Prism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 284
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Once again katy perry had created a good records
    Even if the album wasn't at the price of 0.99 cent(born this way)
    It climbed to the heart
    Once again katy perry had created a good records
    Even if the album wasn't at the price of 0.99 cent(born this way)
    It climbed to the heart of many without needing to please our wallets
    Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2015
    10
    Katy Perry has come a long way. This is almost the raw emotion and fun of her life since her last album. Every song is either really personalKaty Perry has come a long way. This is almost the raw emotion and fun of her life since her last album. Every song is either really personal or just fun. Her aim was just to do what she wanted to do and not win awards and be #1. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    For the first time we hear a more mature beat coming from katy perry.
    PRISM actually shows more mature, and the first step to a career
    For the first time we hear a more mature beat coming from katy perry.
    PRISM actually shows more mature, and the first step to a career outside the field of comfort, if Katy administer it correctly, the charts being the least important.
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    This album disappoints me greatly and I have been a die-hard fan. I like some of it, but I still feel frustrated. It lacks the "escapism" ofThis album disappoints me greatly and I have been a die-hard fan. I like some of it, but I still feel frustrated. It lacks the "escapism" of Teenage Dream. In ET and California Gurls the videos are actually portrayed on an entirely different world--not earth! The fake hair, colors, personas, and alternate reality Perry created was escapism at its best and brought me joy. I could go to "Katy Perry Land" for a while where clothing is optional on cotton candy clouds and everything is candy coated, colorful, magical and fun. Sexy, beautiful aliens fell from the sky. It was SO special.

    Prism has ok songs, but it doesn't transport me anywhere and that is why it feels unfulfilling and bland. It is just catchy pop songs, with a pop star who is very familiar, and that makes it not so special. I'm ok with her "maturing", and trying out different sounds and images, but I still want to be transported SOMEWHERE (more interesting than in my car listening to the radio, or dancing in a club to another familiar beat).

    Burning the blue wig also made me sad. I feel betrayed. Candyland is gone. She set it on fire and burned it. I would prefer to not live in a world where I never see Katy Perry in a blue wig again. :(

    You don't have to destroy the old (that we all loved) in order to move on with something new. They are not mutually exclusive.
    Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    i don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, thisi don't know why, but listening to this makes me angry1 it''s boring and so many ballads, i was over it after 4 songs! such a let down, this is lame as hell! waited for her to better herself but she just sucks even more now! Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    0
    I was very sad to see how bad is pop music now days. The lyrics are so poor that you can't give a chance to the album, bad melodies et badI was very sad to see how bad is pop music now days. The lyrics are so poor that you can't give a chance to the album, bad melodies et bad lyrics, how sad is it.. The melodies are not even good for a cartoon jingle of the sunday morning.. Expand

See all 284 User Reviews