• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly Agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 343
  1. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Sem dúvidas, é o melhor álbum da Katy. Eu amo essa evolução dessa mulher, ela sabe fazer músicas dignas de animar, contagiar, unir, amar...Sem dúvidas, é o melhor álbum da Katy. Eu amo essa evolução dessa mulher, ela sabe fazer músicas dignas de animar, contagiar, unir, amar... multidões, ela é maravilhosa. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Such an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side ofSuch an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side of katy. love it! Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    I don't care if Prism is the sequel of the Katy of Teenage Dream but grow up; etc I really like this album, I have to say that the 40% of theI don't care if Prism is the sequel of the Katy of Teenage Dream but grow up; etc I really like this album, I have to say that the 40% of the álbum is completely amazing, Other 30% is good and the other 30% I think is the same of always, it's kind of boring. Some songs are so good, but others are boring and it is the same, I would prefer that she could change a little bit with her songs, but it's ok. The best tracks are Unconditionaly, This Is How We Do; Legendary Lovers is a stronger one, and some others. Tracks like This Moment, Love Me, Ghost. and others are very boring because they're the same sound of the whole album. I think she could experiment with more sounds. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    6
    Incredibly mature, but forcing maturity out was difficult for Perry, for the entire started pumped up and high but it ended terribly boringIncredibly mature, but forcing maturity out was difficult for Perry, for the entire started pumped up and high but it ended terribly boring like a calculus class. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2017
    4
    it wasit was okay........................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    0
    Horrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. JustHorrible sounding album, there's nothing more I can say. It's so bad I just wanted to skip all the songs. Just baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad Expand

See all 343 User Reviews