User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 372 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 372

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs are catchy, I do not get tired of hearing.
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    There shouldn't have to be reviews written for this album. Ella Yelich O'Connor, better known as Lorde, cranks out 10 masterpieces that show no weakness and will please the ears of pop music listeners. Her appeal is wide-ranging and intriguing.

    The overall theme of the album is minimalist, and the catchy alt-pop and tremendous songwriting displayed on the record is indicative of the
    There shouldn't have to be reviews written for this album. Ella Yelich O'Connor, better known as Lorde, cranks out 10 masterpieces that show no weakness and will please the ears of pop music listeners. Her appeal is wide-ranging and intriguing.

    The overall theme of the album is minimalist, and the catchy alt-pop and tremendous songwriting displayed on the record is indicative of the potential Joel Little and Lorde have working together. Lorde's lyrics are thoughtful, mature, pleasing, and clever. Little's production fits the themes of the songs very well, and though he isn't Stargate when it comes to the beats department, he isn't DJ Mustard either. His production is good across the board.

    Every track stands out in its own way, but if I had to pick a few to listen to:

    Royals
    Team
    Tennis Court
    Bravado
    Ribs

    Yeah, I would have to pick half the album.

    I've already talked about the songwriting, but Lorde's voice is gold. She cruises through songs smoothly while displaying an impressive lower range that's both comforting and haunting at the same time.

    100% a must buy. The fact that she's 16 is just the icing on one of the sweetest cakes of 2013.
    Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This album is so refreshing amongst all the other pop albums out today. Lorde adds so much depth to already unique beats through her lyrics. It is easy to listen to the album multiple times.
  4. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Pure Heroine is a display of 10 beautifully written and performed tracks; it is an artistic showcase of pure talent that you would not expect from a 16 year old. It is almost like as if Lorde invented a new sound, which is a major stand-out from other mainstream artists. Stand-outs are Royals (undoubtedly) and Tennis Court. Massive congratulations to Lorde for her recent success.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I agree almost word for word with the pitchfork review, but I think they left out one important fact...it is absolutely impossible to stop listening to this album. My favorite albums of the last five years are "This is happening" and "It's Blitz." I don't think Lorde has quite yet achieved the sophistication of James Murphey's lyrics and production, but man, for pure addictive music, "PureI agree almost word for word with the pitchfork review, but I think they left out one important fact...it is absolutely impossible to stop listening to this album. My favorite albums of the last five years are "This is happening" and "It's Blitz." I don't think Lorde has quite yet achieved the sophistication of James Murphey's lyrics and production, but man, for pure addictive music, "Pure Heroine" is absolutely unmatched. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    truly a tremendous album! every song is so well produced and catchy and the lyrics are amazing. no reason not to buy this absolute gem. all 10 songs are awesome.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This album is so good it is scary. From her anti-prom queen and anti-mainstream agendas to the simple yet very effective production this album is a masterpiece. Just by listening to it I feel like I know her, I can picture her town the characters in her lyrics very easily. And last but not least her vocals and very catchy choruses. This album shall be on a loop for a very longtime.
  8. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Really really good....Almost surpassed my expectations.My friend suggested this album to me and I am grateful to him for it. The song 'Royals' is the most catchy song of the whole album. The other songs are also very good. Hats off to Lorde!!!
  9. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    A really, really new sound on the global music industry, Lorde is bringing us a really new level to alternative music (it's not pretty beat-y). The minimalistic sound that the album had may be a great choice for relaxing your minds. Especially per tracks:

    'Tennis Court' Pretty much pop and pretty much skater swag. '400 Lux' Unusual 'Royals' Only beats, bass, and Lorde 'Ribs'
    A really, really new sound on the global music industry, Lorde is bringing us a really new level to alternative music (it's not pretty beat-y). The minimalistic sound that the album had may be a great choice for relaxing your minds. Especially per tracks:

    'Tennis Court' Pretty much pop and pretty much skater swag.
    '400 Lux' Unusual
    'Royals' Only beats, bass, and Lorde
    'Ribs' Sweet night techno-minimal.
    'Buzzcut Season' A perfect firefly pop.
    'Team' Kinda ironic, because the songs uses handclaps and the lyrics contain "anti-handclap'
    'Glory and Gore' Mini-rock.
    'Still Sane' Lana Del Rey
    'White Teeth Teens' Reminds me of Spain and Jake Bugg.
    'A World Alone' Next potential single.

    for the next chapter, it's pretty sweet if Lorde and Joel Little collaborate again.
    Expand
  10. May 31, 2014
    10
    "Pure Heroine" by Lorde is just a fantastic album. Every song on this album is very relatable and songs that you can sing-along to, and Lorde's voice is just captivating.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This album is probably the best of the year. Lorde is in a genre of her own and I don't think that she can be compared to any other artist out there today.
  12. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    I can't believe i didn't hear this album until today.

    Very smart lyrics. The minimalist music gives room for Lorde to showcase her singing, which is a pleasure to the ears. Not to mention that, in its own right, the music itself is pretty gorgeous.

