Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Grammy-award winning musician returns with a concept album about corruption in America.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 100
    The humour is often savage--a sprightly accordion heralds a story of damaged troops--but Cooder's aim is true. He's become a Woody Guthrie for our times.
  2. 100
    The sound of the album is deliberately vibrant and varied.
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    100
    In the transition from imitator to originator, the old boy has made one of his best albums ever. [Oct 2011, p.83]
  4. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    This is about as good and sustained a riposte to the grubby, grabbing times we live in as any artist has mustered, which makes it essential listening.
  5. Sep 1, 2011
    80
    Although Pull Up Some Dust... delves deep into both North and South American musical history and moves rapidly from style to style, there is scant scope for quibbling over Cooder's honesty or authenticity.
  6. 80
    The famed slide guitarist and world music enthusiast releases his most incisive and sardonic political album.
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down could have tremendous cathartic power for this who are aware of history and its knack for repeating itself. For those who are willing, this is a good place to start an education.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Funny, skillful, and it stays with you long after each listen. I could see how the meek reviewers might be insulted by some of the more pointed insults but this album is never that damaging (although people have become startling sensitive). Whatever even if you ignore that its one of the best albums I've listened to in a bit. Listen to it, or don't. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Somehow, I think Ry is laughing his ass off! This is nothing like an album of the year. I think that's the point. Every song covers a different musical genre. The lyrics are silly and mostly the musing and ranting and griping of an old man. It rings so true of an aging America. And isn't that what an album is supposed to do? ; give you a thought slant? I find this a truly genius example of American song writing.
    I don't find any socialism in carrying a .44. "Lord Tell Me Why" ought to raise a ruckus. "Dreamer" is truly a parody of pick-up ineptness. "Simple Tools" might even make Jimmy Buffett ...shut up!
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Truly a wonderful album. If you hard time dealing with leftist politics in your music, I recommend you suck it up. This is an amazing working class masterpiece, and wonderful showpiece of Ry Cooder's skills. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    It's kind of fun and interesting, but you see a metascore in the 90's and expect one of the best albums of the year, and this album is just okay. Obviously all the critics give high marks for Cooder's critique of society, but singing about corruption and the government doesn't make it good music, and the actual music on this album is not great. It is creative and unique, changing styles every song with a genuine sound, but as far as a music album goes, it is mediocre, nothing more. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    Profoundly overrated. Understandably. From the first listen, one instinctively feels compelled to root for this immensely gifted, admirably weathered, and lovably clever curmudgeon. But with each passing track the albums themes begin to reveal age, or rather, rust that the listener may wish he could ignore. The perils of trusting politicians can only be reiterated so many times before they seem almost childish. Eventually, the uncomfortable notion that musicians may move us but they have repeatedly proven themselves, by and large, to be remarkably ignorant. Collapse
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    2
    While Cooder's skills as a musician are thrillingâ

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.