Progress - Take That
Progress Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British boyband welcomes Robbie Williams back to the group on its sixth album.
  • Record Label: Polydor
  • Genre(s): Britpop, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Dance-Pop, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    Rushes to the head aside, Progress is a triumph musically, conceptually, personally. [Dec 2010, p.100]
  2. Dec 16, 2010
    Epic, exciting, strange and unexpected, it's exactly what pop needed, but surely not quite what Gary Barlow had in mind.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    Things start to slow down toward the end of Progress, when Mark Owen, Howard Donald, Jason Orange, and Barlow get their own track to write--each revert to type, Barlow stultifyingly so on the sticky "Eight Letters"--but for seven tracks, Progress is the hippest and best music Take That has ever made.
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    The real surprise is that this unexpected step from comfy balladry to something more interesting sounds quite natural – the only element that doesn't fit is the free-floatingly doomy lyrics, which foretell unspecified personal and global calamities.
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    At its best, with the apocalyptic stomp of "SOS" and the dreamy tones of "Pretty Things," it's clear Progress is by far the smartest record that Barlow and company have put their name to.
  6. 70
    There is a tail-off in quality at the end, but every track still has a chorus that Swedish song factories would sell their grannies for and, most of all, there's a sense that Take That are genuinely challenging themselves here.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    It might not be the explosion many were hoping for, but Progress sees Take That exploring and experimenting.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    Take That manages to get better with each new album and with Robbie Williams back into the fold, they sound even better. Progress is different from their other albums in that it ventures out into new directions, experimenting with the re-emerging electronica sound that is becoming increasingly popular. Standout songs include "The Flood", "SOS", "Kids", and "Affirmation". This album is top-notch not only because of the melodies but also because of the writing, which is lyrical and at times poetic. This is what pop should be! Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2010
    Take That's Progress is their best album to date. Gary, Mark, Jason and Howard have all unleashed their inner Robbie. But, be warned, it is not the Williams of Angels and Let Me Entertain You, itâ Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    It kinda took me by surprise to be confronted with an ambitus, determined record suggesting one of the best pop albums of 2010. It ensures the capability of expanding the band's fans and the promise of a greater Take That following album. Expand