    Of course, some tracks are forgettable. But the majority here is amazing tracks. This is easily one of the best albums released in 2013.
  13. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Despite her only 16 or 17 years old, Lorde has shown a piece of brilliant creativity. She could easily be the beginning of a new generation of adolescents that go directly to the core of the real music. The New Zeland girl doesn't hide her real desires about a change of a world full of "crystal, maybach, jet planes, islands or tigers on a gold leash". Sincere and genuine, there's no doubtDespite her only 16 or 17 years old, Lorde has shown a piece of brilliant creativity. She could easily be the beginning of a new generation of adolescents that go directly to the core of the real music. The New Zeland girl doesn't hide her real desires about a change of a world full of "crystal, maybach, jet planes, islands or tigers on a gold leash". Sincere and genuine, there's no doubt that Lorde won't give her arm to sprain. Although she's just starting and there's a lot of way to go, "Pure Heroine" will always be a peculiar piece of pop that our eardrums will always be disposed to listen to. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Very limit number of instruments, yet. The albums is amazing! The vocals are great, all tracks are good as well. Definitely, Lorde is the future of music!
  15. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Simply a precious masterpiece.
    Every song grips in it's uniqueness and does not let go for a long time.
    A triumph for a newly discovered talent.
    All my hopes for Lorde to keep the level.
  16. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    It might be considered cool to not like Lorde and be a "non-conformist' but in reality, Pure Heroine is a very well made album and proves Lorde's un-denying talent as a young artist. It's a nice stray from the generic pop music we all hate.
  17. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Easily the best album of the year, I found Lorde half a year ago when I listened to 'Royals' and got hooked instantly. Incredible artist, incredible music. A+
  18. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Pure Heroine is the best record of the year, period. Each song, each rhythm, each lyric, an absolute masterpiece, and to think that Lorde is only 17 years old. Beyond the mainstream hits like Royals and Team, which are excellent songs by the way, the album contains subtler songs like A World Alone, which I think is the anthem for today's youth, and White Teeth Teens, which talks aboutPure Heroine is the best record of the year, period. Each song, each rhythm, each lyric, an absolute masterpiece, and to think that Lorde is only 17 years old. Beyond the mainstream hits like Royals and Team, which are excellent songs by the way, the album contains subtler songs like A World Alone, which I think is the anthem for today's youth, and White Teeth Teens, which talks about today's adolescents. A must listen to anyone who loves Pop or Alternative music. Let's see what Lorde comes up with next, and I'll be waiting at the edge of my seat. Expand
  19. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This album is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in a while.The reason why I like this album so much is because it is so different than any other album that has come out in a while.What amazes me is Lorde's age.Her vocals are great and the production on the album is definitely on point.I would highly suggest purchasing this album and give it a try.It's pretty d*mn good.
  20. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Nada sobre fim de relacionamentos ou vida de um adolescente, em Pure Heroine, seu álbum de estréia, Lorde veio para falar sobre os adolescentes de dentes brancos e sobre o fato de nunca pertencer á realeza.

    No meio de tanta música ruim hoje em dia, Lorde se destaca com suas letras inteligentes e qualidade musical entre esses artistas teen de hoje, que só sabem falar sobre uma coisa em
    Nada sobre fim de relacionamentos ou vida de um adolescente, em Pure Heroine, seu álbum de estréia, Lorde veio para falar sobre os adolescentes de dentes brancos e sobre o fato de nunca pertencer á realeza.

    No meio de tanta música ruim hoje em dia, Lorde se destaca com suas letras inteligentes e qualidade musical entre esses artistas teen de hoje, que só sabem falar sobre uma coisa em suas músicas: O quanto estão apaixonados. Com faixas incríveis que simplesmente te viciam, "Pure Heroine" é, de longe, um dos melhores (para não dizer O melhor) álbuns de 2013. Não é atoa que a neozelandesa Lorde conseguiu 2 grammys em um ano de carreira, vencendo de artistas como P!nk, Justin Timberlake, Katy Perry e Bruno Mars. Mal posso esperar pelo seu novo disco e espero que tenha o dobro de qualidade que "Pure Heroine".

    Melhores do álbum: Tennis Court, Royals, Buzzcut Season, Team e Glory and Gore
    Expand
  21. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Pure Heroine is sparse, minimal and uncanny. Not only does Lorde push forward an album that offers up an embarrassment of the pop songs available now, but she has sculpted an impressive debut that draws a perfect line between the areas of accessibility and intelligence. It is delightful to see someone of that age to write all her songs but at the same time have them be lyrically relevantPure Heroine is sparse, minimal and uncanny. Not only does Lorde push forward an album that offers up an embarrassment of the pop songs available now, but she has sculpted an impressive debut that draws a perfect line between the areas of accessibility and intelligence. It is delightful to see someone of that age to write all her songs but at the same time have them be lyrically relevant and relatable. Pure Heroine may not exactly be multi-faceted, but it can at times be complex. The thing that caught my attention over time was the aspect of production in Lorde's debut. The dazzling album may have been recorded in a modestly sized studio in Auckland, but Pure Heroine sizzles with a effervescent, pure and almost exposed production. Drums are often used, snares, and dark- brooding bursts of snares. Lyrically it is thought provoking and highly mature, and is extremely refreshing to see an established artist stray away from the mainstream agenda, who generally sing about unrelatable topics such as wealth, cars, drugs, money, alcohol, mansions, jewellery etc. It makes me happy to see someone challenging such an ideal that has been idolised and established within the music industry-- Track wise, Pure Heroine is very catchy and its very obvious to see much of Lorde's song writing is derived from smart observations about society and her life in general. The best tracks in the album lay dispersed throughout the short album. It opens with the jagged, punchy 'Tennis Court' which flows onto songs like 400 lux and Royals, but the best track comes 4th. Ribs delights with its ambient, atmospheric opening which lasts just over 40 seconds. Lyrically its the most intelligent, and by far the most distinct(excluding Glory and Gore of course) It has a fast paced beat, which slows during the pre choruses. Ribs may be the best song that Lorde has created. The only can we say bad song on the album, comes just over mid way. Glory and Gore definitely strays away from the albums distinct nature of minimalism. I would of liked for it to be excluded, and maybe put the Love Club there instead. Overall Lorde has moulded a fantastic debut, which sure will be hard to beat for her next album, which I'm sure looking forward to. Expand
  22. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    This album is my first review on Metacritic. The composition of this album is clever and clear. Her voice cuts through the instrumentals and electronics. I thoroughly enjoyed this CD from start to finish. One of those albums to close your eyes and shut out the world or put in the car and roll the windows down. Most of these songs are very catchy and you will find yourself singing orThis album is my first review on Metacritic. The composition of this album is clever and clear. Her voice cuts through the instrumentals and electronics. I thoroughly enjoyed this CD from start to finish. One of those albums to close your eyes and shut out the world or put in the car and roll the windows down. Most of these songs are very catchy and you will find yourself singing or humming one or two of them. There isn't a song on the album that I didn't enjoy.

    That being said it's not perfect. There are times where the bass punches a bit too much for my taste. Also, her voice may not appeal to all comers. She has a breathy and airy quality to her voice which has been heard before. Some lyrics flow better than others and at times if you listen carefully you can notice that they echo that she still is just a teenager.

    For a debut album this is a strong release. I look forward to hearing what comes next from Lorde. If you are on the fence based on what you've heard on the radio, she is definitely worth a listen the entire album through.
    Expand
  23. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    This album is very surprising at how excellent it is compared to other "Pop" artists today.

    When first hearing Royals, I thought that Lorde was another person who had one hit and slowly lost their popularity. But as more singles came out, I knew that she was different and unique. So I took a chance and bought this album. Boy, did I make a good decision. The theme of this album is
    This album is very surprising at how excellent it is compared to other "Pop" artists today.

    When first hearing Royals, I thought that Lorde was another person who had one hit and slowly lost their popularity. But as more singles came out, I knew that she was different and unique. So I took a chance and bought this album. Boy, did I make a good decision.

