• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 831 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 251
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing !

    This Album is just awesome much ballad, very cheerful music songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Amazing !

    This Album is just awesome
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    loved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs butloved one of the boys and teenage dream, i think this is a great direction for katy as an artist. more substance to many of the songs but still stuff i can have fun listening to Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    I thought when she buried her Teenage Dream was something she would be more focused on quality and be less commercial, but was worse than theI thought when she buried her Teenage Dream was something she would be more focused on quality and be less commercial, but was worse than the last, she had a tremendous fallen between the two, although they have good songs is a fully commercial album and after the ninth track all the songs sound the same which causes sleep.
    Highlights: Legendary Lovers and Walking On Air
    Lows: Double Rainbow and Dark Horse
    Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    for me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybefor me, prism is like a "teenage dream 2" i don't see any change in the music, she's not evolving as an artist and that's not good, yes maybe she's having success now but if she doesn't change, she'll not be remembered and her music will be forgotten, but i have to say there's some good and catchy songs: International smile, dark horse, birthday Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    1
    well, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it'swell, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it's always the same and this just gets me bored Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2015
    0
    Vou chamar a Gaga e a Taylor para ensinar a doceira como faz álbum bom, odiei só salva uma ou duas músicas, incrivel com o Katy só faz músicasVou chamar a Gaga e a Taylor para ensinar a doceira como faz álbum bom, odiei só salva uma ou duas músicas, incrivel com o Katy só faz músicas comercias diferente da Lady Gaga que se arrisca e faz músicas boas não restam dúvidas que ela é a nova rainha do pop Expand

See all 251 User Reviews