Prism - Katy Perry
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 778 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 238
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Such an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side ofSuch an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side of katy. love it! Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Brilliantly executed and the perfect follow up to pop-perfection Teenage Dream. Katy shows growth in her writing and vocal ability as well asBrilliantly executed and the perfect follow up to pop-perfection Teenage Dream. Katy shows growth in her writing and vocal ability as well as songwriting. Katy is no longer a guilty pleasure for me, but her songs are just as fun as many from her first two albums, while still retaining a degree of maturity. Very impressed. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2013
    6
    Katy Perry sheds her cotton candy scented look for for her fourth album "PRISM" (caps lock inspired by Lady Gaga). One may think she'd make aKaty Perry sheds her cotton candy scented look for for her fourth album "PRISM" (caps lock inspired by Lady Gaga). One may think she'd make a completely dark album given her divorce, but PRISM mainly focuses on the new man in her life and only offers a few 'darker' songs. I'd single out "Legendary Lovers" as the highlight of the album donning a subtle Easter inspiration, the song follows our tigress having sex or whatnot in the middle of a jungle. On the other hand, "This Is How We Do" and "International Smile" are god awful fillers. Overall, PRISM sounds fresh, strong and things-will-get-better-in-the-end Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    This album disappoints me greatly and I have been a die-hard fan. I like some of it, but I still feel frustrated. It lacks the "escapism" ofThis album disappoints me greatly and I have been a die-hard fan. I like some of it, but I still feel frustrated. It lacks the "escapism" of Teenage Dream. In ET and California Gurls the videos are actually portrayed on an entirely different world--not earth! The fake hair, colors, personas, and alternate reality Perry created was escapism at its best and brought me joy. I could go to "Katy Perry Land" for a while where clothing is optional on cotton candy clouds and everything is candy coated, colorful, magical and fun. Sexy, beautiful aliens fell from the sky. It was SO special.

    Prism has ok songs, but it doesn't transport me anywhere and that is why it feels unfulfilling and bland. It is just catchy pop songs, with a pop star who is very familiar, and that makes it not so special. I'm ok with her "maturing", and trying out different sounds and images, but I still want to be transported SOMEWHERE (more interesting than in my car listening to the radio, or dancing in a club to another familiar beat).

    Burning the blue wig also made me sad. I feel betrayed. Candyland is gone. She set it on fire and burned it. I would prefer to not live in a world where I never see Katy Perry in a blue wig again. :(

    You don't have to destroy the old (that we all loved) in order to move on with something new. They are not mutually exclusive.
    Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    1
    well, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it'swell, everything she said gone wrong....she said this one would be darkest but i didn't really see anything differente about her music..it's always the same and this just gets me bored Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    Juvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'ThisJuvenile songs screeched in a pitchy voice. Katy claimed this would be her darkest album yet, she still insists on childish songs like 'This is How We Do' and 'Birthday'. It was clear that all Katy was thinking about when "writing" this album was number 1's and chart hits rather than her emotions.
    Considering she's almost 31, it's almost embarrassing.
    Expand

See all 238 User Reviews