    The theme of this album is actually about going AGAINST the pop machine and artists who are popular because of their looks. The songs in this album are addicting, some highlights are Ribs, White Teeth Teens, and The Love Club.

    If you like alternative music or anything like that, this album is a must for you. I am excited to see what Lorde puts out next.
    Expand
  24. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    A suburban teenagers dream. Perfectly written, incomparable melodies and amazing fluidity.

    Ella Marija Lani Yellich O'Connor's (Lorde) debut album is amazing. There isn't a weak song in the 10 superb ones on the record. Her and Joel Little create magic!
  25. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    Listening to this album, I noticed how nowadays people often create music that attempts to dictate how young people should be living their lives. Partying, socializing, and having fun. But the reality is that none of it is true. Lorde talks about the truth behind teenhood. Boredom, friendship, and fear. For some, this album may be hard to relate to. If you cant, the only you'll find hereListening to this album, I noticed how nowadays people often create music that attempts to dictate how young people should be living their lives. Partying, socializing, and having fun. But the reality is that none of it is true. Lorde talks about the truth behind teenhood. Boredom, friendship, and fear. For some, this album may be hard to relate to. If you cant, the only you'll find here is a nice voice with minimalist instrumentals. But there is so much more here than that. If you are very young, hold this off for a little while before listening to it. But for people who spent (or still spending) their teen years being bored, working, or worrying about the future, this is something that everyone should listen to. Expand
  26. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Pure Heroine is good, but I don't like every song. Team is notably the best. I give Lorde credit for bringing out such a unique sound, even if to somewhat mixed results. Look forward to new stuff.
  27. May 4, 2014
    10
    ELA ESCREVE MUITO BEM, ELA E UM GÊNIO... CONSEGUI SE EXPRESSAR EM ÁLBUM COMPLETO E CHEIO DE HITS, NÃO QUE EU GOSTE DA SUA PERSONALIDADE... MAS ELA É UMA ÓTIMA ESCRITORA.
  28. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Lorde has seemingly became an overnight success (at least in her home country, Australia, and North America) and that's neither deniable or shocking. Lorde attains the gift of being merely short of seventeen and being more mature than many musicians in the industry decades older than her. The New Zealander's calm vocals and beyond her years songwriting skills as well as Joel Little's chillLorde has seemingly became an overnight success (at least in her home country, Australia, and North America) and that's neither deniable or shocking. Lorde attains the gift of being merely short of seventeen and being more mature than many musicians in the industry decades older than her. The New Zealander's calm vocals and beyond her years songwriting skills as well as Joel Little's chill production help solidify Pure Heroine as an anthem for the youth that's neither tamed nor rebellious. The lead single, "Royals", calmly defeats that idea that not all teenagers are 'trippin' in the bathroom' or 'trashing the hotel room' and has since made Lorde the first solo New Zealander to reach the number-one spot on the Billboard charts. Although Pure Heroine primarily treads on new wave, "Ribs" reassures that Lorde can step into more mainstream synthpop territory without contradicting her completely natural vibe whilst "Team" channels a more vintage Motown sounds. Pure Heroine's only weakness is that it's too short and sweet. But that taste we get in our headphones only teases and anticipates us even more for whatever this upcoming unintentional A-list songstress has to offer. Make no mistake: Lorde is NO one-hit wonder and we'll hear more from her very, very soon. Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    I seriously cannot believe that a teenage girl has such a mature and strong personality and attitude in front of the world. In a stream full of "performers", nonsense songs and viral videos that reach thousands of millions of views in few days, Lorde is not afraid to say that she doesn't want to belong to that world. And she really do mean it, that's the best part. Her songs contain suchI seriously cannot believe that a teenage girl has such a mature and strong personality and attitude in front of the world. In a stream full of "performers", nonsense songs and viral videos that reach thousands of millions of views in few days, Lorde is not afraid to say that she doesn't want to belong to that world. And she really do mean it, that's the best part. Her songs contain such incredibly rough and realistic meanings, combined with minimal and precise music that makes everything smoothier and calmer. Her voice is so out of this world, as well as her variations. This is talent. This is an artist. This is Lorde: (hope to be) the next new true legend of music! Expand
  30. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Esse album é maravilhoso,o segundo melhor de 2013(só perde pra ARTPOP) que o sucessor de Pure Heroine seja igualmente maravilhoso e Lorde/Ella não me descepcione.
  31. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Best indie album for me, Lord is a great artist and still has much to show us, and this debut album was a great start, is not a tedious album and all the songs have quality.
    Highlights: Tennis Court and Bravado
    Lows: Bitind Down and Swigin Party
  32. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    At just 16 years old, Lorde has all the credibility Lana Del Rey wished one day or spend. No need to dress with vintage image and scream desperate for his men in their tracks. Lorde slaps in the face of the music industry in ''Royals'' and sports in rhyming ''Tennis Court''. Definitely, Lorde is the future of music.
  33. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    Lorde is still very young, and so, yes, there are some oversights, but I am so incredibly impressed by the imagery and the mood she lays down so easily. Disturbed suburbia, too-good-to-be-true bland teenage years. What a specific thing, but it's such a triumph. Buzzcut Season is my favourite.
  34. Feb 19, 2014
    3
    I don't understand how such a weak set of songs could get so many good rates, or maybe I understand it so well and it's frightening.

    This is very weak. As time goes by, music industry provides less and less effort into composing sufficiently elaborated things. Now we are at the point were instruments and equation are out of the equation. We have a rhythm and a somewhat discrete
    I don't understand how such a weak set of songs could get so many good rates, or maybe I understand it so well and it's frightening.

    This is very weak. As time goes by, music industry provides less and less effort into composing sufficiently elaborated things.

    Now we are at the point were instruments and equation are out of the equation.
    We have a rhythm and a somewhat discrete synth bass, and the voice of course. That's all for most of the song.

    The most elaborated songs will see a little melody with little development.
    The worst songs, a trance like melodic phrase, with trance like monosound and repetitive rhythm.

    I could compose ten albums of this kind after an afternoon spent in my backyard, just toying with garden table and singing.

