pop-punk band this decade, although this music can hardly be considered 'pop-punk' anymore.
  6. For all its craftsmanship, Pretty. Odd. comes across as mannered and overbearing, more studied than exuberant, the magnum opus of a talented band charging wholeheartedly down a blind alley.
  7. 40
    Frontman Brendan Urie has a knack for jaunty pop but Pretty Odd is too clinical and calculated for one so young. [May 2008, p.102]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 66
  2. Negative: 19 out of 66
  1. AlexP.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    I just love their new album they took a chance on doing something completly different from their last album and I think they deserve a slap I just love their new album they took a chance on doing something completly different from their last album and I think they deserve a slap on the back. Expand
  2. JeffreyD.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. This album is meant to be listened to in a dimly lit room, played on vinyl, possibly with headphones on, and definitely Amazing album. This album is meant to be listened to in a dimly lit room, played on vinyl, possibly with headphones on, and definitely smoking something. Its beautiful, daring, and clever. Making a switch from 'Fever' to an album more like this is not something to take timid swings at, they charged at 'Pretty. Odd.' full bore. The album as a whole, from start to finish paints a very fun and addicting picture. Notable psychedelic songs: The Piano Knows, When the Day, and Behind the Sea. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    I loved how random it all felt at first yet listening to it clarified the lyrics a little bit every time. Even now, 6 years and 200 listensI loved how random it all felt at first yet listening to it clarified the lyrics a little bit every time. Even now, 6 years and 200 listens later, it's still so catchy and in my opinion Panic's best album to date. Expand
  4. AngelC.
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    I really love this album. It's incredibly different from their first one, but that's okay because it's not bad at all.
  5. StevenJ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    7
    While this album is much different than the previous Panic album I still very much enjoyed it. To be honest the lyrics are just as good as While this album is much different than the previous Panic album I still very much enjoyed it. To be honest the lyrics are just as good as the previous album and I think I like the style only slightly less. Expand
  6. RandyK.
    Apr 1, 2008
    3
    I don't buy into any "sophomore jinx" crap. But this is obviously Panic trying entirely too hard to extract themselves from their own I don't buy into any "sophomore jinx" crap. But this is obviously Panic trying entirely too hard to extract themselves from their own shadow. These sound like a bunch of throwaway b-sides during tour bus downtime. "Nine in the Afternoon"? That's as close as they get to the original, blindingly brilliant Panic. And "Nine in the Afternoon" sounds more Fall Out Boy than Panic anyway. Where are the literary references? Where are the fevered-pitch tempos? Where's the breakneck dynamism in their soundscape? It's obvious these guys have sweat out their fever. Panic? Guys? Next time somebody offers you the artistic freedom to do whatever you want ... don't. Expand
  7. JeffM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    0
    Why is this band still around? Seriously. They're horrible.

See all 66 User Reviews