User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kc
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    i love the reversed non commercial version so f-ing much every song is unbelievable. maybe not 1 or 2
  2. EricC
    Jul 30, 2007
    3
    Avey was really hoping that his risky "experiment" to play the record backwards would impress Collective fans. Unfortunately, it's not cool to listen to, and turns out being a poor effort, though I hear it was a pretty solid album before they ruined it. In the end, it's too bad he didn't decide to follow in the path of Panda, who just made amazing music and let his fans Avey was really hoping that his risky "experiment" to play the record backwards would impress Collective fans. Unfortunately, it's not cool to listen to, and turns out being a poor effort, though I hear it was a pretty solid album before they ruined it. In the end, it's too bad he didn't decide to follow in the path of Panda, who just made amazing music and let his fans listen to it as it should be listened to. Expand
  3. WarrenS
    May 2, 2007
    9
    Don't approach the album intellectually! People who fetishise music won't get it, the intention was for it to make no sense to the reasonable part of your brain; a way of stripping music of its pretensions and fetishistic glamour. There's more going on here than what can be written in a review.
  4. Ry'anneH.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I've been listening to the "corrected" version, as well as the original, on repeat for three days and I am enamored. "Opis Helpus" is the clear standout, both forwards and backwards. Transcendent, gorgeous, jaw-dropping.
  5. mattk
    May 2, 2007
    9
    i just like how it sounds. pretty damn weird and pretty damn good too.
  6. hafnarbakki
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I highly recommend Pitchfork to reverse their name into Krofhctip and buy all the rest of the Pullhair Rubeye albums and give them away to all Animal Collective fans for free.
  7. rodrigor
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Did just what the Pitchfork reviewer said. I "fixed" it and reversed the songs. I also slowed "sasong" and it sounds great. I read somewhere than Avey and Kria were not happy with fans reversing the album, but lets face it, the original is pretentious and boring... the fixed one is a charming, beautiful album, par to Panda Bear's Person Pitch, and one of the year's best.
  8. TheDude
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    On first listen, knowing that the album had been reversed I didn't quite know what to think. I rushed to find reverse versions of the album's tracks and quickly (and prematurely) made up my mind: only the noncommercial version was worth hearing. But after listening to that version several times I went back, deciding to give the couple's debut another shot. A few hardcore AC On first listen, knowing that the album had been reversed I didn't quite know what to think. I rushed to find reverse versions of the album's tracks and quickly (and prematurely) made up my mind: only the noncommercial version was worth hearing. But after listening to that version several times I went back, deciding to give the couple's debut another shot. A few hardcore AC fans had highly recommended the album and I figured it deserved a fair listen. What did I learn? This album grows on a person. I now understand why the couple decided to release the version they did. It is beautiful and innovative. Truly a great record. Expand
  9. Peter
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Sometimes I like to look at Metacritic's all-time worst albums list and find Pullhair Rubeye's spot on that list and think to myself, "every single one of the albums above this one sound worse than an album played backwards," and then I grin, and briefly feel bad for K-Fed.
  10. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    People seem to think that Avey and Kria made the decision on reversing the songs because they thought it would be cool and impressive but it wasnt that at all. They reversed the songs because they thought it sounded good, and went well with the songs and what they were trying to do with the album. they weren't trying to be cool or anything like that. İt was the way they expressed theirPeople seem to think that Avey and Kria made the decision on reversing the songs because they thought it would be cool and impressive but it wasnt that at all. They reversed the songs because they thought it sounded good, and went well with the songs and what they were trying to do with the album. they weren't trying to be cool or anything like that. İt was the way they expressed their arrt i know this because first of all thats what they said and being a long time Collective fan i know these guys are very geniune with their work .

    That being said the songs are great when re-reversed and the reversed versions also sound pretty good. I feel like most of the hate is coming from people who thought they were just being pretentious, or trying to give the listener a challenge in the wrong way but all they were doing is making art, and pretty great art at that.

    There is some real original work here even from AC. I am sad that they broke up and wont be making more collaborations because when you look at the songs you can definitely hear a defining sound, its sad to see it go to waste. Also if the songs were released in their original way (without reverse and speeding up in some songs) it would definitely get a way higher metascore.
    Expand
  11. May 28, 2015
    1
    This album is trash city. Once the novelty of reversed songs wears off this album becomes nothing more than annoying. However, I will admit that it is cool how the beat is still heard even when played backwards, this still only is a novelty, as an album it is too incoherent to be enjoyable.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. It's like they rented studio time in the red room from Twin Peaks.
  2. Pullhair Rubeye isn’t awful, but it could’ve been great.
  3. Pullhair Rubeye is significant not because of its aesthetic and non-conceptual disposition, but also for its dedication to instinct and brave novelty (in the best sense of the word).