User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Funny, skillful, and it stays with you long after each listen. I could see how the meek reviewers might be insulted by some of the more pointed insults but this album is never that damaging (although people have become startling sensitive). Whatever even if you ignore that its one of the best albums I've listened to in a bit. Listen to it, or don't.
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    It's kind of fun and interesting, but you see a metascore in the 90's and expect one of the best albums of the year, and this album is just okay. Obviously all the critics give high marks for Cooder's critique of society, but singing about corruption and the government doesn't make it good music, and the actual music on this album is not great. It is creative and unique, changing styles every song with a genuine sound, but as far as a music album goes, it is mediocre, nothing more. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Somehow, I think Ry is laughing his ass off! This is nothing like an album of the year. I think that's the point. Every song covers a different musical genre. The lyrics are silly and mostly the musing and ranting and griping of an old man. It rings so true of an aging America. And isn't that what an album is supposed to do? ; give you a thought slant? I find this a truly genius example of American song writing.
    I don't find any socialism in carrying a .44. "Lord Tell Me Why" ought to raise a ruckus. "Dreamer" is truly a parody of pick-up ineptness. "Simple Tools" might even make Jimmy Buffett ...shut up!
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Truly a wonderful album. If you hard time dealing with leftist politics in your music, I recommend you suck it up. This is an amazing working class masterpiece, and wonderful showpiece of Ry Cooder's skills.
  5. Oct 28, 2011
    2
    While Cooder's skills as a musician are thrillingâ
  6. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    Profoundly overrated. Understandably. From the first listen, one instinctively feels compelled to root for this immensely gifted, admirably weathered, and lovably clever curmudgeon. But with each passing track the albums themes begin to reveal age, or rather, rust that the listener may wish he could ignore. The perils of trusting politicians can only be reiterated so many times before they seem almost childish. Eventually, the uncomfortable notion that musicians may move us but they have repeatedly proven themselves, by and large, to be remarkably ignorant. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down could have tremendous cathartic power for this who are aware of history and its knack for repeating itself. For those who are willing, this is a good place to start an education.
  2. This doesn't rock, and it shouldn't. But it rollicks, skanks, and two-steps just fine.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down (Nonesuch/Perro Verde) ranks not only among his very best releases, but among the best socio-political albums ever made.