Prism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 976 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 282
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Queen of Billboard come back with this album amazing. Roar, Dark Horse futures hits. No more, the best album from 2013. Best than Teenage Dream, she renove the music pop with this album. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2015
    10
    Katy Perry has come a long way. This is almost the raw emotion and fun of her life since her last album. Every song is either really personalKaty Perry has come a long way. This is almost the raw emotion and fun of her life since her last album. Every song is either really personal or just fun. Her aim was just to do what she wanted to do and not win awards and be #1. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    'Prism' is a frustrating album for diehard Perry fans. It's more great, radio friendly pop music from Katy that definitely uplifts and'Prism' is a frustrating album for diehard Perry fans. It's more great, radio friendly pop music from Katy that definitely uplifts and inspires... but it's frustratingly vague in the context of how she initially described the project "darker, edgier, moody". Following her high profile divorce, and the opening teaser trailer of Perry burning her 'Teenage Dream' at a funeral, it was to be expected that there would be some darker content here, or at least an artistic direction she hadn't taken before. That direction is nowhere to be seen or heard though. 'ROAR', the billion times platinum #1 hit paved the way for 'Prism' on the Billboard charts.... and sadly the album is more of the lead single.... and less of the edgier artist. Tracks like 'International Smile', 'The is How we Do', 'Birthday', and 'Love Me' all sound like they could pull perfectly off of the 'Teenage Dream' era. They don't bring anything new to the table. That being said, they're all quite good.

    All in all for me, 'Prism' is an enjoyable listen... but ultimately just another Katy Perry album. There's nothing groundbreaking to be psyched about.

    'Double Rainbow', 'Walking on Air' and the introspective ballad 'By The Grace of God' are my highlights.
    Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    Not impressed at all. Crude work. This album had to be different but it sounds recycled and boring. There are few songs that are worth to beNot impressed at all. Crude work. This album had to be different but it sounds recycled and boring. There are few songs that are worth to be heard. Katy needed to cook this album and give it more life if its idea is based on "light". Most recommended song is "Roar". Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    i don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, thisi don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, this is lame as hell! waited for her to better herself but she just sucks even more now! Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    0
    I was very sad to see how bad is pop music now days. The lyrics are so poor that you can't give a chance to the album, bad melodies et badI was very sad to see how bad is pop music now days. The lyrics are so poor that you can't give a chance to the album, bad melodies et bad lyrics, how sad is it.. The melodies are not even good for a cartoon jingle of the sunday morning.. Expand

See all 282 User Reviews