Pretty.Odd. Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to their platinum debut album finds the band dropping the exclamation point from their name.

Top Track

Nine In The Afternoon
Back to the street where we began Feeling as good as lovers can, you know Yeah, we're feeling so good Pickin' up things we shouldn't read Looks like... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. An admirably ambitious musical bonanza. [28 Mar 2008, p.64]
  2. It may not be an album to die for, but it is a rare album of note, as much for its context as its content.
  3. 15 tracks of welcomed live drum sounds, symphonies and stacked harmonies.
  4. The fact remains, even if this batch of songs is a little clumsy and without nuance at times, most are memorable and enjoyable.
  5. This is a remarkably solid album that stands as one of the best album made by a pop-punk band this decade, although this music can hardly be considered 'pop-punk' anymore.
  6. For all its craftsmanship, Pretty. Odd. comes across as mannered and overbearing, more studied than exuberant, the magnum opus of a talented band charging wholeheartedly down a blind alley.
  7. Mojo
    40
    Frontman Brendan Urie has a knack for jaunty pop but Pretty Odd is too clinical and calculated for one so young. [May 2008, p.102]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 19 out of 70
  1. AlexP.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    I just love their new album they took a chance on doing something completly different from their last album and I think they deserve a slap I just love their new album they took a chance on doing something completly different from their last album and I think they deserve a slap on the back. Expand
  2. MichaelS.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    I love this album! It totally removes all the negative points that people have about Panic at the Disco. This album is catchy and absolutely I love this album! It totally removes all the negative points that people have about Panic at the Disco. This album is catchy and absolutely delves into a new and interesting, even more refreshing musical style. It incorporates the musical styles of the Beatles and even in some ways the beach boys. It just proves that the band have matured and their recent success in the UK album chart has proved it successful. Expand
  3. Sammy
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    I'm taken aback by how much I like this album. Panic had a strong debut, but it never once felt original. This album truly establishes I'm taken aback by how much I like this album. Panic had a strong debut, but it never once felt original. This album truly establishes an original identity for the band. The tunes are wonderfully musical, and I can't stop listening to it. Expand
  4. D.G.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    Not a bad album by any stretch - much better than the first one, and much more original. If people criticized every band for sounding like or Not a bad album by any stretch - much better than the first one, and much more original. If people criticized every band for sounding like or paying tribute to the Beatles, then almost every band since the 60s would be guilty of this. I think Panic has released a great album here, and though the sound does pay tribute to the Beatles, it's definitely a step of maturity for the band. Expand
  5. AnonYmous
    Apr 3, 2008
    7
    The debut was immense. The follow-up... meh not so much. It kinda reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    3
    Panic! At the Disco are perhaps my favourite band- none of my opinion is based on this albubm. A terrible, terrible follow up to their firstPanic! At the Disco are perhaps my favourite band- none of my opinion is based on this albubm. A terrible, terrible follow up to their first album. THis song contains two good tracks, 'Nine in the Afternoon' and 'Things have Changed'. I am disappointed in this album. Not only is it too far from what Panic! At the Disco are known for, but their 'new' sound is whiny and boring. Expand
  7. JeffM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    0
    Why is this band still around? Seriously. They're horrible.

See all 70 User Reviews