Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 193
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Rainha dos singles que destruiu a carreira da cadeirante! Álbum muito bom, melodias boas e animadas, sinceramente tem grande chance de ser um dos melhores álbuns do ano! Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    水果这专跟上专比有明显的转型,但并不是彻底地“黑暗”。“ROAR”发行后很惊讶跟之前的她很不一样,虽然有人觉得不抓耳,不好听,但我觉得很耐听。听到全专后,“Legendary Lovers”、“Birthday”都很抓耳,放在专辑前两首就是想要听的人继续听下去,“Unconditionally”虽然不如前两首抓耳,但秀恩爱歌曲加上歌词版MV很感人,看完歌词版MV我就爱上了这首歌。这专虽然歌曲没有”Teenage Dream“出彩,但首首都很耐听。 Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It
    Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    I have to give credits to Katy's effort for being so mature in this album, but some of it is doesn't fit together. Half of the album have amazing lyrics with growing beats while the other half felt a little boring, but was save by their lyrics. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    5
    What's good in the album gets overshadowed by mediocre and superficial tracks that were only created to satisfy bodies and ears for just a couple of minutes without letting any single hope of teaching or message. In other words, here we've got a lot to dance with, but few (or nothing) to think about or through. Unsubstantial. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    i don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, this is lame as hell! waited for her to better herself but she just sucks even more now! Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2014
    0
    One of the worst albums my ears has had the displeasure of hearing. This album is horrific, bland, uninspired, cliche as **** & is step back from the other albums (though to be fair her earlier work sucks too). Don't buy this pile of feces. Expand

See all 193 User Reviews