    All in all, this is plain and boring, just the hype of minimalism and the fact that it's the recent "big thing", so I guess that's enough to like without even listening.
    Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    If ever there was an artist who popped up out of nowhere, yet had amazing success, it's Lorde. Just before she released Royals, I heard that this new girl was about to release this new song that was going to be big. I quickly dismissed it, but how wrong I was to do that. Royals is currently in its seventh consecutive week on the US Billboard Hot 100 and has also proved a decent hitIf ever there was an artist who popped up out of nowhere, yet had amazing success, it's Lorde. Just before she released Royals, I heard that this new girl was about to release this new song that was going to be big. I quickly dismissed it, but how wrong I was to do that. Royals is currently in its seventh consecutive week on the US Billboard Hot 100 and has also proved a decent hit worldwide. And all the while, I was wondering what on earth people were seeing in it. It's beat is very boring and doesn't change much and Lorde really can't sing well. Above all, a take down of consumerist pop culture is nothing new. In fact, it's rather outdated. If Royals had been released at the height of urban music's biggest success between 2001-2008, when songs that involved gold teeth and gold chains really were all over the radio, the song would have been a timely commentary. But music right now is very different. Relatability has been the name of the game in the last few years. That is why break up ballads and self-empowerment anthems have been some of the biggest hits in recent times. After the urban craze died out and the dance music craze started waning, the music industry realised that a song that the public relate to equals mega bucks. So, I don't know what Lorde is going on about by saying that all the songs on the radio right now are out of touch with the public. Of course, she has just turned 17 and is likely researching the industry and getting out her frustrations, but that is the problem. Someone as young as she is won't realise that what she's doing has been done before nor will she realise that she doesn't bring anything new to the table. But like most of us when we were 17, she wants to go against the system and that's pretty much the concept of the whole album.
    All the songs talk about society's obsession with wealth, status, fame, even violence, and how Lorde wants to stay away from all that, which is certainly admirable. Songs like Tennis Court, 400 Lux, Team and Glory And Gore certainly talk about this theme well. Then there's the gem of the album, the breath-taking Buzzcut Season, which is about how Lorde and her best friend put themselves in their own little bubble away from the circus of the world. It's child-like and innocent in the most beautiful way. It's atmospheric, hypnotic, dreamy, and if the whole album sounded like this it would be a masterpiece. But the other five tracks are very mediocre and show that Lorde has a long way to go. I quite like albums that deal with the theme of being against consumerism and are heavy with satire, but Lorde really goes off the deep end when she sings Ribs, a song about how she's struggling with the idea of growing up and how she feels so old (accompanied with a never-ending seasick loop of a beat that makes me want to throw up). Speaking as someone who is nearly 24, to hear someone who has just turned 17 talk about feeling old is quite laughable to me. I look back on my younger years and realise that I fussed a lot over nothing and that feeling that I was old was ridiculous. So, I'm well past the age of taking this stuff from a 17 year old seriously. This is why I don't understand why people in their 20's and older are loving this album as it hardly deals with their age group. Lorde has also spouted feminist views recently that are somewhat controversial and really show her age. It's fine if she wants to refrain from singing songs about love and sex, but she has so much more time to go down the route later, as lots of female artists do. If she keeps away from those subjects her entire career, then we can talk. But she's only 17. Give it time.
    Don't get me wrong, Lorde has potential, but she has a long way to go. She doesn't have a great voice and I see no evidence of her playing an instrument, so all she has to stand on is her songwriting and it's far from perfect. I am really surprised at the amount of critics giving this album amazing reviews, reviews that would be more fitting of a much older artist's magnum opus rather than what it really is a teenager's naive debut that requires lots of work.
    Expand
  36. Aug 4, 2014
    3
    It's not necessarily that I hate this album, because there are definitely some good things going for it. I just thing Lorde has a long way to go to become a mature songwriter.
  37. Jan 27, 2015
    0
    THE worst singer in the whole world. HEY LOOK! I found her!! .
  38. Feb 9, 2015
    4
    Lorde's music is really boring. I heard Royals at the cottage on the radio and it felt like forever. Royals was the most boring song I ever heard! Lorde has bad music and avoid it unless you want to fall asleep. Still not as bad as Justin Bieber, Mariah Carey, or Rebecca Black though.
  39. Oct 4, 2013
    5
    The sound is good, the music and the voice too. But Pure Heroine I love the title) has only a few songs that are quite interesting. In the songs the lyrics are poor and that's something that disappointed me a lot. However, I want to support Lorde as she is a young artist which has a bright future and I hope she doesn't turn up like Miley Cyrus.
  40. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    Really? 79? Are the critics insane? This is the worst hipster thing I've ever heard. How can someone hear this whole thing and don't put 'it all' out? I really do not understand why the eyes are all rolled to her. Lorde is **** Lana is THE ****
  41. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Pure s*** of the year................................................................................................................................................
  42. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    Billboard.com one of the so called reputable sites for reviewing music is full of SH!T. Look it up, they say the BIT CH that calls herself lorde, which is against Christianity to even allow her to be called that. That she is the best new vocals of the year and has one of the best albums. What a load of sh!t. Our music industry is just paying the critics off to give them good reviewsBillboard.com one of the so called reputable sites for reviewing music is full of SH!T. Look it up, they say the BIT CH that calls herself lorde, which is against Christianity to even allow her to be called that. That she is the best new vocals of the year and has one of the best albums. What a load of sh!t. Our music industry is just paying the critics off to give them good reviews OBVIOUSLY. The music industry is full of fu k ing sh!t and im done with this, i cant put up with this symbolism our Country is letting these industries get away with. LOOK UP THE MUSIC INDUSTRY CONSPIRACY AND HOLLYWOOD CONSPIRACY, ITS BEING TOOKIN OVER BY THE EVIL PEOPLE. Expand
  43. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    This album is great. All (except two) songs on this album are flawless. Lorde has explored a new side of pop music and I'm a fan. I could listen to this all day - and I do.
    The best songs are : Ribs, White Teeth Teens, Buzzcut Season, Bravado and Royals.
    I love Lorde :)
  44. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    Amazing album! Deep and dark songs! I absolutely love her voice! It's so hard to imagine how a 17 year old made this! So excited for her next album! One of the best albums I've ever heard.
  45. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    It's amazing to know that she was only 16 years old when she wrote this album, he's wonderful. Melodies that enchant, songs that could never be discarded. Album of the Decade, that's all.
  46. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER. Lorde could show us what is really music. I loved this album since 2013 and until today I never feel tired listenin it. Simplely incredible. Everybody needs more albuns like that. Everybody should make Lorde a mirror for yourselfs.
  47. KFZ
    Oct 3, 2013
    6
    After listening to The Love Club EP i was expecting something awesome from Pure Heroine, what I got was a watered down Lorde ready for a broader audience, lacking the emotion that caught my attention at first. Its not a bad album, but sits besides a Lana Del Rey or Rihanna album, nothing more than a major label trying to maximize the profit from the hype around Lorde.
  48. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    Lorde's debut album Pure Heroine is a glossy and rather smart album that though it does have a few lyrical disappointments, it manages to still give its point across. Some songs do unfortunately come off as a little boring/not-as-good-as-others, but no songs are terrible or bad. Overall, Pure Heroine is good but could have been quite better.
  49. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I should put a little disclaimer here: this review is gonna be a bit positively biased, because as annoyed as I am by it basically becoming a selling point for her, she's 16. And considering both that I'm her age and that I'm an aspiring musician myself, I can't help but be particularly happy about her sudden success. And aside from that, her mainstream breakthrough single Royals isI should put a little disclaimer here: this review is gonna be a bit positively biased, because as annoyed as I am by it basically becoming a selling point for her, she's 16. And considering both that I'm her age and that I'm an aspiring musician myself, I can't help but be particularly happy about her sudden success. And aside from that, her mainstream breakthrough single Royals is easily one of my favorite pop hits of 2013. It basically talks about being sick of the annoyingly recurring themes of excess & wealth that have plagued a lot of pop & hip hop music on the radio over the last decade or so. But one other thing I appreciate about it is how this sentiment is handled. This song could've easily been nothing but preachy & obnoxious pseudo-hipster drivel. But weaved within this bashing of music lacking substance & relatability is an admission that she'd love to be able to live that kind of lifestyle, but is just annoyed by these people feeling the need to brag about their possessions in the music they're selling to the masses. And now we have her debut album Pure Heroine, which could be one of my top albums of 2013 by year's end.

