Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 759 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 233
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Such an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side ofSuch an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side of katy. love it! Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Brilliantly executed and the perfect follow up to pop-perfection Teenage Dream. Katy shows growth in her writing and vocal ability as well asBrilliantly executed and the perfect follow up to pop-perfection Teenage Dream. Katy shows growth in her writing and vocal ability as well as songwriting. Katy is no longer a guilty pleasure for me, but her songs are just as fun as many from her first two albums, while still retaining a degree of maturity. Very impressed. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    I thought when she buried her Teenage Dream was something she would be more focused on quality and be less commercial, but was worse than theI thought when she buried her Teenage Dream was something she would be more focused on quality and be less commercial, but was worse than the last, she had a tremendous fallen between the two, although they have good songs is a fully commercial album and after the ninth track all the songs sound the same which causes sleep.
    Highlights: Legendary Lovers and Walking On Air
    Lows: Double Rainbow and Dark Horse
    Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    for me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybefor me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybe she's having success now but if she doesn't change, she'll not be remembered and her music will be forgotten, but i have to say there's some good and catchy songs: International smile, dark horse, birthday Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    1
    well, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it'swell, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it's always the same and this just gets me bored Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    Juvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'ThisJuvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'This is How We Do' and 'Birthday'. It was clear that all Katy was thinking about when "writing" this album was number 1's and chart hits rather than her emotions.
    Considering she's almost 31, it's almost embarrassing.
    Expand

See all 233 User Reviews