• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 808 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 248
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Unlike previous albums ''Teenage Dream'' & ''One of the Boys'', ''PRISM'' really shows Katy's vocal and lyrical talent. It's a big evolutionUnlike previous albums ''Teenage Dream'' & ''One of the Boys'', ''PRISM'' really shows Katy's vocal and lyrical talent. It's a big evolution from the theme of Teenage Dream. The album is totally original and very different. Personally the album opener ''Roar'', which also served as the lead single and gave Katy her best first week single sales in US with over 500,000 copies sold, wasn't a great album opener choice. I think Love Me would've been a great album opener because of the great into, but that doesn't matter. Roar is definitely one of PRISM's highlights and one of the more pop tracks. Katy originally promised a ''dark'' era & album, but that all changed when she let the light in, the album became an album about Katy finding herself & inner power and even self-reflection. I don't have a favourite or a least favourite because the album is so well put together and diverse at the same time. Fun songs like This Is How We Do,Birthday,Walking On Air and International Smile have really big single potential and summer hit potential. That group of songs would be great radio hits and should be considered as futures singles. Then songs like By The Grace Of God,Double Rainbow,Choose Your Battles should be chosen as singles to close off the album like the 6th/7th single. Overall the album is full of meaningful and inspirational songs that have huge potential to have chart success. Katy has already had major success with thus album, PRISM had the largest first week sales by a female since Madonna's MDNA back in early 2012 and also the largest first week sales by a female of 2013. Roar has been nominated for 2 Grammy's in 2014 and Roar has also became the fastest selling song in digital history. The lead single has been having massive longetivity and so is the album. PRISM sold 1M after 5 weeks, a sum that took 9 weeks to reach for Teenage Dream to hit when it opened with 195,000 back in 2010. So as you can see Katy is breaking records and achieving more and more success with every year. This all makes PRISM's second single ''Unconditionally'', which is Katy's favourite song from the album look small but as of December 14th, it's currently peaked at 14 on the Billboard Chart, not bad for a single that's not to be released until December 16th, right after Katy gives it massive promotion on the X-Factor UK's final. It's been overshadowed by Roar still but an unexpected hit third single ''Dark Horse'' is currently being put into place. So, if all this has not made you want to buy/listen to PRISM, i don't know what will. Again, the album is full of deep personally songs all written by Katy, that if have the right treatment, could become massive hits. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Katy is always surprising us, evolving from one of the boys. I love PRISM because it is simple and beautiful lyrics, and some even dancing.Katy is always surprising us, evolving from one of the boys. I love PRISM because it is simple and beautiful lyrics, and some even dancing. The album is amazing as it should be. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2013
    6
    Katy Perry sheds her cotton candy scented look for for her fourth album "PRISM" (caps lock inspired by Lady Gaga). One may think she'd make aKaty Perry sheds her cotton candy scented look for for her fourth album "PRISM" (caps lock inspired by Lady Gaga). One may think she'd make a completely dark album given her divorce, but PRISM mainly focuses on the new man in her life and only offers a few 'darker' songs. I'd single out "Legendary Lovers" as the highlight of the album donning a subtle Easter inspiration, the song follows our tigress having sex or whatnot in the middle of a jungle. On the other hand, "This Is How We Do" and "International Smile" are god awful fillers. Overall, PRISM sounds fresh, strong and things-will-get-better-in-the-end Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    for me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybefor me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybe she's having success now but if she doesn't change, she'll not be remembered and her music will be forgotten, but i have to say there's some good and catchy songs: International smile, dark horse, birthday Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    Teenage Dream Prism
    I was expecting more from Katy Perry in this album. Roar was a mediocre pop song. (The only reason Roar is on my iPod is
    Teenage Dream Prism
    I was expecting more from Katy Perry in this album. Roar was a mediocre pop song. (The only reason Roar is on my iPod is because it was free from Pepsi.) The rest of the songs are just plain and boring. Dark Horse is the best song on the album with Unconditionally in 2nd and Roar in 3rd. The rest are just bad. Dark Horse is the only song I bought on iTunes though. I hope future singles/albums from Katy are better or she's loosing a fan that she's had from the beginning.
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    Juvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'ThisJuvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'This is How We Do' and 'Birthday'. It was clear that all Katy was thinking about when "writing" this album was number 1's and chart hits rather than her emotions.
    Considering she's almost 31, it's almost embarrassing.
    Expand

See all 248 User Reviews