Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 606 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 188
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    loved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs but still stuff i can have fun listening to Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Melhor álbum da Katy Perry, mostrou uma grande evolução.
    Ja fui correndo comprar o meu nas duas versões, normal e deluxe. amei;
    Roar ja e um
    hino no Brasil, fez bastante sucesso.
    As cancões Dark Horse e Walking on Air chegaram ao topo das paradas Brasileiras.
    Sem duvida vai fazer bastante sucesso por aqui.
    Espero encontrar Katy na sua próxima tour pelo Brasil.
    Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It
    Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    'Prism' is a frustrating album for diehard Perry fans. It's more great, radio friendly pop music from Katy that definitely uplifts and inspires... but it's frustratingly vague in the context of how she initially described the project "darker, edgier, moody". Following her high profile divorce, and the opening teaser trailer of Perry burning her 'Teenage Dream' at a funeral, it was to be expected that there would be some darker content here, or at least an artistic direction she hadn't taken before. That direction is nowhere to be seen or heard though. 'ROAR', the billion times platinum #1 hit paved the way for 'Prism' on the Billboard charts.... and sadly the album is more of the lead single.... and less of the edgier artist. Tracks like 'International Smile', 'The is How we Do', 'Birthday', and 'Love Me' all sound like they could pull perfectly off of the 'Teenage Dream' era. They don't bring anything new to the table. That being said, they're all quite good.

    All in all for me, 'Prism' is an enjoyable listen... but ultimately just another Katy Perry album. There's nothing groundbreaking to be psyched about.

    'Double Rainbow', 'Walking on Air' and the introspective ballad 'By The Grace of God' are my highlights.
    Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    5
    What's good in the album gets overshadowed by mediocre and superficial tracks that were only created to satisfy bodies and ears for just a couple of minutes without letting any single hope of teaching or message. In other words, here we've got a lot to dance with, but few (or nothing) to think about or through. Unsubstantial. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    i don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, this is lame as hell! waited for her to better herself but she just sucks even more now! Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Katy Perry is doing the same thing. There's just a few good songs, but all of them sounds the same. Maybe she needs to try something new. This album sucks. Expand

See all 188 User Reviews