Pure Heroine Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 937 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the 16-year-old New Zealand pop singer-songwriter was produced by Joel Little.
Buy On

Top Track

Royals
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies And I'm not proud of my address In the torn-up town, no post... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    94
    September has been a profoundly great month for new female vocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest and addictive.
  2. 90
    While she’ll have to work even harder to find an angle for record number two her debut delivers everything you could have hoped for from a pop star in 2013.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    82
    It’s that vital connection between Lorde’s present-day ruminations and the uncanny way her music hits on such a fundamental level with all that dirty, romanticized nostalgia that makes Pure Heroine such a success beyond "Royals'" ostensible aim of looking down its nose at the Miley Cyruses and Taylor Swifts of the world.
  4. 80
    Lorde’s clearly a gifted songwriter for her age, but don’t let the novelty affect your perception of Pure Heroine. It’s a very grown-up album despite its teenage topics, and if you give a damn about good pop songs, then you owe it a listen.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    This is the rare debut that’s smart and disarming and instantly catchy.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Whilst Lorde’s world creates its own incredibly distinctive atmosphere, it feels accessible and open to maturing.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Pure Heroine seems to hint at the truth... but the truth is, Lorde is a pop invention as much as LDR and is not nearly as honest about her intentions.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 123
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs areThis album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs are catchy, I do not get tired of hearing. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    simplesmente divino. "Pure Heroine" é um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida, o album fala sobre problemas sócias. é um cd comsimplesmente divino. "Pure Heroine" é um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida, o album fala sobre problemas sócias. é um cd com composições incríveis, no qual lorde teve envolvimento em todas. um album forte e de personalidade, você consegue sentir sinceridade em cada composição. parabéns Lorde. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This album is so good it is scary. From her anti-prom queen and anti-mainstream agendas to the simple yet very effective production this albumThis album is so good it is scary. From her anti-prom queen and anti-mainstream agendas to the simple yet very effective production this album is a masterpiece. Just by listening to it I feel like I know her, I can picture her town the characters in her lyrics very easily. And last but not least her vocals and very catchy choruses. This album shall be on a loop for a very longtime. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Probably the best album of 2013. Lorde's sound can not be matched as she proves at 16 she is a true original. Download: Glory and Gore,Probably the best album of 2013. Lorde's sound can not be matched as she proves at 16 she is a true original. Download: Glory and Gore, Team, Tennis Court, 400 Lux. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    The very simple and minimalistic beats mix extremely well with her voice. Its good to see someone singing from the heart and not conforming toThe very simple and minimalistic beats mix extremely well with her voice. Its good to see someone singing from the heart and not conforming to the mainstream. Good to see pop is headed in a good direction. Expand
  6. May 8, 2014
    8
    To put it simply, Pure Heroin is rather too stripped down for it to be a total mind-blowing pop album, however what Pure Heroin IS in fact isTo put it simply, Pure Heroin is rather too stripped down for it to be a total mind-blowing pop album, however what Pure Heroin IS in fact is an album of meaningful lyrics and great tunes at their own steady pace that Lorde decides to take. And at no point, does it overdo itself. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Pure s*** of thePure s*** of the year................................................................................................................................................ Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.