    Royals combines a lot of Pure Heroine's best traits. One interesting thing going on consistently musically is how sparse the production is. On a good majority of the album there's nothing in the instrumental mix but an electronic beat, an atmospheric synth & occasionally some self-backing vocals with great harmonies. I get how on paper for some people this might result in an album that's boring, monotonous & void of variety. Fortunately though, things are kept interesting by incredibly catchy melodies & various tempo changes from song to song. If anything this kind of minimalist approach helps to emphasize the album's main appeal, the vocals & lyrics. But again that's not to say there's nothing interesting in what's surrounding it. Ribs has a very creative structure, starting with an ambient minute-long intro before going into a back-and-forth switching between speeds Lorde sings some of the verses in, which helps bring out a mix of emotions in the lyrics being repeated. The thing to pull it all together is Lorde's great voice, which manages to gets the ideas being expressed across effectively without the need for obnoxious belting or showing off, which are common crimes in a lot of music where the voice is the main attraction. Not only that, but nothing here is forgettable, and there's never a filler moment in this concise, 10-track, 37-minute listen.

    Lyrically the main 2 themes being portrayed are biting social commentary & vivid thought processes in dealing with newfound fame. With the former, it's tackled from a few different angles. Aside from Royals & the similarly themed Team, there's tracks like Buzzcut Season and Glory And Gore, which talk about the mainstream news media's 2 opposite problems: covering pop culture & celebrity gossip instead of the real problems in the world, and exaggerating & exploiting these problems to the point where people watching either become paranoid pessimists or don't take these issues as seriously as they should. They're messages that contradict each other on the surface but make sense when you really think about it. On the more personal side of things you have tracks like Tennis Court, Still Sane & A World Alone, which detail Lorde coming to terms with her seemingly out-of-nowhere popularity. Now in most cases for me this would be questionable, since how can you talk about your big-time success on your debut album? But you have to think about the context; in New Zealand Royals was already #1 back in March, making her a very big deal in her home country by the time this album was being written. There's talk of getting on planes to tour, dealing with the pressures of scrutiny & criticism, and fearing that she'll end up just another trashy egotistical pop star. One other track worth specifically mentioning is White Teeth Teens, which details O'Connor's disinterest with being one of the perfect popular kids. Fortunately though, like “Royals”, it avoids the typical pitfalls of that kind of message. It doesn't portray these people as one-dimensional villains, but as just a different class she tried to & later gave up being a part of. And all of these themes get the messages across clear while never resorting to illiterate spoon-feeding.

    I can really say nothing negative about this album. It keeps a consistent & distinct sound while never letting tracks bleed together, the lyrics are sincere, on-point & relatable, and the best part is that her song is #1, which is just another sign, if not the defining one, of balance finally being restored on the pop charts in terms of quality. If you're into these traits & have an appreciation for great pop music with some electronic influences, listen to this ASAP.

