Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 718 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 225
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Amazing album, so different from her previous one. Beautiful lyrics and a great sounding. You Should Listen to This. It may be the best albumAmazing album, so different from her previous one. Beautiful lyrics and a great sounding. You Should Listen to This. It may be the best album this year. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    The album is amazing every song has its own story. Plus the album is cheerful and inspiring its an album that you must listen to and the songsThe album is amazing every song has its own story. Plus the album is cheerful and inspiring its an album that you must listen to and the songs are really catchy Collapse
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    Some REALLY good songs. But same old tired sound. With all the wig burning promotion I was expecting a little something different. By TheSome REALLY good songs. But same old tired sound. With all the wig burning promotion I was expecting a little something different. By The Grace of God and Unconditionally stand out. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    I get what Katy was going for. She was going for that spiritual refreshing breeze of sound. She most certainly did it. But, like all KatyI get what Katy was going for. She was going for that spiritual refreshing breeze of sound. She most certainly did it. But, like all Katy albums. There are too many song attached to this album that just aren't supposed to be there (Birthday, This Is How We Do, International Smile). These are good songs, but they provide nothing more than a catchy beat. There a really good songs that provide the goal of the album (Legendary Lovers, Love Me, Unconditionally).

    Best songs-
    Legendary Lovers
    Love Me
    Dark Horse

    Worst song(s)-
    This Is How We Do
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    Teenage Dream Prism
    I was expecting more from Katy Perry in this album. Roar was a mediocre pop song. (The only reason Roar is on my iPod is
    Teenage Dream Prism
    I was expecting more from Katy Perry in this album. Roar was a mediocre pop song. (The only reason Roar is on my iPod is because it was free from Pepsi.) The rest of the songs are just plain and boring. Dark Horse is the best song on the album with Unconditionally in 2nd and Roar in 3rd. The rest are just bad. Dark Horse is the only song I bought on iTunes though. I hope future singles/albums from Katy are better or she's loosing a fan that she's had from the beginning.
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    Genérico, péssimo e superficial. Nada além do que uma cantora pré fabricada possa fazer. Dr. Luke mais uma vez estragando o que poderia ser umGenérico, péssimo e superficial. Nada além do que uma cantora pré fabricada possa fazer. Dr. Luke mais uma vez estragando o que poderia ser um álbum de qualidade ouvível. Expand

See all 225 User Reviews