Prism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly, agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 341
  1. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    "amazing incredible brilliant never the same totally unique" -me about PRISM
    katy perry DELIVERS when it comes to release pop songs, thats
    "amazing incredible brilliant never the same totally unique" -me about PRISM
    katy perry DELIVERS when it comes to release pop songs, thats why she is one of the best pop singers of our generation...duhh. yes im writing it on 2017 its been 4 years since prism was out for the first time and i still listen to it.... its just so timeless. and i think that prism is very underrated, it definitely should've sold more and have better critics
    Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Such an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side ofSuch an eclectic mix of songs contemplative ballads and mid tempos mixed with some fun romps. such a fun album and shows a whole new side of katy. love it! Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    I don't care if Prism is the sequel of the Katy of Teenage Dream but grow up; etc I really like this album, I have to say that the 40% of theI don't care if Prism is the sequel of the Katy of Teenage Dream but grow up; etc I really like this album, I have to say that the 40% of the álbum is completely amazing, Other 30% is good and the other 30% I think is the same of always, it's kind of boring. Some songs are so good, but others are boring and it is the same, I would prefer that she could change a little bit with her songs, but it's ok. The best tracks are Unconditionaly, This Is How We Do; Legendary Lovers is a stronger one, and some others. Tracks like This Moment, Love Me, Ghost. and others are very boring because they're the same sound of the whole album. I think she could experiment with more sounds. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    I was expecting so much more of this album, and I shouldn't had expected too much because it's good but it's just this, you know? TheI was expecting so much more of this album, and I shouldn't had expected too much because it's good but it's just this, you know? The tracklist should be better organized, maybe this is the reason that the second part of the album so boring and I wanted to skip every single song. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2017
    4
    Although she calls herself a singer-songwriter, she works closely with a team of writer-producers marshalled by Max Martin, the Swedish superAlthough she calls herself a singer-songwriter, she works closely with a team of writer-producers marshalled by Max Martin, the Swedish super producer who helped forge the careers of Britney Spears, Pink and Taylor Swift. Perry has all the vocal chops you might expect from a church raised singer but her USP has been her over-the-top videos built around a brazenly saucy image, establishing her as a sexy but less provocative rival to Lady Gaga. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2015
    0
    It lacks life and meaning. A generic album that is only for money making schemes. Abosolutey no art and life to the songwriting. The songsIt lacks life and meaning. A generic album that is only for money making schemes. Abosolutey no art and life to the songwriting. The songs might be catchy but it is just one of those catchy songs that really don't make sense. Double Rainbow is the only standout to this horrible compilation. But this album is not the worst out of the rest of Perry's lackluster music Expand

See all 341 User Reviews