    Top 5 tracks: Royals, Tennis Court, Still Sane, A World Alone, Ribs
    Score: 94/100
    Expand
  50. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Every year a new upcoming artist hits the scene and hopes to make it big in the music industry. This year's big surprise is a sixteen year old from New Zealand named Lorde. After her smash hit "Royals" which was a surprising real take on how not everyone wants the Riches of celebrities, she releases a now hit album titled "Pure Heroine". Lorde's debut is a very promising one withEvery year a new upcoming artist hits the scene and hopes to make it big in the music industry. This year's big surprise is a sixteen year old from New Zealand named Lorde. After her smash hit "Royals" which was a surprising real take on how not everyone wants the Riches of celebrities, she releases a now hit album titled "Pure Heroine". Lorde's debut is a very promising one with refreshing Pop songs about the youth and other issues for people my age, which helps Lorde stand out among the huge crowd of Auto-Tuned Pop Starlets. The album is about Ten Songs long which is a problem, I wished there was more, because the songs just felt so refreshing and I wished the story could continue on, also since this is very different from the usual Synth Beat heavy Pop music, it won't peek everyone's interest, at first listen I felt a little off put with what was going on. Still there's plenty to appreciate, the songwriting is excellent with themes about what we want in life and how it's not always about having the best, most expensive, items in the world. The Sound in particular is also refreshing with simple beats and sounds, and it all sounds great. Lorde also packs a punch with the singing, flowing along perfectly with each song, though around the end she goes a little too far. Pure Heroine could've been longer, but for right now it's a great start for Lorde, and I hope to see more music from her in the future. Expand
  51. Nov 16, 2013
    6
    Lorde could have a bright future as a singer/songwriter ahead of her. While listening to her album, I understood that she had direction which is unusual for someone to have so young to have, as there are other female artists who release albums that aren't cohesive. And that's what Pure Heroine is cohesive. However, after the first three tracks, everything else weren't as strong. TheLorde could have a bright future as a singer/songwriter ahead of her. While listening to her album, I understood that she had direction which is unusual for someone to have so young to have, as there are other female artists who release albums that aren't cohesive. And that's what Pure Heroine is cohesive. However, after the first three tracks, everything else weren't as strong. The lyrics were mediocre and the production was just uninteresting; it felt all too rushed. My harshness is due to the awesomeness of "Tennis Court" and "Royals" the production and lyrics are so amazing that everything else seems lackluster. There are moments that Lorde shone as a songwriter, especially with "I'll see the veins of my city as they do in space". She's so young and could have an amazing career, I do doubt that her mainstream success will last.... Unless she pulls a Miley. Expand
  52. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    Lorde is 16, though she definitely sounds older and more mature that most 30-year-old pop stars out there. Since "Royals" we knew this hipster twist on the rap and pop marriage would deliver an outstanding album, full of equally as catchy songs. Lorde delivered "Pure Heroine", a title that fits perfectly because the album feels like a drug: Eccentrically weird and psychedelic journeyLorde is 16, though she definitely sounds older and more mature that most 30-year-old pop stars out there. Since "Royals" we knew this hipster twist on the rap and pop marriage would deliver an outstanding album, full of equally as catchy songs. Lorde delivered "Pure Heroine", a title that fits perfectly because the album feels like a drug: Eccentrically weird and psychedelic journey through the mind of a real, down-to-earth teenanger. If that is what Heroine tastes like.
    The album opens with the "explicit" (I put it between punctuations for a reason) "Tennis Court", a song that already opens up for the lyrical masterpieces the album, as Pure Heroine is mainly beautifully composed. Sometimes, the marriage between the ironic poetry and the synth beats do not work ("Still Sane" and "400 Lux" are perfect examples. They are not bad, but they feel seriously under-produced in comparison to the other songs).
    Of course the anti-pop queen delivers killing phrases. "I am kind of over being told to throw my hands up in the air" she shouts at the ultra-catchy "Team", and guess what, I'm kind of over too! In "Glory and Gore" maybe, the album slips from the catchy into a more metal hip hop fusion of savvy "Ohhs" and filters.
    "Pure Heroine" is a unique debut album that doesn't play safe but doesn't excel in quality. Lorde, with her ominous vocals, delivered an album full of hipster propaganda, heavenly choirs and dark, gothic rythms ready to swallow like a pill. It is real suburban teenagehood, and it is as good as as it gets.
    Expand
  53. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    The very simple and minimalistic beats mix extremely well with her voice. Its good to see someone singing from the heart and not conforming to the mainstream. Good to see pop is headed in a good direction.
  54. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    Lorde, Lorde, Lorde... Hay Lorde... eres sorprendente, sacas tu primer album y ¡WOW! nos demuestras lo madura y profesional que puede ser una chica de 18 años como cantante... Letras profundas y un pegadizo ritmo pop minimalistico, excelente trabajo!
  55. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Lorde's debut album "Pure Heroine" serves much more delighting messages than having sex and doing drugs and partying all the time. The one most impressive (from countless positive messages) is being yourself and don't hope for much than you have it could turn against you, like her most successful song that grabbed most of the critics and people "Royals". "Royals" was called as racy,Lorde's debut album "Pure Heroine" serves much more delighting messages than having sex and doing drugs and partying all the time. The one most impressive (from countless positive messages) is being yourself and don't hope for much than you have it could turn against you, like her most successful song that grabbed most of the critics and people "Royals". "Royals" was called as racy, stupid, weird, dumb. NO. It is actually very unique in style and rich on content. Not all of Lord's songs are perfect but they are either rated as "Really Good" "Different (in a good way)" or all of the above plus "Perfect". Pure Heroine is rather the album of the year. Expand
  56. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Very interesting, very likable, Lorde makes her mark with this album. Very mature and serious, these songs are nice to listen to if you want a relaxing time. These songs have a deeper meaning to them than most of what is released these days. In a world full of hits and misses, this album is definitely a hit.
  57. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    I've had this on repeat for a couple of days. Lorde's debut is great and fairly unique (although I'd compare it to Lana del Rey and Florence the Machine probably). The songs are very catchy.
  58. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    There is a general backdrop of claps, basic synths and vocal backups that make the album quite predictable. It almost feels they've just put different lyrics onto the same song.There is an odd sense of wisedom in the lyrics, despite the young timbre of the vocals. However the incessant self-referencing is somewhat unbearable.The music is generally minamilistic.
    Tennis court is a stand
    There is a general backdrop of claps, basic synths and vocal backups that make the album quite predictable. It almost feels they've just put different lyrics onto the same song.There is an odd sense of wisedom in the lyrics, despite the young timbre of the vocals. However the incessant self-referencing is somewhat unbearable.The music is generally minamilistic.
    Tennis court is a stand out. Following that is 400 Lux. That slightly husky voice breaking from singing to speech and soft percussion and touches of electronica.

    Royals has more dynamicism in the vocals, but still that non-chalant percussion. The lyrics are fine. She's cracked the code to life, and she's not like other musos who constantly talk about diamonds and vodka. However, one would question that she talks about having no money. Sure bruh, sure. Don't look into it but it might come off as a little hypocritical It's definitely a song the audience can identifiy with though.

    Ribs has a beat to it, defo more electro. With mainstream lyrics it doesn't immediately stand out, but it's definitely on the stronger side musically, a break from the first three songs which have a similiar formula. The bridge in this dance song is particularly great.

    Buzzcut season has an army/war theme to it. Again the matter of friendship comes to hand. Her and her friend live in a ethereal journey, where everything is good. 'Reality is the one who wins, so join it' say the men. But they have other things on their mind. It has a generic, yet cool little beat to it. The vocals swell with the imagery.

    Team starts out with a good vocal intro, a bit of lyrical repitition and even vocal effects. yay. Then those claps come in again. She sings about growing up in a different world, and the unity of the people who have done this. Did they Control C V those synths? The verse and chorus are not too much different from eachother, inbetween is this little bit:

    'Dancin' around the lies we tell
    Dancin' around big eyes as well, oh...
    Even the comatose, they don't dance and tell'

    There are fightin words in Glory and gore, four hundred and thirteen of them. I'm beginning to feel as if their should be a label, Warning: References of self-references. This one talks about how they're gladiators and the audience lusts after blood between famous people, but the only reason they're famous is because they are in the ring...and they secretly love it. This is where my anger kicks in. From a lyrical stand point, this gets no rapport. I can't identify with this, not many can. To do this constantly is very annoying and not one of the hallmarks of any great writers, or many good ones even. To those who consider it a lyrical masterpiece, please consider.

