Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 743 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 231
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    A perfect epic album by the new princess of Pop, the whole sound shows a lot of maturity Musically, is a breath of fresh air, an empoweringA perfect epic album by the new princess of Pop, the whole sound shows a lot of maturity Musically, is a breath of fresh air, an empowering album full of energy Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    The album is amazing every song has its own story. Plus the album is cheerful and inspiring its an album that you must listen to and the songsThe album is amazing every song has its own story. Plus the album is cheerful and inspiring its an album that you must listen to and the songs are really catchy Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    Some REALLY good songs. But same old tired sound. With all the wig burning promotion I was expecting a little something different. By TheSome REALLY good songs. But same old tired sound. With all the wig burning promotion I was expecting a little something different. By The Grace of God and Unconditionally stand out. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    for me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybefor me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybe she's having success now but if she doesn't change, she'll not be remembered and her music will be forgotten, but i have to say there's some good and catchy songs: International smile, dark horse, birthday Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    1
    well, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it'swell, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it's always the same and this just gets me bored Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    **** bad **** Bad **** VERY BAD bad S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T**** bad **** Bad **** VERY BAD bad S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T S H I T FOR EVIL S H I T S H I T Expand

See all 231 User Reviews