• Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Jul 23, 2013
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    When I first listened to this album, I really didn't like it. However, after listening to it again, I now realize that it is probably Gogol Bordello's best album yet. It tries out a very different style of music that the band hasn't used before and it really makes this album something special. It's the same ol' Gogol Bordello, with a really beautiful new coat of paint.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    En un comienzo imaginé que Pura Vida Conspiracy se trataba de un Súper Taranta! II, pero al avanzar en las canciones fuí encontrando elementos nuevos que hacen de éste álbum una faceta diferente de Gogol Bordello. La escucha es entretenida, amena, el aire gitano nunca se pierde, pero juegan con nuevas fusiones. Es un álbum que vale la pena.
  3. May 23, 2017
    7
    Probably Gogol Bordello's most accessible album. It's a bit of a departure from the usual gipsy punk style, which started to show it's head before in Transcontinental Hustle, into a more Latin American sound, The question is which do you prefer. For me honestly I miss the old sound of the band, though it's still slightly present and the same level of energy is there, but I just found PuraProbably Gogol Bordello's most accessible album. It's a bit of a departure from the usual gipsy punk style, which started to show it's head before in Transcontinental Hustle, into a more Latin American sound, The question is which do you prefer. For me honestly I miss the old sound of the band, though it's still slightly present and the same level of energy is there, but I just found Pura Vida Conspiracy to be a bit too conventional, less iinteresting. It's still a pretty good album that gets me pumped and dancing, but I prefer their earlier stuff. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    60
    The ferocity in their delivery and the sheer sweep of their eager entreaties create an anthemic exposition, resulting in a series of songs that make it impossible to sit still.
  2. Under The Radar
    Aug 28, 2013
    60
    The party is at its peak. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.130]
  3. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Their sixth learns from those mistakes [on their fifth album], sounding rougher, tougher and altogether more like the raucous joy of their live shows. [Sep 2013, p.102]