    Still sane starts out with some soft bass, and finally a few hits on the ride. Uncreative keyboard eigth notes come in later. However the penultimate verse has some of the nicer percussion of the album.You can guess what the songs about, based on the title. They're still sane even after becoming famous. Cool man. In general the lyrics are bit less image-focused, more vague.

    White teeth teens- This is a stand out. It's nice to have a change of pace. It could be about dating or it could be about the cool group at school, and I'm more inclined to think the latter. It's a smidge faster and the drums come in not long after you press play and it just seems different. This along with the last track provide a different sound for the end of the album. I particularly like the outro, check it. There are some XX rhythmic vibes in the bass and kick.

    A world alone Slightly melancholy guitar starts. Then singing. Then it comes to life.The lyrics speak of a friendship amongst people who just talk. There is a starkness to the lyrics, but also love. A fav.

    Good: A few good hooks really make this album, mostly in Royals and Tennis court. The vocals are quite well done and nothing seems out of place within any of the songs.
    Bad: Their sound gets very predictable. I'm looking at you Synths, Vocals, and Percussion. Also there is fistfulls of melodrama that smack you in the face, I also hear Lana is abusive.
    Themes: friendship, anti-money, you're place in the world
    Favs: Ribs (although lyrics a little ho-hum) and a word alone, Buzzcut season also a five star rating.
    Expand
  59. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    Lorde is just an amazing Singer to have just 17 years old. Her style and music is so good, fresh, I love it. This album takes you to amazing sounds. 'Tennis Court' and 'Team' are one of the the best tracks, take you to new places and rythms.
  60. Mar 19, 2015
    10
    Pure Heroine is by far a perfect mix of sounds, not only for Royals, which is just a demonstration of what she could do. It's incredible how a 16 year-old girl could have such a vision about things and life. Masterpiece.
  61. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    Lorde has promise, guaranteed. Her songwriting is strong but it does tread the line between morally and culturally condemning the status quo, paranoia, fear and sarcasm. With so many analogies and messages brought up, it's hard, with her superb, cryptic songwriting, to differentiate all the meanings from one another. At some points it feels as if she goes back on her word but the themes doLorde has promise, guaranteed. Her songwriting is strong but it does tread the line between morally and culturally condemning the status quo, paranoia, fear and sarcasm. With so many analogies and messages brought up, it's hard, with her superb, cryptic songwriting, to differentiate all the meanings from one another. At some points it feels as if she goes back on her word but the themes do converge around the central concept of adolescence. Musically, the minimalism frequently stays dry and for a pop album, it isn't at all catchy. Even her attempts to make it catchy like the obnoxious "yeahs" in "Tennis Court" do more benefit for the skip button than for her career. Like lukewarm water, easy to swallow but nothing to enjoy, there isn't much to grasp, engage or intrigue. There's more instruments and effects in her style of music that can be incorporated that can be more engaging (delay, electric guitar, distortion, better synths). Her emotive lyricism doesn't really balance with the empty musical personality. The whole album is a bit of a lackluster experience honestly, but it's led with her level of ambition and with gutsy stabs at society she leads by standing apart from most pop artists. But she doesn't really reach that level of passion that can qualify as heroic; here she's shown what she can do but she herself hasn't followed through, so much for conquering. With her vague and characterless minimalistic instrumentation and cryptic lyricism, her command isn't all that strong or commanding, but her promise is there, just hidden.

