Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 683 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 217
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    In a world where Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga and Rihanna keep repeating the same tired sex sells formula Katy does the opposite by creating an album that actually has substance. The second half of the album is definitely stronger than the first, is a shame people don't have time anymore to get into these type of songs and let them grow. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Katy is always surprising us, evolving from one of the boys. I love PRISM because it is simple and beautiful lyrics, and some even dancing. The album is amazing as it should be. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It
    Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    I was expecting so much more of this album, and I shouldn't had expected too much because it's good but it's just this, you know? The tracklist should be better organized, maybe this is the reason that the second part of the album so boring and I wanted to skip every single song. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    There isn't a doubt that Katy produces hits But she lacks artistic integrity This album supposedly is about transitioning into a different style for Katy but the result eventually is sonically predictable Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    I just can say that Prism is one of the most bored albums that I have listened. I just can say that the only song that I like is Legendary Lovers. I can't understand how successful Roar has been. Is a simply and childish song... Mi rate: 1 Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2014
    0
    I truly can not understand how this record was so successful, others prefer it. No music that pleased me, the only music that has some salvation is Dark Horse and Roar. Expand

See all 217 User Reviews