Proof of Youth

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2007
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Urb
    60
    Whether live or memorex, it's really hard to tell the difference between the two, especially on excellent if-it-ain't-broke tracks like 'Fake ID' and 'Doing it Right.' [Sep/Oct 2007, p.130]
  2. It may be exactly what fans have been waiting for, but you have to wonder how long the band can keep using the same templates.
  3. Mojo
    60
    The tune count is down and it's sometimes a little too Mr. Motivator, but these sonic smiles can still be infectious. [Oct 2007, p.106]
  4. Q Magazine
    60
    Even at just over 30 minutes, there's a feeling they're running short on new ideas. [Oct 2007, p.98]
  5. On an album where even the guest stars feel like samples worn out from repeated play--the back cover announces the song 'Flashlight Fight (Featuring Chuck D)'--the few innovative tracks offer hope that the Go! Team won't stagnate by its third outing.
  6. Vibe
    40
    While there's something joyful in the cacophony, the songs remain window dressing on the spectacle. [Oct 2007, p.94]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    I actually like this movie, the only one major issue I have with it is its name. If it were up to me I would have called it "Around Great Youth Power"
  2. RogerS.
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    I think everyone rate's The Go Team a bit too high. The only really good songs are the first and second ones. I found some of Go Team I think everyone rate's The Go Team a bit too high. The only really good songs are the first and second ones. I found some of Go Team hard to listen too. The best song was, "Doing it Right" which was very good and "Grip like a Vice". The only problem is it sounds like a Gap commercial more than a DIY thing. I suppose Proof Of Youth is like sushi an acquired taste. Go Team are still cool but this is not something everyone is going to like. It does sound a bit like LCD soundsystem or The Battles for a new generation sick and tired of rap and grunge and for that reason I liked it. Don't believe the hype. It's not very long either. Full Review »
  3. DanB.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. This band is without peer or precedent.