Prism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Prism Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the pop singer includes production from Dr. Luke, Greg Kurstin, Max Martin, StarGate, and Greg Wells.
Buy On

Top Track

Roar
I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath Scared to rock the boat and make a mess So I sat quietly, agreed politely I guess that I forgot I had a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    She sounds like a woman, and an artist, who’s finally found herself.
  2. 83
    Katy Perry aims to please. But now she grasps that she's making the mainstream, not just swimming in it.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It doesn’t require the patience or emotional/intellectual involvement that albums I typically listen to require. The cool thing, though, is that it does have quite a bit of redeeming value.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    She largely sticks to her tried-and-true pop template, each song tailor-made for mass consumption with mixed results.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    58
    As a whole, Prism is forgettable. It’s neither good nor bad, and it’s not inspirational enough to set anyone on fire who’s not already an 11-year-old girl, closeted teen boy, or existing Perry fanatic.
  6. An album with too many cooks in the kitchen and not enough good songs to recommend.
  7. Self-help and sauce remain the remit, which might have been less tiring if “Roar”, “Walking on Air” and “This Moment” offered forms fresher than, respectively, the robo-stutter of Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, weary Italo-house pianos and strenuous stadium bluster to enliven their empowerment-speak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 303
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    When Katy said "i think my next CD is so dark" I think OMG i dont know but the final product is really awsome, every song is interestingWhen Katy said "i think my next CD is so dark" I think OMG i dont know but the final product is really awsome, every song is interesting Teenage dream is funny but this is so spiritual like the song, Unconditional show every type of love, brothers love, dad-son love, homo love, couple love is so beautiful cause the real love is unconditional, Love me and Roar is i need love me first and then i probably ready to love someone else, very powerful Prism. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect. MUCH BETTER THAN TRASHPOP BY LADY CRAPGA. Katy is a real artist that knows what we want to hear. I'm so glad that sheThis album is perfect. MUCH BETTER THAN TRASHPOP BY LADY CRAPGA. Katy is a real artist that knows what we want to hear. I'm so glad that she made this perfect album! Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy. music highlights It
    much ballad, very cheerful music
    songs of self control and music to make it clear that you send.
    Congratulations katy.
    music highlights
    It Takes Two, and Love Me Roar course
    Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    Prism functions more as a collection of songs than as a cohesive album, which turns out to be somewhat satisfying and irritating at the samePrism functions more as a collection of songs than as a cohesive album, which turns out to be somewhat satisfying and irritating at the same time. As a whole it's pretty disjointed, but that's not to say there aren't some fantastic songs on this album. The standout tracks in my opinion are Roar, Legendary Lovers, Walking on Air, This Is How We Do, International Smile, By The Grace of God, Spiritual, and Choose Your Battles. Most of the other songs are pretty good too, and some are just duds, namely Unconditionally, Love Me, and This Moment.

    Prism definitely isn't the masterpiece that was Teenage Dream, but it still features a nice collection of diverse, catchy, and memorable pop songs that is more or less a continuation of her winning formula from her last album.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    5
    I love how the music in the album is delivered but failed to make an impression as an album. Prism is a good album for charting singles,it'sI love how the music in the album is delivered but failed to make an impression as an album. Prism is a good album for charting singles,it's mainstream and radio-friendly to all listener but as a whole album it failed to blend his ideas and concept. She said that the album will "darker" yet she failed to express it though, the songs sounds the same in a lot of factor. Still a good album to listen but not worth buying. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2014
    3
    It's generally just a forgettable album. ZZZZ... I had to skip a couple of songs because they were jsut unbearable. There are a few decentIt's generally just a forgettable album. ZZZZ... I had to skip a couple of songs because they were jsut unbearable. There are a few decent songs, and she has a good voice, but it was just meh. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2015
    0
    Vou chamar a Gaga e a Taylor para ensinar a doceira como faz álbum bom, odiei só salva uma ou duas músicas, incrivel com o Katy só faz músicasVou chamar a Gaga e a Taylor para ensinar a doceira como faz álbum bom, odiei só salva uma ou duas músicas, incrivel com o Katy só faz músicas comercias diferente da Lady Gaga que se arrisca e faz músicas boas não restam dúvidas que ela é a nova rainha do pop Expand

See all 303 User Reviews