Proof of Youth

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    I actually like this movie, the only one major issue I have with it is its name. If it were up to me I would have called it "Around Great Youth Power"
  2. RogerS.
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    I think everyone rate's The Go Team a bit too high. The only really good songs are the first and second ones. I found some of Go Team hard to listen too. The best song was, "Doing it Right" which was very good and "Grip like a Vice". The only problem is it sounds like a Gap commercial more than a DIY thing. I suppose Proof Of Youth is like sushi an acquired taste. Go Team are still I think everyone rate's The Go Team a bit too high. The only really good songs are the first and second ones. I found some of Go Team hard to listen too. The best song was, "Doing it Right" which was very good and "Grip like a Vice". The only problem is it sounds like a Gap commercial more than a DIY thing. I suppose Proof Of Youth is like sushi an acquired taste. Go Team are still cool but this is not something everyone is going to like. It does sound a bit like LCD soundsystem or The Battles for a new generation sick and tired of rap and grunge and for that reason I liked it. Don't believe the hype. It's not very long either. Expand
  3. DanB.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. This band is without peer or precedent.
  4. Chris
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    I can't help but moving when I listen to their music. Likewise, I can't help but smile at the same time. Just great fun music. Definitely in my top 10 this year.
  5. LukeC
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    This album is simply immense. It starts where "Thunder, Lightning, Strike" left off - and in no way is that a bad thing. 'Keys To The City' is one of the most danceable songs I've heard in yonks and to all the people who say they haven't progressed, what do you want them to do? Throw in the kitchen sink? To be honest, they probably could and this would still be pretty This album is simply immense. It starts where "Thunder, Lightning, Strike" left off - and in no way is that a bad thing. 'Keys To The City' is one of the most danceable songs I've heard in yonks and to all the people who say they haven't progressed, what do you want them to do? Throw in the kitchen sink? To be honest, they probably could and this would still be pretty unbelivable. Expand
  6. AndréP
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    album of the year
  7. StephaneB.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    The Go! Team make the best feel-good-get-up-and-move music around. So what if Proof of Youth isn't a radical departure from Thunder, Lightning, Strike? Kudos to the band to sticking to what they do best... making sounds that energize the body and soul!
  8. lemiwinkss.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    the real deal, enjoy! - f vibe, hip hop is ded
  9. DW
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Fans of their first record won't be disappointed, and that's saying quite a lot! "Thunder, Lightning Strike" was incredible, and "Proof Of Youth" compares very favorably. It's music that is both exciting and relaxing, modern yet retro. There's not a weak track on the album. even the 3 bonus songs are good. (The remix of "Grip Like A Vice" is unexceptional.) I Fans of their first record won't be disappointed, and that's saying quite a lot! "Thunder, Lightning Strike" was incredible, and "Proof Of Youth" compares very favorably. It's music that is both exciting and relaxing, modern yet retro. There's not a weak track on the album. even the 3 bonus songs are good. (The remix of "Grip Like A Vice" is unexceptional.) I wouldn't give a 10 rating if I didn't think it was deserved, but the more I thought about it, I just couldn't justify giving it a lower score! Best album of 2007 so far. Expand
  10. calebx
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    they're not reinventing the wheel here but damn this records a lot of fun.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Proof of Youth is a pretty spectacular continuation of some of the most exciting, innovative sounds around.
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    The Go! Team's folluow-up is densely packed enough to make Phil Spector's Wall feel like a screen door. [Oct 2007, p.160]
  3. The Go! Team are clearly committed to the lo-fi, DIY aesthetic, but with songs as strong as these it’s rather a shame they didn’t apply a little depth and finesse to their production.