    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more reviews.
    Expand
  62. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    This album is very good but the music is sometimes weird. Weird is not always a good thing. However, it is nice that someone is trying something original and is actually decent, (However, I don't like how this girl is mouthing off to other artists)
  63. May 18, 2014
    9
    It's the album that the music industry as required for a long time...while it's musically not all that impressive, it's definitely the image and views of Lorde which put the majority of the music industry to shame with the lack of talent and creativity which has been spread like wildfire for the last fifteen to twenty years. Lorde is the Marilyn Manson of the new age, just not with theIt's the album that the music industry as required for a long time...while it's musically not all that impressive, it's definitely the image and views of Lorde which put the majority of the music industry to shame with the lack of talent and creativity which has been spread like wildfire for the last fifteen to twenty years. Lorde is the Marilyn Manson of the new age, just not with the attempts of offensiveness. Expand
  64. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Uno de los mejores albums que he escuchado este año, sin duda Lorde se lució, es un disco con 10 canciones que no aburren, lleno de magia pura que soprende con sus sonidos que cautivan y a la vez llenan.
  65. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    The sound's so refreshing. It's a vacation from pounding beat and sick dubstep. Some of the lyrics are dark, but you can still notice the childish of Lorde's voice with very mature lyrics.
  66. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I love her so much and this is a fantastic album!! Some songs sound the same but it's ok!! I love the raspiness that she brings out in her voice. She has a bright future ahead of her
  67. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Probably the best album of 2013. Lorde's sound can not be matched as she proves at 16 she is a true original. Download: Glory and Gore, Team, Tennis Court, 400 Lux.
  68. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    With regret, after so many listens to try to like the courageous effort by Lorde, for a new sound, I have to say, that for me, it was not moving, from any point of view I so wanted to like it, but I'm so sorry to say, I did not.
  69. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing Royals, and with all the hype surrounding this release, I had to give it a listen. And I can proudly say it is now one of my favourite albums of all time. From the awe-inducing minimalist hip-hop production and her bold vocals to the catchy and captivating lyrics this album is full off and the fact that Lorde is still only a teenager really left me completely dumbstruck. The only thing I can say about this album is LISTEN TO IT! Expand
  70. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    "Pure Heroine" has a skip-able has a song which is "Biting Down" in my opinion, overall this is one of the best records I've listen to this year since Phillip Phillips debut "The World from the Side of the Moon". Basically, the album features great songs such as "Tennis Court", "Ribs", "Team", "A World Alone", "Glory And Gore", and the quadruple-platinum hit "Royals". In my opinion, my"Pure Heroine" has a skip-able has a song which is "Biting Down" in my opinion, overall this is one of the best records I've listen to this year since Phillip Phillips debut "The World from the Side of the Moon". Basically, the album features great songs such as "Tennis Court", "Ribs", "Team", "A World Alone", "Glory And Gore", and the quadruple-platinum hit "Royals". In my opinion, my highlights of this album is "Team", "Glory And Gore", "Ribs", "A World Alone" "Royals" and "The Love Club". I love her voice, I just love it, and I feel like her vocals are inspired by Nelly Furtado on some songs. I gave it a ten due to the Lyrical content. production and because of Lorde's direction. She is a very good person based on the songs she have wrote, I hope she doesn't turn out like Avril Lavigne whose career is dying due to her signing to a rapidly declining label. Expand
  71. May 8, 2014
    8
    To put it simply, Pure Heroin is rather too stripped down for it to be a total mind-blowing pop album, however what Pure Heroin IS in fact is an album of meaningful lyrics and great tunes at their own steady pace that Lorde decides to take. And at no point, does it overdo itself.
  72. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I love this album. Lorde is definitely one of my favorite musicians. Her voice is very relaxing and distinct and her songwriting is very expressive, although it may take some time to realize what she is talking about in her songs.
  73. Mar 1, 2014
    5
    We've definitely found the next big thing in sixteen year-old Lorde, but despite her penchant for song writing and her instantly recognizable voice that portrays the popular teen angst craze that's went around since Nirvana, it'd be hard to differentiate the songs if I were asked, for they all sound ridiculously alike; depressing, well-written and elegantly-performed by the immenselyWe've definitely found the next big thing in sixteen year-old Lorde, but despite her penchant for song writing and her instantly recognizable voice that portrays the popular teen angst craze that's went around since Nirvana, it'd be hard to differentiate the songs if I were asked, for they all sound ridiculously alike; depressing, well-written and elegantly-performed by the immensely talented Ella Yelich O' Connor. Collapse
  74. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    My favourite songs are 'Royals', 'Team' and 'Tennis Court'. Dark themes. Healthy lows. It has been an amazing year for Lorde, with at least 4 of her songs charting on the Billboard Hot 100, the current new song charting in the Hot 100 being Glory and Gore. However, as much as I loved the three songs listed above, I still have my reservations. I refuse to give her 10/10 because all herMy favourite songs are 'Royals', 'Team' and 'Tennis Court'. Dark themes. Healthy lows. It has been an amazing year for Lorde, with at least 4 of her songs charting on the Billboard Hot 100, the current new song charting in the Hot 100 being Glory and Gore. However, as much as I loved the three songs listed above, I still have my reservations. I refuse to give her 10/10 because all her songs are dark. She needs to make light-hearted songs and not be a Lana Del Ray number 2. Expand
  75. May 4, 2014
    7
    I think this album would be even more superb if she let her vocals expand more. It seems like Ella is capable of having a strong voice as she demonstrates in "Royals". Either way, the songs are meaningful, relatable to a teenager like me, and the singer behind it all has an awesome personality. Diamond in the rough for pop music.
  76. May 9, 2014
    9
    I love his voice very skillful, very good songs and a good pace, very good to be still very young Lyrics, Est album is great Although you name two ways, and very simple cover a little more effort would have been improved.
  77. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    I have only just managed to ween myself off from listening to Pure Heroine on repeat since it was released late September 2013. Became a fan of Lorde and her music after hearing her Love Club EP over a year ago. It boggles my mind to think this teen wrote the lyrics to all the songs on Pure Heroine bar Swinging Party when she was only 15. Over the last 8 or so months I keep changing myI have only just managed to ween myself off from listening to Pure Heroine on repeat since it was released late September 2013. Became a fan of Lorde and her music after hearing her Love Club EP over a year ago. It boggles my mind to think this teen wrote the lyrics to all the songs on Pure Heroine bar Swinging Party when she was only 15. Over the last 8 or so months I keep changing my favorite song from the album...songs I liked the least slowly made their way to the top of my fav list the more I listened to each track. I've since discovered other crazy talented new artists since however, Pure Heroine is still my No.1 album for 2013/204 - no doubt will go on to become a classic. Expand
  78. Oct 27, 2014
    9
    Lorde made her debut with the critically-acclaimed number one hit "Royals" and had impacted, and simultaneously challenged the pop mainstream culture with her work that is not only amazing sonically, but also lyrically, at a very young age. This platinum-selling and Grammy-award winning record depicts Lorde and her friends's life in New Zealand, her criticism, and thoughts of pop culture,Lorde made her debut with the critically-acclaimed number one hit "Royals" and had impacted, and simultaneously challenged the pop mainstream culture with her work that is not only amazing sonically, but also lyrically, at a very young age. This platinum-selling and Grammy-award winning record depicts Lorde and her friends's life in New Zealand, her criticism, and thoughts of pop culture, which shows honesty rarely seen before in this era, and therefore, is reaching a new plateau for the pop world.
    9/10
    Expand
  79. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    Lorde é um gênio. O fato é que ela escreveu essas músicas com 15/16, e mostrou mais maturidade que muitos compositores 10 ou 15 anos mais velhos que ela. As metáforas, o jeito nada meloso ou clichê de retratar o amor, mostra o quão madura ela é. Tudo isso faz desse disco uma obra prima. Joel Little como produtor se mostrou magnífico e espero que eles continuem trabalhando juntos. E umaLorde é um gênio. O fato é que ela escreveu essas músicas com 15/16, e mostrou mais maturidade que muitos compositores 10 ou 15 anos mais velhos que ela. As metáforas, o jeito nada meloso ou clichê de retratar o amor, mostra o quão madura ela é. Tudo isso faz desse disco uma obra prima. Joel Little como produtor se mostrou magnífico e espero que eles continuem trabalhando juntos. E uma coisa que poucos percebem é que o disco começa com a frase "Você não acha chato o jeito que essas pessoas falam?" e a última frase dita, na última canção, é: "Deixe que falem." É tudo muito inteligente. Um trabalho impecável! Expand
  80. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This is so good, i can't believe she's so young. She deserves all the success of the world. I can't stop listening to her. Pure heroine equals to pure and obviously amazing music.
  81. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    Lorde is an amazing artist. She will a have a great and big future. She is THE new voice of the new generation. It's crazy how much she is intelligent and mature in her creations.
  82. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Perfeito, é o que eu posso dizer sobre Pure Heroine, belas composições e bela sonoridade. É íncrivel como Ella e Joel Little produziram todo esse trabalho sozinhos, e ainda compuseram. É com certeza um dos melhores de 2013, espero que Lorde continue assim.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    90
    It’s the music here, not the sharp-toothed lyricism, which sets the record so far apart from the rest of the field.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    It isn't perfect but it adds up to an intimidatingly assured opening shot from a major new talent. [Dec 2013, p.108]
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Whilst Lorde’s world creates its own incredibly distinctive atmosphere, it feels accessible and open to maturing.